Every Picture Has A Story #4: Outcast, but not forgotten

Hi Steem-ians! I hope you are all having a pleasant day today!

Today I would like to to share something that has multiple themes in it, because it is both heart warming and heart wrenching at the same time.

Recently I have been noticing a stray that was lurking around dustbins for food, and every time we come home it runs off quickly into the dark. Yesterday in the morning I started realising it likes to sleep on the warm porch of the house, but when I come out to water my plants it will skip away; then waited for humans to return to their shelter before it takes whole of its warm sanctuary of the day.

Later to my surprise, this black and orange furry fella was not alone, in fact, it was a female, a mother, with probably the only survived child with her.

I saw her scrawny body was trying to feed the little hungry fella and every time I was trying to open the door, the mother skips and runs away, but the kitten was too tired and just curled up like a black ball.

When my little sister of the house came home in the evening the kitten was so attached to her that she was squeaking with fear because she saw the kittens skin condition and she didn't know what to do with it. The kitten was on to her because she packed friend rice with fish inside, and that fragrance was just too tempting.

She managed to come into the house after quickly setting some rice by the side, and the kitten dashed its tiny body attacking the food, chomping in as much as it can.

When she told me about it (I was working in my work room) we peeped and saw the mother came by trying to see any scraps left; and again, went to our porch and lie down on the warm cement. I am pretty sure it was weak and tried to look for warmth after the thunder storm the night earlier.

I managed to search through every food container storage I have and managed to find a pack of instant milk powder with oats in it; and I have decided to share with them. It was a good time to have a light dinner.

I tried the first round with just a tiny bit of oats and more diluted milk with cold water (to cool it down after mixing with hot water for the oat meal) and test to see if the kitten and its mom is receptive to my offer.

True enough the moment I opened the door the mother cat just dashed out of sight, actually to the neighbour's pavement and watched as her feeble kitten meow with its sore deep voice.

I put down the tray of thin milk and oat and immediately the kitten started gobbling. I quickly retreated back behind closed doors and tried secretly took a snap of the picture when the mom joined in.

After I realised the tryout was a success I tried a second plate, this time with a little more milk and oatmeal, but I think it was still a little too warm so the kitten wasn't able to really have it. The mom, once again dashed away and watched when I approached her kitten with a second plate.

In the end I was happy that both mom and kitten slowly, waiting for the meal to cool and eventually shared the meal together.

~ ~ ~

Now this are just animals, some might say, but then it is so interesting that humans are more compassionate to animals that are stray but they are less compassionate to certain humans that are outcast from the status quo society.

In the book of Psalms the Psalmist described God in these words:

But you, God, see the trouble of the afflicted; you consider their grief and take it in hand. The victims commit themselves to you; you are the helper of the fatherless. (Psa 10:14)

Jesus never give up on outcasts, nor He ever refuse to heal anyone who is sick and came to Him; I am not saying I can health the sick of that poor cat (since I can't really approach it because it kept running away, and my house renting rules is no pets allowed). If He is the way, the truth, and the life and has shown His actions representing the heart of the Father, wouldn't those who are in Christ will eventually have that heart of compassion too?

I also know that I am no great provider , and I can't really help much either (with my limitations), but today when I see the cats could have at least something warm to fill their tummies it is something worth smiling for.

During night time when I peeped over the window to see if they are still there, they were missing, probably looking for another shelter or other food source. But if I get to see them again, I would still prepare a plate of oatmeal and milk to welcome their short stay on the porch.

Hope this post isn't too preachy, and I also hope that my paparazzi shots made you smile today.

Sort:  

Thank you so much @mycamerashots for such a wonderful surprise!

Wonderful and touching post your clearly. Good person giving your time to help those in need. Also congrats on making the top photographs daily selection :)

Thank you @tatoodjay ! I am going off to check on your work soon. That's one heck of a beautiful shot you have! It reminded me of the painting classes I had when my teacher asked us to blend the warm and cool colours together in that manner!

Heartbreaking story. Love the pictures.

Yes it is. Last night while I was out the mom and her kitten came to visit again, this time my little brother of the house decided to feed them some multigrain bread, and they seemed to enjoy it. He even took a picture of the kitten where he sent the pic to his girlfriend. haha.
Thank you so much for stopping by @bart2305

Every help counts, no matter how small it might be.

You are right @ana-maria
Thank you so much for stopping by. I have not seen them today yet. Maybe will spot them later at night. Who knows?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by littlenewthings from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 0.22 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @littlenewthings.

Wow what a story my friend. You are a good hearted person. Not very many people would feed the cats and take notice how weak the cat is, and that it needed help. I think you should reshare this story so I can upvote and share it.

Such an inspirational story. Enjoyed reading it. :)

Well, if I re-publish it the plagiarism bot will notice it. Besides, the cats had a happy ending. Someone nearby adopted them. They are much better now. The mother and her baby.
Thank you so much for stopping by to read my old posts @awakentolife !

Plagiarism is only if you copy somebodies else work. Not if you republish your own work. This is a story worth getting more attention on the platform.

I am glad the cats got a happy ending. :)

You are more than welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55450.66
ETH 2943.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.07