One photo a day challenge (193/365) all year long

in #photography6 years ago

This is an old dandelion picture. I took it in mid May this year. As you can see the plant was ready to spread its seeds around.

996E700A-FD52-4046-A7C6-4CCC796A2E93.jpeg

I used to think this plant was grass/ weed, but it turned out to be very good for the health. It is packed with vitamin A, B6, C and vitamin K along with other benefits. People make teas, smoothies and vinegars with them.

Here’s a list of some of those benefits
B08A5D80-972D-40A8-9691-615F72F5DF35.jpeg
Image Source

Sort:  

Wow this plant is popularly called "apolo" in Nigeria.
Apolo is a pidgin english word for Conjunctivitis.

The plant is called that because it is popularly believed even till date that if the white furry like stuff touches one's face, he/she will contact conjunctivitis.
Lol.



@leggy23 here is a snap of my crops you requested for, I even made a video for you.
IMG_20180714_160710.jpg
Check the video and other of my farm pictures here:
https://steemit.com/farms/@jacobite/ok92ss1s

Awesome, I think it’s a great skill to be able to maintain a farm. Don’t take it for granted.

Thanks @leggy23, I really appreciate this

Also I know about the ‘apolo’ eye condition, we call it the same name locally in my country too.

Hahahahahaha I thought my country was the only one

I guess @markkujantunen has a field of dandelion. I hope he is not weeding away this rich source of vitamins (pun intended). Thank you for sharing it. I am of the opinion it will be a good source of waste to wealth in the chemical synthesis laboratory.

It won’t be such a bad idea to study it further in the lab if that’s what you mean.

Nice i was not aware for all those benefits

You are welcome.

Great photo and amazing health benefits!

I actually first learned from you that dandelions are edible. From one of your posts.

That's great!

Excellent friend Legry your recommendation of the benefits of the dandelion, here I can not see that plant but I can buy it in the health food stores I will take it into account for the next thanks.

Great benefits it has and such a nice looking shot too this one thanks for sharing it

Wow! I just found out about this. In addition to beautiful is nutritious.

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

I never knew this plant has all this benefits yet we still run from it thinking it will give one Conjunctivitis...
Ignorance isn't a good friend at all

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.31