Wildlife Wednesday ~ The Hungry Owlet

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

This is a young male Barred Owl, and he was making such a fuss I guess he was starving. I'm submitting the first photo in this post to the Wildlife Wednesday photo contest by @derangedcontests in the professional tier.

Nikon D750, 1/500s f/5.6 ISO1600 320mm
hlx2ccb1hn.jpg

The owlet flew over my head and landed on a branch perhaps 20 feet off the ground. Then he proceeded to cry and screech and carry on like you wouldn't believe. Not to worry though... Mom was hard at work in a nearby tree. Check out below as she rips apart something with black feathers to feed her young.

k14j3q0imf.jpg

I'm not sure exactly what Mom had caught, perhaps it was a crow. In any case, check the next photo where you can clearly see a birds foot sticking out of her mouth.

jvz3wjrmwp.jpg

I missed the part where Mom flew over and delivered breakfast, but if you look closely at the final photo you can see Junior enjoying some red meat. It's all part of the circle of life. A good day for the owls... not so much for the crow!

zs2sgjoxir.jpg

All photos by me, @keithboone. Please click for a closer view. Thanks a lot for visiting!

Sort:  

A matter of: One man's meat is another... err.... man(?)

I suppose... my opinion is we have more than enough crows, but not so many owls. Besides, the little guy was starving... and crying and dancing on that branch...

BabyOwlDancing.gif
Click to see larger.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Check the new contest I just launched.
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Love Owl pics. Nice one!
K

Thanks very much, @ksteem

Good luck with the contest thanks for using talentclub tag.

Thank you, I've just learned about that tag

The owl can pose for pictures well. Good shot

Thank you, the owl posed for a whole bunch of photos, I must have taken 60 or more shots

Thank you :-)

Congratulations sir on exceptional photography. I can hear the crunch of bones.
I visit game reserves frequently and often pray that I don't witness the actual kill...I'm always on the side of the prey (to heck with the attacker who has babies to feed!)
The one time we were close up there was so much dust in the activity of the attack that it was only when it was over and done with that I saw 'the feast'.

Yes, I can understand the way you feel about it. Nature is quite cruel, isn't it?

Great shots, you must be really close to owl!

Thank you! The owl perched on a branch just overhead, so I was very close.

@keithboone, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.

In the first photo, he looks angry but in the last, he looks sad. 😅 Thanks for sharing your great photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04