Pacific Coastal Highway, California: a deep nostalgiasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

People have pleasant memories about things they have done for the first time. Even if it’s been long time ago.
Hence, here I am sharing experience about my first international travel through photographs that I clicked from my Canon EOS 1000D.

Scenic drive california Pacific ocean drinkware1.jpg
Travelling to idyllic destination like Pacific Coastal Highway in California makes it special. But, when you travel for the first time by an international flight route of thirty hour duration with two halts to a place of big surf, different seasons in a day and long winding roads; the whole travelling experience becomes one of a kind.

Google Maps-International flight.jpg
In summer of 2013, I decided to take a short break from work and hastily booked tickets to meet my friends whom I haven’t met in many years. But due to last minute booking I didn’t get tickets for flight with short duration of halt.
So, I had to travel from Mumbai’s international airport to San Francisco’s international airport by changing flight at London’s Heathrow airport and later at New York’s JFK international airport.
Hence, the immigration officer at JFK international airport had a good laugh on my answer for their typical questions like where from where to? He was baffled by my choice of flight route.

Union City, CA, USA to Los Angeles, CA, USA - Google Maps-1.jpg
After reaching San Francisco, I had to take a few days break to recover from jet lag which I had never experienced before in my life. But I thought all this pain might be worth it when my journey of Pacific Coastal Highway started from an unknown suburb of Union City close to San Francisco.

IMG_0888_1.jpg
And voilà! my thoughts were well supported by the beauty of the destination exemplified by a labyrinth of long straight highways, meandering roads and valleys bordering the Pacific Ocean.

Squirrel pacific coastal highway1.jpg
As the journey unfolded many unknown places along the journey sprung up surprises like this cute host welcoming me with a ‘namaste’.

Nature's sculpting skills1.jpg
Nature’s sculpting skills also became conspicuous throughout the drive.

Bixby creek bridge1.jpg
Man-made wonders like Bixby Creek bridge helped me reach the undiscovered.

Seal colony1.jpg
But, as welcoming nature can be we should respect it’s privacy and limits. I found this out when tried to go closer to the tired colony of seals who need rest at the end of the day. They just seem to be annoyed by my presence.

IMG_0917_1.jpg
Finally, I was treated with mesmerising sunset that graced the beach.
After experiencing the aura of Pacific Coastal Highway, I felt that sometimes it’s great to step aside from the rat race and let the world pass by.

Sort:  

Aweome bit of coastline! :)

Congratulations @mukjb! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mukjb! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65