Homestead Photography Contest Entry - Animals on the Homestead

The theme of this week’s #homesteadphotography challenge - “Animals on the Homestead” - is actually a sore subject for me… with the recent passing of my cat Leo, I no longer have any pets. I’ve always had pets so it’s a weird feeling. I hope to adopt sometime in the future when the time is right.

But for now I have to make due with appreciating wildlife I see on the homestead! So this is a photo from a long time ago that I had the privilege to capture and it remains my best work to this very day. I would have gotten outside to take a more recent photo but with the snowstorm yesterday, there are not many animals moving around outside.

I have shared this photo before on my other Steemit account (that is now inactive) but it is mine and I am very proud of it!

This garter snake was one of many resting near an active nest. It was cold out so they were lethargic but when I laid down on the ground in front of him (thank you zoom feature) and shifted, he raised his head and tasted the air. I swear I took almost 500 pictures in quick succession in order to catch this exact moment.


Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T3

Alterations: Basic enhancement, basic crop, minor retouching


Photography by @kiaraantonoviche - please DO NOT share and/or repost without express permission!

Join the HomesteadersOnline Discord community today!

Proud passenger of the Steemit EcoTrain!

Sort:  

I am very sorry about your cat and I know exactly where you are coming from. It is never easy to lose a beloved pet, especially one that is almost like family.

This is a spectacular photo and I can tell you must have waited some time to capture it. Great Job!

I like that snake photo and sorry about your cat.

I appreciate your support. Thank you. Upvoted

Perfect capture, this is a wonderful photo! I love when you look at a picture and can zoom in to see things you'd never see otherwise.

Oh WOW! That snake photo is just AMAZING. Look at that tongue! Awesome job capturing it.

I've tried taking pictures of garter snakes with their tongues out. So I really appreciate how many photos you had to take, to get this one. It happens so fast! You got the perfect timing and a great image! Thank goodness for digital. Can you imagine doing that with film? Yowza!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58111.37
ETH 2571.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47