myday #7 - Strange Sculptures In The Middle of Australia (Well not quite the middle)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Lake Ballard I'm guessing isn't a place you have probably heard of until now. It's a strange place, but what's really interesting is this mostly parched salt lake is home to some of the weirdest looking sculptures in the middle of nowhere... and when I say remote, I mean it!

Lake Ballard 013.jpg

A lone male figure isolated against the backdrop of an arid salt lake

To get to this art installation you first must fly into Perth, Western Australia, the most isolated capital city in the world. From there you can either catch a one hour flight to one of Australia's oldest gold mining towns called Kalgoorlie (pronounced Cal-goul-le) or drive roughly six and a half hours by car. Once you are there, travel another 4 hours and 40 minutes by car and you will arrive to scenes like this...

Lake Ballard 020.jpg

The expansive West Australian sky puts the lone statue into perspective. The heat can be seen in the form of a mirage on the horizon

The Menzies Sculptures were formed and installed by Antony Gormley, who happens to be a a Turner Prize-winning artist who presented these works at the 2003 Perth International Arts festival. Since then thousands of tourists have visited the area, including well know English actor Sir Ian McKellen (of Lord of the Rings fame).

Lake Ballard 014.jpg

You can almost feel their souls

The fifty sculptures dotted around the large lake were reflections of the local men and women from the surrounding area. The artist asked each local volunteer to strip down and step into a 3D scanning machine so that their form could be recorded. These forms were eventually tuned into moulds and presented to the State. Since the installation, some of the people have passed away, but the memory of them live on in the form of these statues.

Lake Ballard 015.jpg

The sculptures also included local women

Lake Ballard 012.jpg

Each sculpture was situated a fair distance apart from each other, making for a grand scene

I was very fortunate to be able to go to this amazing area and I can recommend you visit it to. If you ever end up in Perth, spend a few days travelling to this area, because once you're there you won't want to leave. It really is a breathtaking flat landscape.

LeighandGrace002.png

I'm Leigh, from Sydney Australia and through @steemit I'm seeing what its like to explore @myday. Not in any particular order, or particular time frame but just parts of @myday through my eyes and sometimes the cameras lens.

If you are interested in reading about myself and my beautiful partner Grace then have a read of myday #0 where everything is explained. If you enjoyed reading this post I welcome you to upvote this article and follow me. Please drop me a comment as I would love to hear from you!

Sort:  

weird but cool !

@myday resteemed and added to my top list again) Thanks)

Cool sculpture, makes the landscape shot more surreal!

It certainly does! The vast nature of the lake really helps with making the images look surreal. Thanks for commenting @shieha and for visiting @myday

Wow!
Things that are considered less taboo, but in your hands the results are amazing. You are very good at positioning and shooting mood.

Is it in Australia ??
so beautiful.
So can not wait to visit.

Yes these are in Australia @fauzy-bna. Thanks for the kind words.

Thank you again
Happy to share with you

they are so eery, they have such an impact!

They certainly do @eoincurran!

Nice post! Beautiful photos.

Thank you very much for your comment @saqib.

Awesome post man. Great pics. Nice work! After taking a look at your page, I see a lot of great content. Following and upvoted. Please feel free to check me out and follow back.


Thanks @starsteem!
I love to share my stories and the adventures I go on. I appreciate your follow. I'll check out your posts now :)

Congratulations @myday! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Close to fictional visions of Mars and it's inhabitants. That waste red lands and unearthly figures reminds me of SF comic and books from 40 years ago. Good work @myday. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Please state if you would want to be featured in the “Daily Photo Selection” with a linked photo, or with link only without a photo. We are making a list of photographers who are ready to improve the visibility of their work through the DPS.

@photo-trail I'm always happy for you to share my photos and feature me. No need to ask. Thanks for upvoting and resteeming. Don't forget me when you are rich though ;)

Gorgeous pictures, they have a sort of eerie resonance that's interesting to see

You are quite right @empten. The eerie part most likely comes form the location and also that they are depictions of real people! Thanks for commenting and checking out @myday

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56