Striated Fieldwren Photos… and a Penguin Story

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

The Striated Fieldwren (Calamanthus fuliginosus) could easily be dismissed as just another little brown bird, but, on closer inspection, it is seen to be beautifully marked and full of character. Getting a good view through the binoculars is always a special moment. Getting a half decent photograph to capture those moments has always proven to be more difficult. I have plenty of shots of blurry flying objects and tails sticking out of bushes etc.

A little while back I visited the Rocky Cape National Park and after a bit of a picnic lunch at Burgess Cove my attention turned to the birds. The funny thing is, I was patiently scanning the area with my binoculars when a family member, in excited, and not so quiet, whispers pointed out a Striated Fieldwren perched on a bush directly behind me. It turned out there was actually a pair of them. I fired off a couple of over exposed shots while the birds went about their business, flying low over the heath, moving from shrub to shrub. Fortunately they were still fairly close and about a dozen shots later I came up with the two shots you see below. After years of trying, persistence and patience paid off.

( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature )

Striated Fieldwren – Calamanthus fuliginosus
Fieldwren_Striated-Rocky_Cape.jpg

Striated Fieldwren – Calamanthus fuliginosus
Fieldwren_Striated-Rocky_Cape-2.jpg

Coastal Heath at Rocky Cape (Table Cape in the distance)
Rocky_Cape.jpg

On a different subject, you can see the entrance to a cave in the middle of the large rock outcrop. That’s North Cave. It’s an old sea cave formed at a time of higher sea levels. It’s about 6 metres in height and around 60 meters deep. You’re not allowed in there these days as it contains archaeological remains of aboriginal occupation (middens, etc). However, 28 years ago (Aug. 1987) I did venture down to the very back of the cave where I found a lone Fairy Penguin (Eudyptula minor) in residence. It thus stands as the biggest penguin burrow I’ve ever found 🙂

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR

Some Recent Posts You May Have Missed

Australian Wood Duck (Eight Photos)

Fungi - The Shaggy Cap

Australian White Ibis (Three Photos)

Red Wattlebird (Three Photos)
Sort:  

Wow! Amazing ...followed you for more.
Please visit my profile hope you will like my photography ...@saan

Very nice clear photos. I like the way the Wrens flip their tails up. I will be back to up vote you when my power increases.

What a cute bird!! 😍

Looks like your persistence and patience really has been worthwhile. The clarity is absolutely beautiful. Really interesting coast line too. Was on the coast a little north of Sydney today ~ Wild and wonderful.

Amazing photos as always. Nice birds. Too bad you didn't get a photo of the penguin:)

Oh, my!! I have missed seeing some of your amazing images! I didn't realize it was because I wasn't following you! I have since fixed that so I won't miss any more.

Stunning images and your dedicated story-telling are awesome. I love these little guys and the pose that seems to come naturally to them.

Upped and Steemed

Congrats on successfully photographing a reclusive bird. The background on the first photo is lovely.

Great pictures :D like your point of ' usual brown bird' sad to say, many people dont actually look at birds, and dismiss do to as you say' brown bird' ... Most of them have wonderful feather coats :D 💖

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51