I want to tell you a story. All about my town...

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Hey there @derangedvisions, I heard you're looking for a cool place to travel? I'd like to tell you a little about my town, Victoria, British Columbia on the southern tip of Vancouver Island.

a6jx1a2ls5.jpg

Me and my wife Cathy came here for a vacation seven years ago. Then we went home to Toronto, sold our house and moved right back three months later! We sold or donated almost everything we owned, stuffed the rest into our Chrysler mini-van, and drove 3,000 miles to get here. I've never been happier. Since that day we have been retired, and honestly all we do is take photos, or in Cathy's case, take photos and make paintings.

mpyksutl7t.jpg
Cathy on Mount Tolmie, looking down at the city

Let me show you where this is... recognize the west coast of North America? Three cities are circled on the map. Vancouver at the top, Victoria on the tip of the island, and 130 miles to the southeast is Seattle. (Study this map. There will be questions at the end!)

jrjv958s2a.jpg

This is the beautiful Pacific Northwest. We have spectacular scenery, pristine nature, wildlife, ocean, mountains... and a lovely little city that I call home with a population somewhere around 250,000. It's small enough that I can walk almost anywhere I want to go. I'm going to show some photos of the city and surrounding area, but first there is something else I need to talk to you about...

Hey America...

I'm a Canadian. I put the letter U in the word colour and harbour, exactly the way God intended when SHE invented the English language. (See what I did there? I'm offending as many people as possible for comic relief! Just play along.) That's right, damn you Noah Webster for screwing up our language! ...but I digress. Where was I? Oh yes.

America.

Why is it that every time I point my camera towards the ocean, I see your mountains? It's like you're always lurking in the background of my photos, taunting me! I wouldn't mind so much except my passport has expired and I can't go there at the moment! I want the readers to understand that all the mountains in the photos I'm about to show are in the USA. We have plenty of mountains in Canada, but you can't see them from here!

loslmcgexu.jpg
Above: Alpenglow on Mount Baker, Washington with San Juan Island in the middle distance

Can you see why any photographer might want to live here? This is looking due south.

j7uphi7u3b.jpg
Large sailboat with Washington's Olympic mountains in the background.

Living on an island means you get to see a lot of boats! The local economy depends on the tourist trade, and Victoria is one of the stops for the Alaska cruise ships coming up the coast from San Francisco and Seattle. Below you can see two cruise ships racing each other out of Puget Sound, heading for Victoria, roughly 2 hours away. In the foreground is Point Wilson Light, Port Townsend, Washington.

ebd21wvcmm.jpg

The cruise ships dock here three at a time and sometimes more have to wait their turn to get in. Every night the ships are in port, 6,000 or more tourists are let loose on the town.

ekex8rh1mk.jpg

Speaking of tourists, we love them and hate them at the same time. It's like that in any tourist town. I find the crowds downtown ideal subjects for street photography. Here's a typical bunch, straight off a cruise ship watching a young lady play a harp. Look at them closely... Alaska sweat shirt, guy smoking a cigarette, a woman with a 'Super Big Gulp'. Yep, those are the tourists... For the rest of this post, I'll show some examples of what a tourist might do here.

cyn97r8dwo.jpg

A carriage ride through China town.

oo254be98z.jpg

Check out a haunted castle. This town is crawling with ghosts if you believe the tourist guides.

yslmc6cb7y.jpg

Play golf beside the ocean. The courses are open year-round. We almost never get snow here, although this past winter we had snow for a week. (It made me consider moving!)

ro26axifd8.jpg

Maybe you'd like to take some kayak lessons. These guys below run a little school, they'd be more than happy to teach you!

bblon0060g.jpg

Once you've got those kayaking skills down pat, you might want to paddle over for a front row seat at the Victoria Symphony Orchestra.

mgccixel0k.jpg

Wildlife photography. Bring your long lens. This photo was taken in the city. The bald eagle is carrying a large crab which he just scooped off the beach.

f1c17hmih3.jpg

The whole town is full of deer. We've got way too many, but as a photographer, I don't mind at all. Remember that shot of my wife? This little gif is made from shots taken about 50 yards from where she was standing.

jyue8ymku8.gif

If you have time to get out of town for a short trip, you might want to try some fishing.

0h8yfr484b.jpg

Or do a little camping on the beach...

erxlndn190.jpg

And then you can get back on that cruise ship to Alaska.

qff5zikv9d.jpg

Or take the Victoria Clipper back to Seattle.

1u20rwkjf9.jpg

Or a seaplane to Vancouver.

b74fg9lviw.jpg

Wow, that's twenty images, so I better wrap this up. I apologize for the length of this post, but @derangedvisions wants you to work hard and be creative if you enter his contest. I hope you enjoyed these images of my adopted home town.



