Dairy Free Instant Flan Fail Photo Shoot and Story

in #photography7 years ago

I love flan. And I love the instant pot.  However due to the fact that it's literally just dairy sugar and eggs, I have a hard time digesting this custard delicacy.  So I'm on the hunt for a tasty almond milk version, not vegan as it'll still have eggs but certainly dairy free.  I made a first attempt at this a few days ago and failed hard.  I'm sharing this with you to remind you all that sometimes things don't go correctly, even as a chef.

We got these ramekins to help with my food presentation, and honestly I was thinking flan from the beginning.  I've been meaning to attempt a dairy free version and this seemed like the perfect opportunity.

I found one that seemed okay, although there was honestly too much milk to egg, making it so it never set.  The recipe was in grams which isn't so easy for me to wrap my head around always, so I just missed the fact that the ratio was off.  Waaay off.

I made a simple caramel for the bottom of the ramekins.

Measured out too much milk according to the recipe.  This is just a heads up, just because it's on a blog doesn't mean it's actually a good recipe.

I even personally modified the caramel recipe...I should have known at the caramel recipe!

The caramel is the only part of this that turned out alright.

And it ended up under the crappy flan.

The trivet and a little water go into the instant pot.

And the wannabe flan.

For 9 minutes, excuse the mess haha. They didn't even all fit, but I learned a lot from this.  I ended up running it several cycles before giving up.  It tried to set at room temperature but was still soupy.  This taught me there was WAY too much milk.  I'm going to attempt this again and reduce the milk by about 150g, down from 500g originally.  This will hopefully yield a foolproof dairy free flan recipe for 3 ramekins, just enough to fit into the instant pot. 

Stay tuned for the success story!

Check out my other recent Steemit Originals!

The Shelf From Hell, Firing our Compadre...Again
Adventures Around Acapulco: Central Market, Honey Cart and Chickens

Acapulco Sunsets: Bright and Blue

Best Ever Instant Pot Flan




Thanks for following and supporting! And thanks to @pauliepro for designing these little Lily images for me to use in my posts, like the one above!


Sort:  

Nice effort I would not know where to start with this so credit to you. I can’t follow recipes myself, I always en up adding something or change it to make it my own. In turn meaning if often does not work out looking like it should but often tasty quite unique ;)

Hey, that's the sign of a creator right there. I used to be all about recipes till I started to understand how food worked...now I find myself changing recipes all the time, based off of what I know from experience. It's the difference between playing someone elses songs on the guitar and playing your own!

My rule is if it smells good togther it tastes good !

Beautiful pictures and food looks delicious. A true dining adventure. @lily-da-vine

It doesn't matter, you will do better next time 😃.

Thanks for sharing.

With any recipe like flan (i.e. cream brulee or caramel pudding) where Ineed to make caramel from scratch i always seem to have to do 2/3 batches because of burn the sugar the first few times!

I'm not kidding when I say this, but my experience with making dabs that is cannabis oil helped a lot with this process haha

LOL! Thta's funny! At least you tried :)
I think you should try to use coconut milk. Almond milk is really runny. Custard recipe requires a thick cream. So even if you use coconut milk, which is already thick, you still have to make condensed milk out of it. Not easy but doable.

Ah, but alas we aren't a huge fan of coconut milk. I've read this already, I'm determined to try and make it happen with almond milk haha

Haha, my boyfriend and I splurged on an Instant Pot and this reminds me of my attempts to make a giant pancake in it. I have yet to have a perfect success story, looks like you're close with the flan!

I love the instant pot, but certain things are hard to get right in it for sure!

Your posts are always perfect @lily-da-vine

lili de vine thanks for sharing this recipe your post always make me happy :)
@farhannaqvi7

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58269.58
ETH 3138.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43