myday #30 - HDR Photography - I went to the Stirling Ranges

in #photography7 years ago

I don't think life gets much better!
Photographing mountains? I mean c'mon! Life is awesome right now!

I got to the Stirling Ranges knowing the exact location I wanted to set up my tripod - smack bang in the middle of the rural road!

I had previously visited the location to photograph the illusive Wedge Tailed Eagle, but with no luck and I thought this would make a great spot to take a stitched HDR photograph, showing the Stirling Ranges in all their beauty.

Stirling 022.jpg

Photographed by me - The Stirling Ranges - Multiple Vertical HDR Image Stitch

I framed up the shot from left to right using my special Manfrotto 303SPH tripod head and began to take multiple exposures of each photo before panning the camera to take the next vertical position.

Then when post processing the images, I merged all the exposures together to create a HDR (High Dynamic Range) horizontal panorama. I couldn't be happier with the result!

Are you a photographer or a traveller like me?
Use #myday to share your posts and let's see where this goes!

LeighandGrace002.png

I'm Leigh, from Sydney Australia and through @steemit I'm seeing what its like to explore @myday. Not in any particular order, or particular time frame but just parts of @myday through my eyes and sometimes the cameras lens.

If you are interested in reading about myself and my beautiful partner Grace - @photooftheday then have a read of myday #0 where everything is explained. If you enjoyed reading this post I welcome you to upvote this article and follow me. Please drop me a comment as I would love to hear from you!

Recommended Reading

Sort:  

that is looking like a fairy mountain at the back. i know those are real. but that is just beyond imagination.

Haha, yeah this road leads to heaven :)

Great shot! The mountains look like cardboard cutouts!

@kamalamacan they certainly do. I always love this type of light on distant mountains.

Wow. Beautiful pic man. Gotta love the colours that HDR brings out with the 3 different exposures. Love the pic! Will use your tag in my next post from the Namibian desert.

Awesome! Thanks for commenting and wanting to use that tag! I'm a huge fan of HDR. I'm going to be doing a tutorial on it for the community so stay tuned!

@jahtech thanks for commenting! I appreciate the kind words!

Nice shot! Or shots 8-).

Thanks @ocrdu! That's very nice of you to comment!

Really like the picture dude, and thanks for the detail how it was created :)

@the-sassy-owl I'm glad you liked it! Stay tuned for some tyoe of HDR tutorial tomorrow!

Those mountains look surreal in a nice way :)

Thanks mate! I'm working on sharing another shot of the highest peak tomorrow! Stay tuned :)

Gonna resteem this one since its so good ;)

wow. that is a place I would like to visit :) those mountains should be almost untouched by men I guess

@fmd it is a nice place and these mountains certainly get a lot of visitors. I have climbed to the top 16 times. 5 of those times I ran up :)

This is so surreal. The road is leading right to the mountains.. nice framing :)

Thanks for commenting @gyanibilli :) I a huge fan of that road, except when my car hit two kangaroos on it! That was a bad day :(

Oops! That must have been so terrible.

Yes it was, I was off the road for 10 weeks :( Also didn't end well for the wildlife :(

OMG! hope it was a minor hit!

Awesome shots...keep it up

Why thank you @kenhudoy. That's very nice of you to comment :)

@myday I shd be thanking you for making my day...do check my blog for an interesting short family story. You will surely love it...thanks

@kenhudoy thanks for commenting. I'll check it out.

Oh nice...thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50