Benefits of time spent in nature

in #photography7 years ago

Whether you want relaxation and peace, or you need it for therapeutic purposes, nature always helps you. Here are some benefits of time spent in nature.

In a world in constant agitation, besides the beautiful and spectacular landscapes that it offers us, we can enjoy the many benefits of time spent in nature. Sometimes it works like a natural medicine that brings with it a wave of energy. Here's how he can help.

IMG-20170728-WA0029.jpg

Anxiety and stress. Spending time outdoors helps lower cortisol levels, also called stress hormone. Cortisol is also responsible for activating the instinct of fighting or fleeing, and nature helps us with mental relaxation, disconnection from daily routine and optimal cognitive functioning.

IMG-20170728-WA0008.jpg

Prevents and relieves depressive symptoms. The human brain also has chemicals called "antidote" neurotransmitters for depression and anxiety, these being serotonin and endorphins. They are responsible for the nervous system relaxation effects.

If you live near parks, forests or green areas, you can enjoy more of these benefits of time spent in nature.

IMG-20170728-WA0023.jpg

Effects on the body. Walking outdoors has the effect of lowering blood pressure, heart rate, strengthens the immune system and helps post-operative recovery.

Attention deficit. Children who spend more time outdoors are at a lower risk of suffering from ADHD than those who stay indoors. One way of improving this condition is to encourage children to spend more time staring at nature. A day outdoors does not compare to a virtual, artificial setting, and spending time in open spaces lowers the aggressiveness or nervousness of the little ones.

IMG-20170728-WA0021.jpg

Benefits of time spent in nature are also increased concentration, creativity, and socialization skills with others. While man-made landscapes assaulted us with various tedious stimuli, their natural counterparts offer us the chance to replenish our depleted mental resources, communicate better with ourselves, and find inner peace.

Time spent in nature also increases problem solving capacity, diminishes frustration, and facilitates the installation of a meditative and calm state that helps us to uncover the everyday problems and find new solutions for them.

By Anca Sabina Cosca, psychotherapist

Sort:  

Upvoted and resteemed!

I absolutely agree - there are a plethora of benefits time in nature has to offer us. It's more important than ever in our lives fraught with hustle bustle, wifi, and the latest gadgets zooming all around us.

Slight tangent - I read people still greatly benefit from going barefoot for even a few minutes a day in grass - it's an excellent way to ground yourself and re-connect with the earth. (Wow, I sound like a hippie! lol, guess I am)

I go barefoot when I'm in a park and let my feet enjoy that soft, grassy feeling. When I'm not in a park, I'll do the next best thing -- wearing the five finger toe shoes as much as possible. It's funny, I haven't worn "normal" sneakers with lots of cushioning in a couple years, and now I just tried some gym shoes on for the first time and it wasn't comfortable at all! Even though I loved how they looked on me, I just couldn't do it... returned them 2 days later.

Great article and totatly agree with you!
I am living in a huge city and i miss the nature.

I have long said that nature is my "church" and my sanctuary... I always go there to refresh and renew.

Beautiful post, thank you!

Wow!!!nice photo. Really the nature like a medecine against depression and boredom. Thank you for sharing @marius19
@creativewoman

You will always have benefit if you spend your time in nature

NATURE IS THE BEST MEDICINE FOR EVERYTHING

very beautiful scenery. I was amazed

Beautiful! This looks like a great place to go!:) Please check my little journey that I made soon. I hope you enjoy my photos. @nakedchef89

https://steemit.com/travel/@nakedchef89/travel-challenge-12-rilski-monastery

Could not agree more, i often to out into nature myself as you can imagine from my blog and it really works. The other day i was reaaaaally stressed out, and even though it was shitty weather i went out to mountainbike some and it really helped :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43