Little Monsters Part 22: Vespa mandarina japonica!

in #photography8 years ago


This one is truly a monster!
My keen eyed son spotted this Giant Hornet on the ground, after poking it a few times with a stick I came back and scooped it into a jar (with a lid), where I left it for a few hours to make sure it wasn't moving because it was dead rather than just very cold. It's not a good idea to bring a live wasp this big into the house only to wake it up angry!

Last year, I spotted one of these downed workers on the ground, but did not pick it up. I did regret that a bit as it would have made a wonderful macro subject, so this time I was sure to get it. A bit macabre perhaps but certainly fitting with the season.

Interestingly, due to a rigid exoskeleton freshly dead insects are virtually indistinguishable from live ones. While almost all of my subjects are living and in their natural environment, I made an exception for this potentially dangerous model. It will be respectfully interred later. I much prefer to see insects, alive and well, in their natural environment and don't particularly care for museum collections of rows and rows of pinned specimens, insectariums and butterfly houses are much nicer.

Japonica is a subspecies of Vespa mandarinia which is confined to the Islands of Japan. Both species reach very similar size and it's probably a result of national pride as to which is the largest in which publication you read.

This one has curled in a bit due to being dead, but in a living posture it would be about 30mm long. The queen, which does overwinter is slightly larger around 35-40mm.

I have written earlier about this species of wasp, though those pictures were from a much greater distance: Giant Japanese Hornet


Comments and feedback are always welcome.

Please upvote and follow to see the next installment in your feed!

Resteem if you think your followers would enjoy this post, thanks!


Also, if you like macro photography, check out some of the earlier posts in this series.

Little Monsters - Part I: Wolf Spiders
Little Monsters - Part II: Golden Orb Weaver
Little Monsters - Part III: Lynx Spiders!
Little Monsters - Part IV: Decorator Orb Weaver
Little Monsters - Part V: Black Back Paper Wasp
Little Monsters - Part VI: Dragonfly
Little Monsters - Part VII: Indian Fritallary
Little Monsters - Part VIII: Giant Japanese Hornet
Little Monsters - Part IX: Praying Mantis!
Little Monsters - Part X: Harlequin Ladybird!
Little Monsters - Part XI: Dragons!
Little Monsters - Part XII: Snails!
Little Monsters - Part XIII: Evil Weevils!
Little Monsters - Part XIV: Fantastic Phasmids!
Little Monsters - Part XV: To Bee or not to Bee?
Little Monsters - Part 16: Jumping Spiders!
Little Monsters - Part 17: Hawkmoth Caterpillars and Hawkmoths
Little Monsters - Part 18: Evil Doppelgangers - The Ant Mimic Spider
Little Monsters - Part 19: Hummingbird Hawkmoth!
Little Monsters - Part 20: Loud and Proud the Cicada!
Little Monsters - Part 21: Great Green Caterpillars!

I maintain and reserve copyright on all of my photos.

Sort:  

Imagine waking up to that thing in your face :) Good find!

I'd rather not! Even though I'm 110% sure it's never going to move again, I still put the lid back on the jar!

Wow !!! What kind of eyes has an Hornet!

They're rather interesting, the large compound eyes have a comma like shape, and the notch in the comma is where the antennae are placed!

Now that is terrifying! Fortunately my cat Snowy seems to love eating wasps so they don't get near me now.

Wow, I've had cats that ate all kinds of wildlife, from shrews to squirrels and birds but I don't think any ate wasps! I'd keep Snowy away from these ones though, in larger numbers these are dangerous to humans.

She has single handedly removed all the wasps from our garden. I have seen her pluck them out of the air with her paw - it is almost too fast to see with human eyes. There used to be a nest and she basically ate all of them. Since then we very rarely get wasps in our garden. We have had no new nests so it seems the wasps have told their friends to stay away.

That's impressive, good cat!

Thank you very much!

Wow! This one is really looks like a monster 8)

Oh, they more than look the part!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61696.14
ETH 3401.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52