Little Monsters - Part VII: Indian Fritallary

in #photography8 years ago

This strikingly coloured Indian Fritallary butterfly opened its wings at just the right moment to catch the sun!

Currently, it's my favourite photo of a butterfly that I have!

As usual, click on any of the pictures to see it larger on my 500px portfolio!

These colourful butterflies range from the Himalayas eastward through India, Burma, China, Indonesia, Taiwan, and Southern Japan! It's a most impressive range for such a seemingly fragile creature.

There is not much monsterous about the adult stage, excepting its very long proboscis. However, the caterpillar is another thing entirely!

That is one well armoured eating machine!
Looking very closely you can even see its tiny little eyes on the lower right of the head.
I'm not sure if the spines are venomous or not but they would certainly be irritating were you to be stabbed.

Viewed from the top, we can see the bright stripe on its back as well as the bright pink bases of the spines. A clear warning not to touch!

Caterpillars are built to eat, eat and eat some more. Consequently, these Pansies did not stand a chance.

After decimating the Pansies the caterpillar will form a cocoon to transform into it's beautiful adult form.

The jewel like material covering the lower spines on the chrysalis is not water as I had originally thought, not sure what it is. I also quite like the detail you can see of the developing butterfly: The wings are clearly outlined as are the antennae and eye appearing at the very bottom end of the chrysalis!

Transformed!

Ready for my close-up!

Butterflies are amazingly hairy!

I hope you're enjoying the series as much as I am writing it!

Follow and upvote to see the next installment in your feed!

Comments are always welcome!

Little Monsters - Part I: Wolf Spiders
Little Monsters - Part II: Golden Orb Weaver
Little Monsters - Part III: Lynx Spiders!
Little Monsters - Part IV: Decorator Orb Weaver
Little Monsters - Part V: Black Back Paper Wasp
Little Monsters - Part VI: Dragonfly

I maintain and reserve copyright on all of my photos.

Sort:  

Thanks! There are some large moths here too, but they're quite rare to fine.

I couldn't imagine, that butterflies have hair))) Thank you for nice pictures!

Yeah, they really do have a lot. Moths though, those are like shag carpets!

Fantastic, detailed photos! It's almost like they know you're there and are posing for you, lol! Again, stunning post!

Thanks ezzy. I do wish they would stick around and pose, things would be so much easier!

Great macros. Love the first shot! Fantastic!

Thank you, I was very fortunate to catch it opening its wings!

Muy buenas fotografia

Thanks @yanik I like it that you like it. :)

I agree, that top butterfly pic is amazing! All of your photos are beautiful!

Thank you for the wonderful compliment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61696.14
ETH 3401.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52