You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Simple Lifestyle in Valizas, Uruguay | Would you live there?

in #photography6 years ago
These people really live on the brink of survival; something many people nowadays cannot even comprehend.

Yeah, in more extreme cases it's true and I wouldn't live like that too!
I guess the grand majority of people in my city would just die by not knowing how to cook in case of a catastrophe hahaaaha
Have you seen the trucker's strike in Brazil? A lot of people freaking out because there was no gasoline... which is not even that important for general public.

That's why I've left mechanical engineering life, I see things though a more sustainable point of view - where products go through a complete life cicle, returning to raw material. Doesn't work all that well. The guys want production and in some cases, if that means hurting nature, then hurt nature.

Slowly things are changing over here with adoption of wind turbines, but it's not enough to overcome the usage of thermal for example. A lot to be learnt from the old continent -Europe.

That's why I've been dreaming about living in a sailboat. It's a place where I can optimize space and storage; it's sustainable and relatively clean to move; it's not full time connected to the system (that is expensive and dirt to run).

uff, long text. Thanks for bringing that topic to the comments @lakesnmountains

Sort:  

Man, you're putting more effort into your comments than many people here seem to put into their posts... 🙂

What should I write now to make it even? 😀

I actually tend to get upset thinking about suistainability and the future of humankind. On one hand, there are so many great people who really want to make a change; but then I think that as long as we have things like corrupt politicians, nationalist movements and religion-based conflicts, this species is going nowhere except towards its own downfall.

See? I'm getting upset again. 🙄

I do agree with you when it comes to politics and conflicts - what could we do to solve it, possibly not much.

However, we can do our best to think on a more sustainable lifestyle, and actually try it out. We can also spread the word, specially to the kids... they are the ones to change this world.
I had a friend ask me the other day "Why would I share sustainability on social media? Most of the people I know don't care" - But if at least one gets curious, then it's one small win.

Guess I'll share with you some sadness. What makes me sad is telling you all this, when in reality I'm the one stuck in a completely not sustainable appartment - no solar pannels, no rain water colectors, no LED lights.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57809.89
ETH 3118.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37