Pride and JoysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

The Minneapolis gay pride festival is held in late June, and something that people who are not from the midwest often don't realize is that Minnesota summers are very hot. At this point I had been doing photography for about a year and a half and I wanted to give some event/street photography a try, I figured the Minneapolis Gay Pride Parade seemed like a perfect opportunity to get some great shots. I picked a spot along the parade route that is about two thirds through the parade and waited for the fun to begin. It was sunny and around 90 degrees and by this point in the route many marchers were clearly feeling the heat of marching on hot asphalt, but this person was still giving every ounce of fabulous they had!

 " "Pride and Joy.jpg""Photo by Kelly Anderson taken with the Nikon D5100

When I first started working on this photo I was having a hard time with figure to ground and subject focus. It is difficult to isolate a subject on a street lined on all sides with crowds. But then I noticed the girl in the red dress in the background, the joy on her face, and then the string of smiles connecting the subject to the crowd and realized that the person dancing down the street was not the subject, the dancer and the crowd were the subject. I realized that this photo captured both the Pride and the Joy of the event and it all came together in this shot.

The daily color challenge is the brainchild of @kalemandra please stop by her page for details.

My name is Kelly Anderson(@kellyjanderson) I primarily photograph #flowers, so if you would like to see flowers in your feed you know what to do. :-)

Cheers, @kellyjanderson

If you liked this post, you may also enjoy a few of my other recent posts:

The Empire South of Rockefeller

Hungry House Finch - Color Challenge: Monday Red

Aviv Vodca

Sort:  

Great shot, and a colorful bunch :) I also like the Backgroud. Sometimes the subject is not in the front pane but in the background. It's like most sports photographers after a game take photos of the winning side whereas the best shots usually come from the side that has lost. Also it is nice to take shots of the aftermath of the event. You might find interesting frames, when the majority of the reporters left, and you can tell the epilogue of the story. Great capture.

Thanks, you are totally correct, sometimes the real frame is where no one is looking! This is one of those photos, where when I first looked at it, I was like it's ok and the more I looked the better it got.

It looks great to me. It captures the whole event and transfers the mood. If the main subject was isolated and the rest in dof it would make a totally different image and feel to it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 60799.23
ETH 2640.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58