SUCK THE HEAD, PINCH THE TAIL!!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Part of the beauty of where I live is the abundant supply of seafood. We use the Lenten season as an excuse to get together and boil up some yummy seafood. We don't really need an excuse, but anyway...
20180324_123645.jpg
Crawfish, also known as crayfish, craw-dads, and mud bugs, are usually pretty spicy, a little salty, and in my opinion, the more lemon, the better. My compliments to the chef!!
20180324_123706.jpg
This is my Godchild's husband and He did a fantastic job, but of course they weren't better than my husband's. It's definitely a competition around here. Hell, we have crawfish cook-offs here, you pay one price, walk around, try everyone's crawfish, and vote on the one you like the most. It's flipping awesome!!

This is how we spend our weekends leading up to the Easter holiday, and most times beyond that. If it's crawfish season, you know we're eating crawfish.
20180324_124719.jpg
The second batch is always spicier than the first, most of us wait for it, we love the spicy stuff down here. I can not share any recipes, if I did, I'd have to kill ya, sorry. That's a sacred thing here.
20180324_130928.jpg
I will tell you that the soaking is the most important part. They have to soak for at least 15 minutes if not longer. That's when all the spicy juice gets drawn into the mud bugs, and that's where sucking the head comes in. All that spicy deliciousness, mixed with the fat and the little brains, mmmmm!! Don't judge people, and don't knock it till you try it! Wait.... crawfish have brains right? 🤔
20180324_142828.jpg
The spicy batch is ready. Time to chow down!! If you ever find yourself enjoying some spicy boiled crawfish, here's a little advice....don't rub your eyes, and guys, if you have to pee, make sure you wash your hands before, at least 100 times! I'm being so serious right now!! You don't want that!!

We have four seasons here in Louisiana... Mardi Gras Season, Crawfish Season, Snowball Season, and Football Season! Who Dat!!! And it's Crawfish Season Baby!!

I hope I've enticed someone out there, if not, you really don't know what you're missing out on!!

If you enjoyed, please comment, follow, upvote, and resteem!! Thanks for stopping by!! 🐝


This post is an OFFICIAL PORT on @dreemsteem's "X Marks the Post" Treasure Hunt.  If you'd like to become a treasure hunter, an official stop, or a sponsor - Follow the map to begin your journey! By the way, she loves good comments even more than upvotes - so be sure to say Hi! 

Sort:  

I've only had them one time but they weren't nearly as spicy as you are describing. They look delicious!!!

Thanks @dreemsteem for showing me this post. Now my stomach is grumbling and I have the monchichi commercial song stuck in my head. @monchhichi23 :)

hahahahaha yes - the first time i met her - i sang the whole song to her!!! LOL

well, except the one line that i could never figure out hahahaha... hehehehe

Oh the memories @dreemsteem, is it just me or does that seem like it was forever ago???

It really does seem like so long ago!!! Crazy hehhee

a tip! simple to help ease your stomach grumbles hehehehe

Thank you!! :) You're too kind.

Hi @doctorcrypto! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dreemsteem!

You can now delegate SP / invest in @tipU for daily profit:) Click here to learn more :)

Hey @doctorcrypto, we like them pretty spicy, some will tame them down a bit because of the old people... but I refuse to grow old!! It's as spicy as we can stand them!! Your lips are burning, your nose is running, but you just can't stop!!

I'm loving the response that I've gotten over my name, I didn't expect people to remember the monchhichhi's, oh so soft and cuddly!! Lol

Hehehe fantastic post!!! I was giggling as I was reading! 😄

This looks like a blast and I've TRIED to suck the heads but I always get too nervous and just kinda... Sip the heads lololol

The four seasons cracked me up!!!!

I wanna come visit you!!! 😄

We also boil crawfish around these parts lol. Probably going to be doing a boil for my birthday in a couple weeks! This post made me want some even more!

I'm so glad my post enticed you!! And let me be the first to give you an early Happy Birthday!! There is no better way to celebrate than with a sack of boiled crawfish. I do hope you will post about it so I can see if y'all do things differently than we do.

heyyyyyyyyyyyyy :) hehehehe so good to "see" you!!!! and happy birthday from me too!!! hehehehe I'll be the second one after @monchhichi23 ;) I think you two should plan a steemit meetup with a crawdad boil with secret recipeeeeees :) hehehehee

Haha @dreemsteem, I've never heard it put that way, "sip the heads"... it just sounds more.. "lady-like" lol... and you'll get over your nervousness when you come to visit, when you pop the tail in your mouth and suck the head ... the explosion of flavors that occur will have you singing at the top of your lungs for crawfish season!! Lol
You are more than welcomed to come visit any time, we'll boil you up some craw dads and show you everything our city has to offer, it will be sensory overload! I'm glad you noticed our four seasons as we do take that very seriously around here!! The craziness really ensues for football season, the sights and sounds around the city are truly magical.

