Doggy Photography! Photography Collection Featuring My Sister's Dogs [Set #1]

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

dogs henwen neera grid.png

I never imagined myself taking such an interest in pet photography, especially dogs. Not that I don't like dogs; I've just never had a dog of my own. I enjoy seeing and playing with dogs that belong to my friends and family, but I've never had the time and space to make the commitment to having a dog of my own. I suppose my priorities lie more with independence and freedom to travel, not being tied down-- having a dog would make many of my whimsical adventures difficult to pull off.

Through this photo collection, taken over a holiday visit to see my family in Ohio, I realized the power of portraits, exciting images of individuals. In this case-- furry individuals. I loved "working" with my sisters dogs, getting them riled up for expressive shots, patiently waiting and watching for the perfect moments, and attempting to direct their attention in ways that would allow me to use the natural light to my advantage. I'm very pleased with my shots overall. I took many thousands, and I'll be editing and publishing a few dozen of my favorites. This is the first set. I hope they are enjoyed here on Steemit. I'll be excited to edit and post more of these photo collections if the response is good! 😎

DSC_0212.jpg
This is Henwen, my sister's indian pariah dog. He's a bit of a handful, gets too riled up around other dogs and cats. Here he's chewing on a stick, breath lit up by the sun.

DSC_0258.jpg
I really enjoyed some of these snowy background shots. Having the right quality of soft or angled lighting is crucial for this type of shot.

DSC_0793.jpg
I suppose this one be perfect if his eye was open wider, but I enjoyed the soft lighting, colors, and the wooden fence background of this capture.

DSC_0330.jpg
This is Neera, my sister's husky dog. She's a bit more easy going and mature. I enjoy these shots where the sunlight makes their breath visible in the cold winter air.

DSC_0838.jpg
Big sister Neera watches energetic little brother Henwen frolick around the backyard

DSC_0069-2.jpg
I love the way the "golden hour" angled sunlight lights up Henwen's light hair. Something about the colors and background make me very satisfied with this image. I'm

DSC_0547.jpg
Just ears & eyes, Henwen with some nice soft lighting and a colorful background bokeh.

DSC_0502.jpg
That's better, not a bad pose for a restless pariah dog.

DSC_0162.jpg
I have another frame just like this with here eyes wide, but something about Neera's squinty "smile" made me choose this take for the first set of images.

DSC_0576.jpg
He might look happy, but he's panting after he caused quite a ruckus barking is ass off at some other dogs in the metroparks.

DSC_0592.jpg
I really like the curvy bike path in the background. Henwen really did not like the pretty girl going the opposite way on the path in the background, he barked at her and watched her until she was way off in the distance.

DSC_0321.jpg
"Wonder"... I wonder what Henwen wonders about? He's not really as contemplative as this image suggests. He's rather excitable and impulsive as a young pup. I guess that's pretty normal for a young dog, I expect he'll chill out a bit more as he matures.

DSC_0583.jpg
Again... he's just taking a break from borkin' up a storm. Not really as content as he appears, he's just taking a breather.

DSC_0134.jpg
These two usually a bit rough with each other... though it looks like they are quite calm in this frame.

DSC_0996.jpg
That's a nice smile, Neera 😁

DSC_0081.jpg
Henwen has stick, and he's wary of anyone who might try to take it.

DSC_0214.jpg
Ah, I wonder what could've taken his attention away from Neera and myself in this moment?

That's all for now, this is the first set. I have more collections to organize and publish when I can find the time. Thank you for viewing, hope you enjoyed!

Sort:  

Congratulations @kadoka! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 200 posts. Your next target is to reach 250 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi kadoka,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

The image captioned That's better, not a bad pose for a restless pariah dog, captures Henwen's spirit, I think. Alert ears, poised to spring back up, smiling eyes and mouth - I can feel his naughtiness in your image. 🌱

Los animales son totalmente nuestra alma gemela, en ellos podemos encontrar amor, compresión y sobre todo una compañía, esta galería es asombrosa desde el punto de vista del tipo de perro, ya que son astuto y bastantes amorosos, muy especial. Felicidades por esta impresionante y fabulosa galería en relación a las mascotas preferidas con casi todos.

Saludos.

Beautiful collection of photographs, your sister must be proud of her dogs, I love people who like and love these animals. You can tell they are very well cared for, Neera is beautiful and Henwen very attractive, I hope to see the second collection. I congratulate you on your good art and your curie vote. My compliments.

Beautiful dogs! Your photos make them appear majestic.

I think you took all the pictures with your heart, they are very beautiful!
A pet that I love is dogs. The last one died two years ago, his name was Tábata, and I still haven't been able to recover from his absence. A big hello @kadoka

hi dear @kadoka, i love these furry friends, your sister is lucky to have this nice company !! your photos are fantastic, excellent light and excellent models;)) keep on and congratulations on your curie vote

Congratulations @kadoka, your post has been featured in the latest Curie Author Showcase.
On behalf of @curie I thank you for your time and for creating amazing content. Keep up the good work!
Sincerely,
Ivan (@curie curator)

These are amazing shots! It is not easy to get great photos of animals and you did it. You even captures some emotions that I really like, like the one when he is wondering about something. Those eyes are adorable. And those dogs are really pretty. I know what you mean when you talk about a restless dog. My mom has a young Maltese dog and he is everywhere. It's like he didn't even know how to sit down and relax :)

I also don't have a dog myself for the same reasons like you. But I do love playing with dogs as well :)

Thank you for sharing and have a good day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61