Black & White Photo Contest Week 11

in #photography5 years ago

San Josef Bay ~ It's not so easy to get here...

For me, it works like this: Drive for eight hours to the northern tip of Vancouver Island. Then drive 60 km down a very rough logging road to reach the coast. Walk 2 km from the parking lot down to the beach, avoiding bears, wolves and cougars.

Then discover I read the tide charts wrong and it's low tide, not high tide. My idea was a long exposure with the tide surging through the seastacks. Alas, it was not to be, but with the tide out, you can walk through here, so that's also very cool.

The black and white is processed for a little drama, but I'll show you the "real" photo afterwards. This is for @axeman's B&W contest, Week 11

Nikon D750, 1/1600s f/7.1 ISO100 28mm
nxr221wjp2.jpg

In truth I didn't see a bear, but I saw plenty of sign. Meet a young traveller from Alabama who was camping on the beach and that guy talked about using his beer spray to drive one away. He was leaving in a bit of a hurry.

So I couldn't wait hours for my high tide and I wasn't prepared for camping, but I still had fun taking lots of photos. Here's my colour version of this photo. Please click for a closer view.

s12an582k2.jpg

Photo are by me, @keithboone. Thanks for visiting!

Sort:  

Love both the color and Mono versions, and WOW that is sure a trek to get there unlucky with the tide times but still, you got awesome shots I bet

The drive really took it out of me. A logging road is no place for a mini-van. Not only is it narrow and very rough, but the oncoming lumber trucks have the right of way at all times. If you meet one, it's up to you to get off the road, which may mean backing up for a while till you find a slightly wider section.

That does sound such a tiring road trip, Have driven on similar roads but not in a minican which I can only imagine makes it so much worse

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Check the new contest I just launched.
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

I don't know what's wrong with me, but I always read the tide charts wrong. I just don't know how to do the math! I'm sorry you didn't get your high tide, but what you did get was pretty great anyway. That was an awful lot of driving!

Some of those tide web sites are hard to figure out...

The black and white image looks like an opening setting for a horror movie. The color image looks like a perfect place for an epic pirate sword battle searching for treasure!

That's a brilliant idea to hide a buried treasure there because half the time it would be under 20 ft of water. I'm going to bring that up at the next pirates meeting! :-)

Ooohhh, love that sole tree on top there!
Is this the same place I liked before? Can't remember the name, if its the same... Wonderful amazing place, Keith! :)

Thanks very much! I have shown photos from there before, but I'm not exactly sure which ones... so likely you have seen this before. The black & white shot here was a fresh processing attempt for this contest. :-)

All the best for the contest then. It looks great in black and white too. Adds a lil mystery to the place...

Thanks again!

Thanks, I agree, That central sea stack is something like 25 ft tall, just to give you an idea of the scale.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86