Vibrant Mushroom in a Dark ForeststeemCreated with Sketch.

Standing on the slope of a fallen log, its color bold against the black and deep green, I am dangerous this little mushroom cries!

I was looking for a park I had never gone to and started searching around areas south of Minneapolis. I came across Frontenac State Park near Red Wing, MN. It looked like it had good forested areas and a fair amount topography which can be hard to find in Minnesota. I brought my camera along figuring there would be some flowers to photograph, little did I know that what I would find was a forest full of many types of pretty mushrooms. I found these little guys growing on a blacked log, they were tiny and I would not have even noticed them if they had not been so bright orange. The forest was dark so I had to have my aperture wide open which gave me quite a narrow focal plane, but I think it gives these guys a bit of a dreamy look.

Vibrant Mushroom in a Dark Forest.jpgPhoto by Kelly Anderson taken with the Nikon D5100

Cheers, @kellyjanderson

If you liked this post, you may also enjoy a few of my other recent posts:

Pride and Joy

The Empire South of Rockefeller

Hungry House Finch - Color Challenge: Monday Red

Sort:  

Beautiful, a nice shot indeed.

You are good. I will be folowing you and hope for more posts like this one.

Excellent shot! What kind of mushrooms are those?

I don't know what kind they are. I found that it was difficult to identify mushrooms from a photo, most experts I talked to said they would need to see it in person and perhaps pick it and pull it apart to accurately identify it. This is also one of the reasons it is dangerous to eat wild mushrooms, it is easy to misidentify them.

I do like the shallow depth of field. It does create a dreamy look. The fairies should appear any minute now!

Now I am thinking I should try my hand at compositing and adding some fairies! 😃

I have a photo somewhere of my little niece when she was very young sitting on a toadstool. I made greeting cards from it. I'll need to post it! It was one of my first digital composites.

That's cool. Looking forward to seeing it when you post it.

I have to find it first! I have so many backup drives of photography now. I think I know where it is though. Isn't is amazing how one idea leads to another on here? That's what creativity is all about. It's not about using the ideas of others, but about allowing those ideas to make you come up with your own. I have an idea for the post now!

Feel free to link the post that was inspired here, I don't want to miss it and that way it will show up in my replies.

They are pretty the two of them! Great, you spotted them!

Thanks, I have a number of other pretty 🍄s from this hike. The will likely make appearances on my blog over time as well.

I am looking forward to this! Steem on!

Lovely boken! I'm a lover of the small, and this is an excellent photo of the beauty of it

Thank you, I love getting close to beautiful things, something I discovered when I got my first telephoto lens and started pointing it things there were not far away, LOL. It was not long until I bought my first macro lens.

Cheers,
@kellyjanderson

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99