Japan Photo Blog, Vol. 75 - A New Year in Narita [VIDEO/PHOTOS]

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

成田 ✈️🙏🗾

Narita

International Airport meets Edo Period Japan.


Narita is a city on the eastern outskirts of Tokyo, Japan. It's home to Tokyo’s Narita International Airport. In Narita's center is the centuries-old Naritasan Shinshoji Temple, a Buddhist complex with gilded pagodas and tranquil gardens. Running between Narita train station and the temple is Omotesando, a narrow street lined with colorful shops and restaurants in the style of Japan's Edo period.

SOURCE: Google

EF4D57A0-7CEA-4A91-BF30-FC5F7F17D1A0.jpeg
A photo from our New Year’s visit to Shinshō-ji, or “New Victory Temple,” in Narita, Chiba, Japan.

A taste of Edo and New Year’s prayers on a beautiful day.

After returning from our holiday in America, my family and I were glad to get back to Japan. We savored some smoky, heavily dashi-based miso soup and rice for breakfast, and then took to the streets to check out the historic sites in Narita. Omotesando, the street leading to be Buddhist temple called Shinshō-ji, is packed with Edo-era style shops selling various wares and culinary delights.

The temple, dedicated to the god fudō myōō, “Unmovable Wisdom King,” was busy, as many were heading there to say their prayers for the new year, bathe in the smoke of the incense, and just enjoy the beautiful, clear blue sky and sunshine.

I hope you’ll enjoy the following photos and video from our visit!


0D2430BB-780D-4FC2-BE9F-0D9E33AC8F1E.jpeg
Various wares and good luck charms for sale at the temple.


7A6FF93E-8D87-47DC-B6D7-65C22CB08D97.jpeg
Pilgrims ascending the stairs to the main hall.


06774311-02EB-440B-818C-4A38DDE6302C.jpeg
The gigantic red and black lantern—a donation from believers at Tokyo’s famous Tsukiji fish market—impressively greets visitors at the main gate.


39714DF0-33BE-43D5-A491-7BE95C9E32FE.jpeg
The sanjū-no-tō, three-storied pagoda, on the temple grounds.


8E73D55A-6319-45F6-B682-0461FC9A5ADD.jpeg
Various pickled goods and other foods for sale on and around the historic temple grounds.


Finally, please enjoy this short video I made highlighting our visit!

We had a great time, and I highly recommend a visit!

~*~

(Thanks for stopping by! If you missed the last installment of Japan Photo Blog, Vol. 74: “Delicious American Microbrews!” you can find it HERE.

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

I have been to the Shinshō-ji ! Beautiful place and nice blog!

Excellent. Thank you!

I congratulate you on Christmas and wish from the bottom of my heart a bright blessing and a kind world, the true happiness and incredible joy of the soul.

Support me, please, if you like my post https://steemit.com/travel/@evgenya86/travel-with-me-4-marienplatz-the-heart-of-munich Thank you in advance!

very cool, the temples remind me a lil of my trip to Beijing with the architecture! :)

Reko_3

Amazing culture, there's just so much to see at once. Lol.

Nice!!

Narita city is looking so awesome. i wish if i would there in Japan so that i could visit it
Thanks for sharing

The goods sold are very attractive. I like to buy souvenirs like that :D

I always tried to see Tokyo and visit it .. it is the biggest dream! I was like traveling around with photos..
thanks for sharing.
I liked your narration and photos. a very successful post.

Love places like this in Asia, cultural sites and buildings with all the foreign goodies and foods are always a treat.

They really are.

Looks really fun. I've always found Japanese culture fascinating, and one of the country I wish to visit even once. But since I can't visit it yet, I'll just content myself on the photos and video on this post. Thanks for sharing. Have a nice day.

Thanks for the mental vacation! Found this post in "Travel" tag, looking at different places always makes me feel more human. So many people, so many similarities.

Really glad to hear that. I agree! Thanks for commenting.

I'm an artist too, travel and other cultures is a big part of my influences. I've been blessed with opportunities to travel all over the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60521.50
ETH 3005.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85