170 days on Steemit - Experiences, success stories and more

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

170 days on Steemit - What's to come?

Today is Saturday, December 30th. Day 170 on Steemit, which can be converted to:
14 688 000 seconds or 244 800 minutes or 4080 hours or 24 weeks and 2 days or even 46,58% of 2017.

steemit justdentist contest australia week 11.jpg

Mount Cook - New Zealand

The year is almost over and I thought about a little Steemit review post. All the tv shows right now elect the person of the year, word of the year and so on. I can claim for sure that the blockchain and crypto mania played an important part in my life this last year. Getting invested in 2015, we bought some new coins in 2016 but what's far more important is that I saw, or let's stay I tried to understand, the real value behind the blockchain technology. A friend of mine works at a bank and at their cafeteria they can pay with Bitcoin now. That was in July this year. Right after this meeting I went online and checked if our patients could pay with BTC for their treatments but I got lost with all the different solutions. It would have been great, to be the first or one of the first dental offices in Germany to accept payments with cryptocurrencies. Maybe in 2018!?

steemit justdentist contest ocean week 14.jpg

Sunrise - Ijsselmeer, Holland

On July 14th 2017 I joined this new social media plattform called Steemit. It's been a bumpy ride in the beginning. Why are there Steem, Steem Power and SBD? Power up, different keys, convert SBD into Steem, author rewards, payouts... Actually the community does a great job educating their new members. Several guides, helpful comments and steemit.chat helped me out to conquer Steemit in the beginning.

Photography

My passion is photography. Most of the time photography is in the top 5 in the tags section. Several contests take place daily and it's often easy to participate. Sometimes you have to create your own post or just upload the appropriate image into the comment section. In the beginning being successful on Steemit for me meant, getting rewarded for my published photos. The feeling is amazing, when people from all over the world like your photos. My top 5 contests are hosted by @czechglobalhosts, @juliank (@photocontests), @brumest, @jasonrussell and @kus-knee.

DSC08654.jpg

Fisherman - Li River, Yangshuo, China

IMG_8030.jpg

Horseshoe Bend - Page, Arizona, USA

justdentist steemit contest new zealand banks peninsula.jpg

Banks Peninsula - New Zealand

zhangjiajie heavenly gate view over city.jpg

Heavenly Gate - Zhangjiajie, China

A special shoutout goes out to @czechglobalhosts aka Tomas! He lives in Prague and runs a travel agency. I was really lucky to join his highly successful contests pretty early. The contestants support each other and over time the quality grew steadily. It's especially great that people write short descriptions about where the image was taken and what they experienced in this city or country. Thanks to my buddies @schmidthappens, @extremejogging, @axeman and @jpphotography for supporting my photos and my posts as well!

DTube!


Besides my passion for photography, I shoot some videos once in a while. You can count the views on my YouTube videos on a couple of hands. Is there a better reason to start DTube? Even though it's still an early version of the service, it works really well after the latest updates. I'm excited to see how it will turn out in the future!

cali roadtrip 5.jpg

Dental tips


As my nickname suggests I work as a dentist. My inital thoughts in my introduceyourself posts were that I will definitely share some dental information with the community. I hesitated for a while because I wasn't sure what people might think of the posts or my opinion. The blog posts should have a greater benefit for the readers than most medical information on the typical webpages. I posted four dental posts:

It's not my place to say if they were successful or not. The last one got the most views and the highest payouts.

steemit justdentist contest asian week 12.jpg

Panorama - Karst Landscape, Guilin, China

The German community


The deutsch category is one of my go-to places when I visit Steemit. After clicking send on my introduceyourself post, @twinner, @pawos and @roused commented on the post and I received 150 votes! Other Steemians I interact with regularly are @andyjaypowell, @pipurilla, @schamangerbert, @eikejanssen, @ew-and-patterns and @surfermarly. I'm happy to see the German community growing and it's great that some awesome projects like Steemworld by @steemchiller or Steemian by @xeroc and the ChainSquad GmbH are developed by German users.