I have some friends down there who are just as excited about those four seasons! hahahaha and who knows.... maybe that trip will happen in time! hehehehe

uh oh! @dreemsteem brought me here for the treasure hunt, and I have to admit something which you will find upsetting... I hate seafood and spice! My mouth cannot handle hot and the thought of seafood makes me want to run away and hide... My mothers fault for taunting me with cockles in vinegar as a child :(

i'm afraid to ask... what is cockles???? LOL

Lol, I have the exact same question as @dreemsteem, I've never heard of cockles before... is it like a clam or mussel?

cockles as told by wikipedia They are like mussels but out of the shell

ughhhhh mussels creep me out. the black lines that are all curvy and look like interconnected teeth/lips.... blahhhhhhhhhhh LOLOL

MUDBUGS? When @dreemsteem sent me over here...the title was very...misleading as I thought it was going to be more...risque...lol Been in the south awhile and never heard that term. Never ate the brains either, just the tails. I boil em up in garlic, onion and some salt. Course, what you guys got down there sounds a little more creole. Have to try it sometime!

Creole is a great word for what we are, that pretty much sums it up. You haven't lived till you've sucked the head of a crawfish, it's heaven in a head!! I hope you get to try them our way... you'd fall in love!

heaven in a head!!!! LOLOLOL that's hilarious/gross. hehehe

LOLOLOL that's called "tricksybait" @enginewitty hahahahaa

sorry i was late with your tip! simple - i THINK you got this on the actual day that it was debuted ;) and if not - ... hmmmmmm sneaky pirate ;)

Hi @enginewitty! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dreemsteem!

Yes this was fun... remembering trips down South. We do steamed clams and lobsters up here in New England, but it just occurred to me to try the same type recipe for them...thanks. Still out of season, but soon.

You know, @kyusho, I've never been that far north, but I have thought that lobster would be awesome boiled up in some spicy goodness, it's just like a crawfish right? Just bigger? I'm not so sure about sucking a lobster head, may have to just sip it like @dreemsteem does lol
I've never had any kind of steamed seafood, but I would think that seafood is delicious any kind of way!

A bit different flavor for the Lobster to the Crawfish and the claws... I think the best part with different texture and taste... even if just in drawn butter.

Oh yum - here in NZ crayfish (Lobster to you) is my absolute favourite thing to eat - I would eat if every day if I could!!! I really want to try crawfish now they look so good :)

I am sure you would love them as much as I do, especially since you already love Lobster! I want to try lobster, we should trade!! lol

Haha yes we should!!!! :) - the distance may be a problem though. When I win lotto and get to do my RVing round the states, I'll be sure to pop in with Lobster hehe

Well then it's settled, I will make sure to have a big pot of crawfish soaking for when you get here!! And then maybe I can accompany you on the rest of your trip.. lol

Oh for sure...... we can collect up @dreemsteem along the way - boy we could cause some trouble lol

Now that sounds absolutely prefect!!! What a road trip that would be!! And I haven't caused trouble for quite some time, it's long overdue!! Could you imagine?? Lol

Hahaha oh yes I can imagine :D It's a new thing on the bucket list - Road trip her I come lol

Lol, I love it!! And since it's now on the bucket list, that makes it binding!! I'll pack my bags and have them ready!!

oh my gosh - are you serious?!?!?! if you do an RV trip through the states - FOR SURE pick me up after you pick up @monchhichi23!!!! hahahahaha we. would. have. the. best. tiiiiiiiiiiiiime!!!!

And i've had lobster and crawdads (in PA we called they crayfish... but here in CA i call them crawdads hehehe)

and theyre both yum! but can you see @andysantics48... they're like bite size lobsters hehehehe

i like them both - but my FAAAAAAAVORITE.... crablegs. yummo!

there is a place here in Cali (lots of them actually ) where they serve you any of these things in a big bag with butter and seasoning... they put paper on the table and you go to town on them!

we three are so going there. i have lots of places to show you girls hehehehe

we need a steemit show. who cares if anyone watched. we would be cackling all day long!!! LOL

OMG now I must win lotto soon and bring @kiwideb with me too!!! She would be our voice of reason - I think we would need one lmao

hahahaha yes!!!! the four of us!!! LOL

Omg girls, talking about crablegs, we have a place here called Zydeco's and they do the crab legs like we do the crawfish. It's an all you can eat boiled seafood buffet. I would be worried about getting the bubble guts though with all of that spicy seafood!! Lol

yessssssssss we have that here hehehehe it's called the Crab Shack!!! yum yum yum!

Lmao you'll have to have the outside seat (ie the roof)

forgot to give you your tip! simple ;)

Hi @andysantics48! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dreemsteem!

Seafood and spicy, a good combo for me.

If you're ever in the area, we'll boil you up some!

I would love to give those a try, I also enjoy spicy food and lemons :D I have been growing chili for 6 years now; this essentially means that countless times I have relearned the wisdom of washing your hands before rubbing your eyes in a hard way xD

^^ I commented from my studio's account accidentally, this is the real me :D ^^

Well, hello there @arrrados. These are definitely for you... and since you like the spice, you would hang back and wait for the second batch...and don't forget to wash before you pee!! lol I would think chilis would do the same.

I have been working with some of the hottest varieties, so it can get pretty nasty if you forget to wash your hands :)

LOLOLOL i can't even imagine!!!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 01:56:11
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 21.20/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I know you can't hear how I read that in my head but if you could you would certainly laugh!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63