Every Picture Has A Story #9: You Are Never Forgotten

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Prrrrr-Eow ~~

A sound was heard…

Hua Nian?

Me-a---eow!

As if she understood me.

Is that you?

These were the conversation of me with a cat a week ago when I saw a patched cat with a short bushy tail.

If you have remembered 3 months ago I actually shared a mix-ed feeling story at Every Picture Has A Story #4: Outcast, but not forgotten you might have noticed that I wrote about how I spotted a stray, starved till skinny bone, with its baby, sunning at the porch of my house.

If you can’t recall the article, you might recall this photo


And I am pretty sure what happened to the cat and her young after I posted it, and in my post I did mention to @awakentolife that we spotted her adopted by a family a few doors away, 2 months later.

So... who is “Hua Nian”?

That, was just my nickname to the cat who was so frighten of me, the face is patched with 2 colours but yet accepted that small plate of warm oatmeal which all I had, suitable for her and her young. The meaning was “patches”
Like her uneven patched coloured fur all over her body and even the face, her life was equally full of patches of hardship, but had a happy ending.

And a week earlier, when I was really having a rough week, came with a fluffy ginger black cat that looked so much alike with the skinny stray me and my housemates once helped.

I don’t think I ever told anyone except my housemate that I gave her a nickname, but when I just automatically called that name out, she responded and ran over and climbed through the gate and started purring at my feet; as if she has known me for ages.

But then, I could hear from her purrs, her stomach was growling.

And noticing that she has gone really fluffy and big, smooth and clean, I thought she would have had a great home now with lots of love; but I also noticed. She’s pregnant (again?).

And I am pretty sure all the mothers out there would have agreed; when you are pregnant, you are a big eater.
Interestingly when I tried to send her back to her new owner’s house, she kept returning to the porch, and failing to see that once skinny now fluffy cute fella I have decided to search through my cabinet again for something to feed her.

Thank God for prepping (well not a lot)! I found a small pack of UHT milk which I think might be all right with her, so I gave some. When my housemate came home she told me she still kept some cat biscuits with her 3 months back and it was just a life saver for Patches.

Patches continued to visit us almost every day and sometimes it just wants to play with us, especially this week. I would have thought she might be looking for a place to give birth to her new litters but of all places, she chose this worn out house we are renting.

“I guess she never forgets who were kind to her,” my housemate chuckled.

Maybe it is true, yet for me when I was having a rough week battling some rough things in real life, maybe I am also being reminded, that I was never forgotten.

The little light we shine for others, who knows, when you need it the most in your dark times, the lights just came back to you, bringing life and hope into your path once again.

I am pretty sure by how you would be curious to see how she looks like compared to 3 months before; unfortunately we couldn’t get a clear shot of her as she kept swirling around our feet meowing and purring and playing with us.

Here’re some blurry shots I took of her. I hope if this Saturday I get to see her again, I might try to use my D90 and lure her to pose for me.

Ps: These past week she has been visiting my humble shed almost every morning and every night, and there are also another story that has something to do with her that I might share it with you all later. So I am “kind of” housing an extra visitor at the porch until her season of labour passes.

Thank You For Your Time

help-promo-a2.png
Please click on the logo to read why I have this project of 1000 SBD at the first place.

Sort:  

You've received an upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...



Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Animals just have this magnificent way of brightening our days. I'm glad this cat is giving you a little respite from real life issues <3

That is so true. Surprises come when least expected. And she has been quite entertaining, despite when she plays she is a little rough. lol.
So my housemate is very afraid to play with her.

Thank you so much for making time to visit this post @hopehuggs !

cat always knows a good person

I think generally animals have that innocent instinct @cikxaijen .
Just we complicated minded humans tend to overthink and let our mind play us.

Thanks so much for stopping by.

She's a tortoiseshell (coloring predominantly black and orange). My sister took in a stray quite like her, but then my sister takes in almost every stray.

Oh I never knew that patching design has a name @adjohmen! I used to have one that has all 3 colours, but her dominant colour was white in her entire body and her ears are coloured one side each and her tail mixed with orange and black.

White, orange and black is a calico. The pattern - color on ears and tail is called 'van'. So, that cat was a calico van. Interesting isn't it? There are specific patterns and names for some of them too.

Indeed! I have learned something new today!

What a wonderful tale... she looks like one of my cats in fact... and she always loves whoever gives her food, ha ha... best wishes to you and your growing family of feline friends...

LOL. I guess a hungry cat is not picky!
I do hope that she doesn't get too many to stop by. Some are rather nasty and just leave their smelly discharge behind. I don't mind if they attack the snails.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

So sweet. Precious baby. Glad you're giving her some respite.

Well, she needs a place to hide from the rain. So far she's the less property damaging cat among others. The rest just come in and leave their smelly discharge behind. Sigh.

@littlenewthings...this is i really captivating and am looking foward to more of your post
Upvoted resteemed and followed.

Awesome post @littlenewthings, we need more kind hearted people like you in this world.

That's really kind of you @codingdefined . Indeed that this world is becoming more and more cold and incapable of exercise compassion. And I hope that there are more people realise that a little kindness goes a long way and back to us again.
Thank you for stopping by.

Cats are wonderful, I hope you meet again.

I do hope so too. I saw her this morning right before heavy rain. I went to heat up the milk but by the time I got it out she was gone.
Will see if I see her visiting again tomorrow.

Thanks so much for dropping by @helo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53