My Kitchen Visitor - A Cuban Tree Frog - photos by @merej99steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago

Well, hello little fella!

Cuban Treefrog, photo by Meredith Loughran

Last night I heard some movement in my kitchen.

It's getting a bit chilly outside at night and we've had a mouse that's escaped all attempts at catching it! Armed with broom, I quickly switched on the light and looked around the floor and counters for my hairy little nemesis. What I found instead was a big greenish blob on my wall.

Let me preface this by saying I am not a bug or critter kind of gal.

Regardless, I couldn't resist taking a few photos and was very surprised that it remained still long enough for me to get some close-ups with my iPhone.

Cuban Treefrog, photo by Meredith Loughran

So here it is a day later and I decided to look up what kind of frog it was. Based on the suction cup-like toes, I guessed it was a treefrog, but the coloring was different from the ones I've seen previously. This one has gold and brown spots. The other ones I've caught were much smaller and a pretty, almost-neon green.

It turns out this may be a Cuban Treefrog, which is an invasive species and potentially harmful to the local ecosystem.

According to the Department of Wildlife and Conservation, University of Florida - Johnson Lab:

The Cuban Treefrog (Osteopilus septentrionalis) is native to Cuba, the Cayman Islands and the Bahamas. They are considered invasive in Florida and likely to "harm our native ecosystems and also cause a lot of problems for humans." They eat at least five different species of native frogs, lizards and small snakes, and their tadpoles compete for space and food.

A nuisance to humans, they will poop on walls and windows leaving stains and potentially causing irritation to people with asthma. They also tend to requisition birdhouses, or hang out in toilets and sink drains - sometimes even short-circuiting utility switches.


And here is my dilemma

I caught it and let it go last night.

But according to the article I cited above, it should have been euthanized, and gives specific directions on how to do that humanely.

Personally, I've never purposefully killed a critter - not even a frog. I've dissected a few critters, but they were quite dead before I got to them. I've also prepared meals from a hunt, but never did the hunting.

That being said, apparently I did a big no-no by letting it go.

Cuban Treefrog, photo by Meredith Loughran

So, if I see him again, he's gonna have to get a good dose of benzocaine, getting tossed in a ziploc and thrown in the freezer.

Sorry, little dude.


This is a 100% STEEM POWER post.

Your comments, upvotes and shares are always appreciated.

Thank you.

For older content, visit my Steemit blog page

merej99-signature
Meredith Loughran is protected by Copyscape
merej99 is verified by Steem-verify
Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.61 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 10 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you @virtualgrowth - that's really cool and much appreciated. :)

Steem_Land Steemland.com tweeted @ 10 Nov 2016 - 08:02 UTC

My Kitchen Visitor - A Cuban Tree Frog - photos by @merej99 — Steemit

steemit.com/photography/@m… / https://t.co/Fv0kl2NrRI

@SteemUps @SteemitPosts @steemit @steemiobot

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Wow! I also do not like critters in my house especially! He might return you never know! Just keep checking your walls! Lol! That would freak me out! 😨 Did you get my last message about the signature? Thanks for shareing! 🐸Steem on!

I just checked email and saw your messages. It's nearly 3:30 AM and I'm heading to bed. Will send you a link tomorrow. It shouldn't take too long to create now that I know what you'd like :)

Awesome thanks so much! Just something simple! Good night! Its 1230 am here at work! I will be going home to bed at 630 am! Lol! Thanks for sending me the link! Will chat tomorrow! 👍😴😪

I don't think you're a killer, I hope you don't face this dilemma again...

a carnivore, yes - but not a killer.

That is a dilema. I don't think I could have killed him, no I could not. But you do have to think about protecting your local wildlife too. I imagine that I would of ended up with a pet frog!

HA! A pet frog! They do eat their fair share of cockroaches and ants so that could be a good thing. From what I read, they can grow to be about 3 inches wide and this one was at least 2 inches.

Hmmm, other ladies may have freak out and run away. Good for you. Camera and all. :-)

LOL - the running joke in my house is that I'm only a girl once in a while. XD

@merej99 he looks very sleepy
no - please don't kill him :P

The little guy sure has some personality in the top photo. How could you be scared or creeped out by that cute face? Dealing with invasive exotic species is such a challenge. I can appreciate other folks' sensitivity to dealing with the problem of an individual animal.

This image may be the inspiration of his next work. What do you think my friend @ merej99

I suppose deporting it would be out of the question.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58098.46
ETH 3134.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38