Moon photography attempt #1

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

I just bought myself a new toy... A Nikon P900. This thing has an insane 83x optical zoom and some pretty impressive image stabilisation.

The photo below was my first test of its capabilities, taken just now; a handheld (No tripod) shot of the moon (1/200 sec at ISO 200)...

All moon photos: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5

Sort:  

Wow. Is the P900 a camera? How much is it? That is an amazing shot.

Yep, it's a camera. It's around £500 here in the UK. $580 in the US (On Amazon.com)

OK. That is amazing image quality for zoom on a £500 camera. Normally you need a telescope to get that kind of zoom on the moon.

It's realy amazing shot! Nice camera!

Wow, I'm jealous! Can't wait for what's possible in 10 years :O

That's some impressive zoom there!

Wow, that's some truly impressive work, hand held or not!

Wow. Good shot.
So it zooms to 2000mm eq.? That is telescope territory 8-).

Indeed :-) And it'll focus down to macro mode to less than a cm away from the lens!

Dang...

I guess you went ahead and got the camera :D

I couldn't resist. They had it on display at a local store. Played around with it for a while and was sold :-)

If it's a clear night tonight I will try and get some more moon shots. The default setting has some aggressive noise reduction which I've now turned off, so hopefully I can get some even better detail :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63648.37
ETH 3125.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87