myday #29 - Quokka: The Cutest Animal You will Ever See

in #photography7 years ago

DSCF9031.jpg

Have you ever seen the Ewoks from Star Wars before?
I'm sure the characters in the movies were modelled them from these adorable Quokkas!

I photographed these Quokkas on my last visit to Rottnest Island, a beautiful island off the coast of Perth, Western Australia. The island got it's name from the Dutch when they first arrived. They thought the island was full of rats (mistaking the Quokka as a large rat), so they named the island 'Rats Nest' or as we know it today 'Rottnest'.

DSCF7597.jpg

If you look closely on the horizon you can see the City of Perth the place where I grew up

With only a short 30 minute ferry ride separating the island from the mainland, Rottnest Island is a very popular tourist attraction for both locals and international travellers.

They say the Quokka is the happiest animal to be photographed. These cute little marsupials will hop right up to you allowing you to get close to take a Quokka Selife.

Personally I was more interested in photographing them as they came up to say hello. Just look at them aren't they cute!

DSCF9035.jpg

DSCF9028.jpg

DSCF9019.jpg

Quokka 003.jpg

Have you ever been to Rottnest Island before and photographed a Quokka?
Let me know in the comments below!

Are you a photographer or a traveller like me?
Use #myday to share your posts and let's see where this goes!

LeighandGrace002.png

I'm Leigh, from Sydney Australia and through @steemit I'm seeing what its like to explore @myday. Not in any particular order, or particular time frame but just parts of @myday through my eyes and sometimes the cameras lens.

If you are interested in reading about myself and my beautiful partner Grace - @photooftheday then have a read of myday #0 where everything is explained. If you enjoyed reading this post I welcome you to upvote this article and follow me. Please drop me a comment as I would love to hear from you!

Recommended Reading

Sort:  

You definately delivered. Have not seen anuthing cuter

Thanks @divilati! They are super cute!

Cool name for a cute animal, quokka :)

It certainly is! They are so happy when you meet them! Thank you for commenting @shieha :)

Always cool to see something new ;)

@myday The quokka looks so cute just like you!

super cute

Awesome photos! I love Australia so much, what a special place.

I'm so happy to hear the local government is looking at stricter laws to protect these animals from abuse.

Yes they certainly need to. They are like bundles of joy that need to be cared for. Australia is such a beautiful place I hope you enjoy your travels. I have followed you and I look forward to seeing more posts of Australia :)

It's funny what we get our inspiration from but what a cute animal indeed. Not sure if we have any of those in the states

@antoniowestley these quokkas aren't found anywhere else other than on Rottnest Island. Thanks for commenting :)

They seem like friendly little guys- weren't they scared at all?

@thinkit no not at all. They were the friendliest animals you will ever see. You just have to sit down and they will come right up to you to say hello, sort of like what a small dog would do!

Congratulations @myday! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Really cute animal!

They certainly are @tangmo! Thanks for taking the time to have a look at them :)

You're welcome! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67334.64
ETH 3519.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10