Little Monsters - Part XI: Dragons!

in #photography8 years ago


The Japanese Five Lined Skink is not a dragon; in reality, it is a very charismatic little lizard. Five bright bands of yellow on black start at the snout and just at the start of the tail, change to a brilliant blue!

They are very quick and easily startled. In my experience, I often hear them racing away among the dry leaves on the forest floor rather than see them. However, on this day fortune smiled! I heard a rustling on the ground as I was looking for macro subjects in a tree.

I spotted a flash of bright blue and decided to wait while mosquitoes drank my blood. I slowly crouched near the little lizard and was able to get quite close!

I love its perfect little dragon's claws in this frame!

As this post would have been quite sparse with only two pictures, I did a bit of diving into the archives:
These were originally posted to my old blogspot blog. I still update it every now and then though with Steemit, that will likely taper off. You can enjoy my old(er) posts at In Front of the SLR!

Japanese Grass Lizard:

Managed a quick shot of this one as it paused before running off into the surrounding vines.
A little more information at Wikipedia if you can read Japanese, that page has a good deal more information.

Geckos are also fairly common, though it's a bit awkward to try to photograph them on someone's house as they hunt moths and the like near lamps. "Why yes officer, I was taking pictures of little geckos...."
As such this one I found early in the morning:

She appears rather chubby for a lizard that can hang from the ceiling effortlessly. This gecko is nearly about to lay a clutch of eggs! Probably slowed her down enough that freezing in place was the best option. I was able to get one more shot of the expectant lizard before she scampered down the wall and into a crack between some bricks.

This page was helpful for identifying the exact species. Insects.jp

Follow and upvote to see the next installment in your feed!

Reblogging is also fully endorsed!

Comments are always welcome!

Little Monsters - Part I: Wolf Spiders
Little Monsters - Part II: Golden Orb Weaver
Little Monsters - Part III: Lynx Spiders!
Little Monsters - Part IV: Decorator Orb Weaver
Little Monsters - Part V: Black Back Paper Wasp
Little Monsters - Part VI: Dragonfly
Little Monsters - Part VII: Indian Fritallary
Little Monsters - Part VIII: Giant Japanese Hornet
Little Monsters - Part IX: Praying Mantis!
Little Monsters - Part X: Harlequin Ladybird!

I maintain and reserve copyright on all of my photos.

Sort:  

Great shots
💋 @halo 💋😇

Thank you very much @halo!

Tis a very very pretty lizard!

Absolutely, wish they were a bit easier to find though!

Wow, amazing photos yet again. Loving your talents, buddy.

Thanks for your support! :) @ezzy

I really love reptile ><
Thanks for ur adorable photoes !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61478.26
ETH 3385.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52