Edit: I forgot to mention Whale Watching... what was I thinking? Sometimes the Orca whales will come right into the inner harbour. You could have seen one in the final picture if the timing had been right!

All photos were taken by me, @keithboone. Please click for a closer view, and thanks very much for visiting.

Sort:  

Beautiful beautiful. And great photos. That's all I can say
Deserves the bigests upvotes.

This been manually curated for PhotoStreem, The Photography Tribe

Thank you, what a lovely comment!

It was a great pleasure to read and see your blog, thanks for the resteem of @dswigle. Wonderful! You write with humor and photograph with mastery. Thanks! $trdo

Congratulations @bluemoon, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @keithboone!
@keithboone got 6 TRDO & @bluemoon got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thanks again!

That's such a nice comment, I really appreciate it! Thanks so much!

With pleasure. You wrote a very nice blog, it was a great pleasure to read it.

Very nice photography and humorous post! I gave you votes from both accounts. I've visited at Victoria before but it has been a few years. It seems like I remember a really nice museum there and a restaurant on a mile marker that was good.
!trdo

Congratulations @lightsplasher, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @keithboone!
@keithboone got 6 TRDO & @lightsplasher got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thank you! Yes, the Royal British Columbia Museum is very cool - it's partially visible on the left-hand edge of my first photo. I'm pretty sure I know the little restaurant you mean as well, located close to 'Mile Zero' of the Trans Canada highway. Thanks very much for your support!

Perfect presentation!

Manually curated by PhotoStreem: The Photography Tribe
Join Photostreem DISCORD
Follow the Trail

banner_1-Axe.jpg

Congratulations @axeman, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @keithboone!
@keithboone got 6 TRDO & @axeman got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thanks so much for that comment & curation @axeman! I really appreciate it!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Awesome! Thanks so much to @thekittygirl and @innerblocks!

You are most welcome! I was so amazed by your photos and write-up that I also shared this post this morning during "Pimp Your Post Thursday" (PYPT), the oldest curation-show on Discord for posts on the Steem blockchain. (The founder of PYPT and "TheRamble" discord, @shadowspub, is also proudly Canadian!) Everyone was quite taken by your work, as we always are in the #ygs server! Thank you for sharing your fantastic work with us! All of the photos in this post are wonderful, but that first shot of the city with the reflection of lights on the water is breathtaking, and truly one of the best such shots I've ever seen! The blossoms on the trees definitely "clinch" the shot!

Thanks again! I mentioned in another comment that this was the only photo I've taken that got on TV. It was a network news show, coast to coast. I was so proud I can still remember... something like 8 or 9 seconds at the end of the weather. The camera starts out zoomed in on the photo. Music plays. A voice says something like "Tonight on Your Canada we take you to Victoria, British Columbia." The camera pulls back and you see the entire photo, my name comes up in the corner, and then Poof! Cut to a commerical. I still have a copy of that full news show, just for the final 9 seconds! :-)

I truly appreciate your support, it's sweet to know this post was on a curation show!

Thanks for sharing and engaging with Pimp Your Post Thursday.
You’ve earned SHADE tokens


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much, @c-squared, I appreciate the support!

HA

I put the letter U in the word colour and harbour.

I still do too Keith ~ As well as in favourite. Grammarly is always telling me I have it wrong and I imagine lots of people think we have too. Hard when you are outnumbered. Something goes through my brain every time I’m about to write a U word. Should I just go with the popular? But I’ve been sticking with the Aussie/Canadian like a 'real stickler.'

Such a beautiful part of the world. Little wonder it’s a haven for tourists. Love your photo of the girl playing the harp. And the photograph of the Victoria Symphony Orchestra. That would be such a wonderful thing to do.

I have a niece living and working in Baniff ~ Visits home occasionally but I don’t think she’ll live in Oz again. Loves the mountains and lakes now. Will have to come and visit her now AND see your beautiful home town. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Thank you! I hope you do get a chance to visit. Victoria is small and beautiful. Vancouver is big and cosmopolitan and very exciting... but Banff, that is a slice of heaven. Your daughter is lucky to live there in the mountains!

Don't apolise for the length of the 0ost, it was lovely taking a little trip through your town - it looks amazing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the kind words!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @torico.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Now isn't that the sweetest thing ever! Mmmmmm! Chocolate Cake!!! :-) THANK YOU!

gorgeous photos. definitely on my bucket list of places to visit!!

That's great to hear, I hope you are able to visit soon! Thank you :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77