Nightmarish photography w/ musician @joshbalz!

Good evening, Steemit! What a stressful day. Not going to get in to personal stuff, but rest assured, it started heavy and ended heavy. Not what I needed after getting home after two weeks on the road. There was a silver lining. Myself, @vermillionfox @iamredbar and @tarotbyfergus has a massive Magic: The Gathering block at @caffetto. Another tally of victories with the infamous Padeem deck I’ve shared in depth here on Steemit in my previous post, "King of the Assholes" in Magic: The Gathering EDH/Commander format!”.

Tonight’s photography comes from my last shoot during my recent trip to the east coast and Canada. By the end of these last two weeks, I felt broken. I just wanted it to be over, I wanted to be home in my bed and if I’m being honest, I didn’t want to see my camera until next month. Until, however, I met my friend @joshbalz […formerly of Motionless In White] for lunch at the Amber Indian restaurant in Scranton, PA. We chatted about life, art and music. He let me listen to a new solo project he was working on and I felt inspiration coming on. I purposed we shoot during my last day in Pennsylvania and he agreed. It was set. Just before Halloween, we wanted to do something dark and disturbing.

@joshbalz came up with an idea for the nondescript, almost cartoonish, emotionless skull face in a full body skeleton onesie he already had. I envisioned a ghostly creature covered in […or made up of] chalky, white, cracking plaster. Naturally, during @joshbalz’s time in Motionless In White, he had an array of black contacts and unique outfits. We discussed the details and were fortunate to have make-up artist Kasey Kochanski available and willing to help bring these concepts to life.

The shoot location we chose was outside of Scranton near a massive abandoned warehouse centered in an overgrown field. Surprisingly, I wasn’t as interested in the warehouse […as a rule I love abandoned structures for shoots], but was far more interested in the overgrown, tall, dead grass. This was one of those shoots that I had a particular picture in mind…I just had to make it.

All three of the concepts were executed perfectly, even the plaster mask, which was the most difficult. I had an opportunity to experiment with motion having @joshbalz walk and thrash through the tall hay while following him, shooting as he went. His face was white and he was covering in black lace, which resulting in the eerie image seen at the top of the page. Many of these behind the scenes photos were taken with the iPhone 8 Plus. One of the best collaborations of the year with a true visionary artist.

I post all the time! For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt

Sort:  

This shoot is looking fantastic! There really is something sinister about tall grass or crops. It always gives me a bizarre sensation of claustrophobic agoraphobia! Sorry to hear your return home wasn’t immediately restful, hope you settle back into a good routine soon.

Thanks @bryan-imhoff! Yeah, I agree. I've done shots in cornfields during the fall but this is different and a little less cliché. I'm really happy with the results. The trip and post trip has been stressful but I'm really glad we made time to meet up in Allentown. Definitely one of the highlights of the trip.

Thank you for taking the time and energy at the end of an exhausting road trip! Between meeting up with you and this weeks flurry of Steem based project announcements & updates, I’m more enthused than I’ve been in a long time!

Wow. These are amazing picture! They are definitely more dark and horror than Halloween. The skeleton one is my favorite though.
I hope you will feel rested soon.

Thank you @readingdanvers! Today has been an improvement and I had an amazing client in NYC that gifted me with a hot stone massage here in Minneapolis. That'll help.

Hot stone massage is one of the best!

I must have to say that your photos are just awesome and it's giving wow felling. I do appreciate your work and here I realised I have to learn a lot to match your level. Sir I also have an blog containg some amazing facts, jokes and fun elements. It would be my pleasure if you do visit and sir please give suggestions to improve my post. If possible plz upvote and follow my blog. Thanks for your time.👮

such a beautiful post.. keep it up dear

Hahaha you made me laugh she said

I didn’t want to see my camera until next month

But to be honest ,it's not easy being road for weeks . But I'm glad you came out with some lovely pictures 👍. Keep doing what you love my friend.

Wow it looks like a very funny shooting with all the mud ;) Super clear images - I like them a lot. The first image is indeed a bit scary. Greetings from Mongolia, Silbart.

Wow, I love how the hand in that first picture has some resemblance to the sky. Really creepy and awesome photo--that one and all of them <3 Also, the fact that you were using an iphone to take some of these is impressive. As a fellow artist and newish photographer, I'm following for sure :)

Love the feeling and mood of the first shot!

There really is something sinister about tall grass or crops.

The first one is really great, the blurry grass makes it look like he is in motion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 59522.29
ETH 2588.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45