Why I Draw Self Portrait and Will I Do It More? by Endija

in #photography6 years ago

Only after years and years, after I drew this I read and a lot of people told me that a lot of great and famous artists have drawn themselves. Can you imagine me, being art lover and maybe even an art nerd I have missed that information about self portraits?
My love and interest in self portrait started in Summer 2017, when I had first serious idea about documenting everything. Since then I even have a diary. Yes, a bit old school, but I love it. And then I thought why I haven't drawn myself not the way I look like but the way I see myself.
So I was going to buy everything I need from the closest art shop. When I realised I cant get everything to home alone I asked for help. Yes, this is hilarious. I am short and fragile person, if we talk seriously, but that did not stop me from my imagination and picture in my head I wanted to put on a paper.
IMG_20180128_182708_424.jpg
The reason I wanted to draw myself so badly was not just because of documenting everything but to show the world something from me and what I have inside. Also to remember how I looked now after 50 and 80 years, I believe myself more than people can imagine and with this I wanted to say that I believe that all of this will get me somewhere.
I drew butterflies around me because they symbolize butterflies inside of me every day enjoying life and how I feel even in the darkest days.
I think my soul will never die even if I will. So powerful but so real for me.
IMG_20180127_212902_774.jpg
My portrait is black and white and I can say it is and always will be almost finished. Because I am who I am and for myself I will never be ready for everything and as I mentioned I think my soul will never die. But, there all around are a lot of gold sparkles, all around my hair and portrait in general. Because that is how I see myself and world around me. Even if there are a lot of dark and black colors, there are a lot of bright and light colors, we all make the difference and we all are all around each other.
In the last picture there is me holding a portrait. ( I just want to mention that I do not have short hair and I haven't put any make-up on, I just was tired of making it) And I am not holding whole portrait in my hands because I want to keep a bit from myself to myself till my first exhibition in August.
IMG_20180128_171007.jpg
And also I wanted to say that I will draw myself more. I am not selfish as some of you may think, I just want people to know me a little bit more and after years to use that as a part of my biography. I think no one can tell more about me, who I am and was more then myself and my art. That is why I will draw myself whenever I will feel it.
If you read this I want you to say big big thanks for spending your time and reading this. That means a lot to me. Hope you have a great week so far! Thank you again and see you next time!
With love,
Endija

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation 196!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


@ocd now has a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!


Nice post!!!
Thank you.

20180209_114926.jpg

One word ~ "Beautiful". Yes, we are ourselves. Only we know what we really want.

Thank you for taking your time to read this one, I really appreciate!

@msendija1 You're welcome. Keep it up. Cheers!

I really like the second picture with the unfinished portrait and the tools of the trade laid out on the oak (oak veneer) table , it would make a great cover for an educational painting book or a box of art supplies or some such. Do another one and stop half way , paint in the brush and the bottle and walk away, what do you reckon to that idea ?

Oh, yes, it would be nice. In 3 years my plan is to be part of something like you mentioned.
I actually haven't think about something like that! Thank you for your idea! Will think about it and maybe even realize, because sounds really good! Thank you so much!

Same! I like the 2nd picture!! Great stuff :)

Thank you so much! :)

Awesome work @mscendija1, you are talented, saw your post in a steemit chat channel, keep it up.

Feel so grateful, Thank you so much!

Nice picture, i like your choice of colors.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51