steemit justdentist lake tekapo.jpg

Lake Tekapo - New Zealand

Expectations and predictions


That's a tough one. Whoever is here for the money will be disappointed in the future! That's my guess. I would like to see some changes in the design. Yes, I know, it's been a topic for a long time. As far as I can tell, there's a huge effort behind the scenes to improve the usability and implement new features in the near future. The presentation of the SMTs, smart media tokens, was a great step forward regarding the overall potential of the Steem blockchain. Let's see how they are used in 2018 and if Appics, the first application using the new SMTs, will succeed.

justdentist steemit jason russell contest 02 bw.jpg

Fisherman - Li River, Yangshuo, China

Will Steem let go of its underdog image and climb up to the top 20 or even top 10? I don't know, but I hope so. If it will get easier for new users to sign up and buy Steem directly, if influencers from other social media sites will join Steemit and if the site will not be the new paradise for spammers and haters, I see a bright future for Steemit.

steemit justdentist contest north america week 8.jpg

Death Valley - USA

Saying thank you was one of the most successful posts on my blog. I will keep that in mind for next year for sure!

My own goals for 2018 regarding Steemit are quite simple: Post at least 3-4 times a week, invest in Steemit and engage more with other users from around the world.

Have a great New Years eve everybody😃


Enjoy life, have fun and take more beautiful photos!
Sebastian

Upvote, follow and re-steem if you like this post.

🔥 Steemit rocks 🔥

Sort:  

great story and a simple truth

Thanks a lot @lasper!
Happy new year!

u2

Thanks a lot @jasper! Happy New Year!

I am glad to have found your blog thanks to @czechglobalhosts photo challenge. Your photos are amazing, in this post my favorites are the Horseshoe Bend and the Fisherman.

Mit der deutsch Community habe ich mich bisher noch kaum beschäftigt, werde ich mir aber gleich mal anschauen. Frohes Neues Jahr und viele Grüße aus Karlsruhe!

Thanks for your kind words. Let's see how things turn out in 2018! I really admire your work and grading skills. Talked to my wife today and we definitely have to get out of the house more often in 2018 to get more photos taken😂 Did you have any vacations / trips planned for 2018?
Happy new year!

I actually plan on studying in Asia (probably Taiwan) for one semester later this year, so I will be leaving Germany in August and first travel in Southeast Asia for some weeks, probably either in Myanmar or in Vietnam.

Sounds great!

Happy New Year!! :) All the best for you and your family!

ich gratuliere euch. Das Fotos wow ich hab kein Wort. Faszinierend

Nice trip on a blue steemit waves :D

Let's see how it will continue. Hope the waves will not end for a while:)

tolle Ansammlung von Kunstwerken in Fotoform ;-)

Hab mein Bestes gegeben ;)

Toller Post und tolle Bilder! Ich hab erst die deutsche Community entdeckt und freu mich total darueber. Bin gespannt, wie es mit Steemit weiter geht :) Alles Gute fuers Neue Jahr!!

Vielen Dank und dir auch alles Gute!

Great post, nice review and thought-provoking predictions :) And all adorned with your stunning photos! :) Thanks for sharing and Happy New Year from Mexico/Czech Republic! :)

Nicely said! Thank you so much😃

Reading this post has made me a happier steemian today. Beautiful photography with a sincere, humble gratitude. Love your style and spirit.
((om))

Thanks a lot man! I'm happy when somebody else is happy😃
Will follow you in the future!

😊 Thank you! Oh, and Happy New Year 🚀 🎇 🎉

Beautiful photos! Seems you're also getting around quite a bit :-)

viele Grüße aus Bayern!

Vielen Dank! Ja, ich hatte das Glück und vor allem die Möglichkeit ein paar schöne Flecken der Erde zu erkunden! Kann das Kompliment aber direkt an dich zurück geben! Echt schöne Bilder und deine Fotostrecken sind echt super!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61042.80
ETH 2605.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65