myday #20 - Osprey With The Ultimate CatchsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

Talk about the catch of @myday!

I was lucky to capture this shot of an Osprey with a half eaten fish in its talons as it flew along the shoreline.

I had literally had just stepped out of the car with my camera to look along the beach from the carpark and saw the Osprey flying along the shoreline. I held the camera to my eye, tracked the bird and waited a few seconds as it passed me. I feel I got the perfect shot with the right timing! I count myself totally lucky!

Osprey 007.jpg

The Hunter and the Prey
Canon EOS 1D MK III with EF 400mm f5.6 L - 1/4000 - f8 - ISO 400

Are you a photographer or a traveller like me?
Use #myday to share your posts and let's see where this goes!

LeighandGrace002.png

I'm Leigh, from Sydney Australia and through @steemit I'm seeing what its like to explore @myday. Not in any particular order, or particular time frame but just parts of @myday through my eyes and sometimes the cameras lens._

If you are interested in reading about myself and my beautiful partner Grace - @photooftheday then have a read of myday #0 where everything is explained. If you enjoyed reading this post I welcome you to upvote this article and follow me. Please drop me a comment as I would love to hear from you!

Sort:  

Wow this is amazing! I still have not enough to get a proper lens yet but that is just so beautiful to have "frozen in time"!
When you are saying 1/4000 that's the shutter speed? I am still not very good with the photography settings jargon. LOL.
Totally a post worth upvoting @myday !
ps: I will try that with my other photos with your hashtag if it is not in the color challange range.

Thank you as always for your comment @littlenewthings. You are correct in saying that 1/4000 is the shutter speed. It basically means that the cameras shutter stays open 1/4000 of a second (a fraction of a second) allowing you to freeze fast moving subjects. Just know that the longer the shutter is open the more light hits the sensor. That's why when you are taking low light pictures the shutter speed is longer like 1/40 second or even 30 seconds.

I might have to write a blog on it in future! I'll also look out for your photo under the hashtag!

The great Hunter :))

@kadri certainly is!

That's a great moment you captured there Leigh!

Thanks @shieha! I really got lucky with this one!

Well, sometimes that is required in wildlife photography!

You are not wrong there!

Wow, amazing capture!!

Thanks @patrickstern. I was very pleased when I captured it! Thanks for commenting!

Major props to the 400mm sniper. Nice catch dude.

Thanks as always @runrudy! That lens is so sharp!

Wow incredible shot! ⭐️

Thanks for the star @restlesswanderer. That's my first one :) I feel I've made it now! Thanks for your comment!

Hehe well-deserved 🙂

Fantastic shot, following you now!

Superb. Upvoted :)

This Is Amazing!
Big Thumbs Up From My Side.

Thank you @saqib. I appreciate you stopping by to take a look and comment.

You are Welcome :)

I like this picture a lot. following u now

Thanks @thinkit! I appreciate you following me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67203.60
ETH 3513.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20