Magic Mushroom Hunting Adventure in Georgia

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

I went hunting for magic mushrooms, but I am not an expert. I have read it's possible to find about 8 different varieties of mushrooms in Georgia that contain the psycho active ingredient called psilocybin. I did find a delicious variety of color fungi on my bike ride and took my Fuji X1Pro to document this adventure; other bikers and joggers gave me funny looks as I foraged through the woods off the bike trail. They must have thought I was looking for a place to take an emergency #2. Let's look at what I found!

DSCF1299.jpg
I have no idea what these are but I know they aren't magic mushrooms

From my research there are a lot of different species of shrooms but they almost always turn blue in color when bruised and have a dark brownish color under the gills. These guys were yellow/white and no bruising occurred. If they are magic little devils tell me and I'll go pick 'em. Hahahaha.

DSCF1301.jpg
When I saw them from a distance I thought I had hit the mother load of tripdom.

DSCF1302.jpg
Yellow/White and strongly resembling psilocybe cubensis, but obviously the wrong color.

DSCF1269.jpg
I rode along the river about 10 miles and casually stopped to forage when I saw an area that looked good for hunting.

DSCF1270.jpg
Deep in the woods at Chattahoochee River National Recreation Area I discovered an old chimney. No shrooms found.

DSCF1245.jpgDSCF1244.jpg
Then I ran into this guy. Destroying Angel 50% of the people who eat this mushroom die. It sure does look tasty! You EAT, YOU DIE

DSCF1237.jpg
I found this lonely little guy in some pine straw, looks like the psychedelic variety, but I don't think so...the top of the cap isn't smooth.

DSCF1236.jpg
A small ragged shelter. I did find the following shroom nearby...

DSCF1230.jpg
White underneath the gills, it didn't bruise. So no magic. I found these turned up and half eaten on 5 different occasions.

DSCF1240.jpg
World War I buffs taking photos in the woods. Weird. Maybe they were tripping balls...

DSCF1247.jpg
Cute little guy, but no bruising. So I moved on...

DSCF1254.jpg
Not turkey tails, maybe they are some sort of oyster mushroom. I was on a mission for magic, so I jumped on the bike and moved on.

DSCF1290.jpg
Here you can see a fallen tree along the river path and the bike my friend, Gregg, loaned me.

DSCF1321.jpg
A snail doing snail things.

DSCF1316.jpg
Impudent Stinkhorn Apparently they smell horrible, but not poisonous.

DSCF1315.jpg
Puff balls? I'm not sure. I didn't dig one completely up, but they were stiff.

DSCF1306.jpg
WTF!? Strange AF!

DSCF1305.jpg
Mycelium and some rotten mushrooms that may very well have been magic shrooms. Mycelium is some weird shit, read about it.

DSCF1292.jpg
Some sort of oyster/turkey tail looking things growing on a log.

DSCF1291.jpg
Gooey and weird.

DSCF1287.jpg
A patch of yellow stiff but gooey fungi. I saw this from about 25 yards off the trail and climbed through thorns for he photo. You're welcome.

DSCF1286.jpg
The Georgia forest loves it's log shrooms.

DSCF1281.jpg
Thank you may I have another!

DSCF1275.jpg
I rode along this path; a refreshing change of pace from being under the canopy. Brisk out today...50F and wet!

DSCF1256.jpgDSCF1258.jpg
These guys were spongey and looked edible. No idea. Let me know.

Okay! No magic was found, but a great cardio/foraging ride. Enjoy !

Sort:  

Great photos mate. Looks like you had a great adventure, I didnt even know that many kinds of mushrooms exist 😁

Hello lightenup, fascinating your great adventure is looking for different species of mushrooms. You managed to see several types if they were a few that was imprecionate did not know that there were so many different. All the shots were great. The texture that you can see of each mushroom is incredible causes go to your walk to enjoy it up close. Great adventure I liked I want one like this to enjoy. Enjoy a pleasant day.

Thanks Yen and you enjoy a pleasant day as well kind sir.

Beautiful shots ! The colours are so lovely and the compositions are very interesting ! ... And they make me want to roast some mushrooms XD

Lovely post, congratulations for curie <3 <3 <3

These mushrooms are awesome looking. I agree with rifkan, some of their shapes and placements are so weird, I didn't know that it was possible before I saw it in your blog.
                           
Congratulations for your curie vote ^_^.

We all need to get out and explore nature a bit more...

This is a great adventure! Forest in autumn is magical so I hoped that you will be successful with finding the magical mushrooms :) Maybe next time..

It looks like there is a great variety of shrooms in Georgia! But who knows which ones are edible. This is why I find mushroom foraging too dangerous. You never know 100% unless you focus only on those that you're familiar with..

My favorite photo would be the one of a 'snail doing snail thing'. What a nice description!! :)

Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your curie vote!

I think if you are dedicated to studying mushrooms and use a field guide you'll be alright on your mushroom hunt. Color, spore prints, etc. But you are correct, if you are not 100% then don't eat a wild mushroom.

Holy shit, you certainly found a lot of mushrooms! I was worried when I saw that first photo, thinking you had mistaken them for shrooms, then I breathed a huge sigh of relief when I read "I have no idea what these are but I know they aren't magic mushrooms." Definitely glad you weren't taste testing every mushroom you came across! Also I lol'd at the WWI guys... if they aren't on drugs then they oughta be!

Yeah, I sort of freaked out when I read I had found a deadly mushroom. I read it's not even a good idea to handle them...oooops. I hope my liver is intact tomorrow.

I love eating mushrooms. especially in pizza ...

Did you know that the mushroom that Mario Bros eats in the video game is a fungus that really exists? -I don't remember the name- but it gives the feeling of getting bigger, that's why Mario grows in the game.
just a little curious fact.

I loved the pictures. the structure of each fungus is very rare. but nature is like that.

The little red spotted one...I had just read about that one. I think it's poisonous

Hi lightenup,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Makes me want to grab some curry later.

So no magic mushroom? You gotta go check deeper someday and maybe the hunt will be successful then! Lol! Or could it be that these magic mushrooms have particular places where they grow and this isn't one of it??

I have no idea what these are but I know they aren't magic mushrooms

Well, their arrangements sure do look magical... Go pick them up!! Nah, didn't say that... Lol!

WTF!? Strange AF!

Think its strange too, having seen that before...

And those "oyster/turkey tail looking things " looks so colorful with a nice pattern. I can't believe they are growing out of a tree...

That last one.... I have no idea too!

Well, you haunt was a great adventure, you sure did explore and did some cardio too😉 (killed two birds with one stone? Well, it would have been three if you found the magic stuff😀)

There is a lot of talk about the benefits of micro-dosing Magic mushrooms these days, so I was thinking it might be interesting to try. But I didn't have any luck, I am sure they are around somewhere.

But you could easily buy them, right? Oh well, nothing beats an adventure....😀. You go back there someday and hopefully, they will show themselves to you...

Congratulations @lightenup! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 150 posts. Your next target is to reach 200 posts.
You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

It's about fucking time I get an award. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95