✍ Photographic Reflections - Why Don't I Feel Offended When They Praise my Camera? 📷

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

The scene is the same. The customer or some friend looks at your photo and says:

"Wow, J. What a beautiful photo! Your camera really takes great pictures, congratulations!"

For a moment when we finished listening this "praise" we stayed angry. We think in our minds:

"My camera was not responsible for that beautiful image you see, but my vision, my knowledge, my brain and my inspiration, idiot!"

But here's my reflection: Why are you offended by this compliment from your client, friend or relative who most of the time does not have the photographic technical knowledge as we have?

Source of Image - Edition by Me


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

A partial view of the Boa Viagem neighborhood in the southern part of the city of Recife.

We know that the technological innovation provided to photography since the beginning of the digital age has greatly improved the performance of the cameras of several brands, with its several models, one more advanced than another, with more buttons, effects, "50 million focal points ", Rotating LCD screens, WiFi integration, Bluetooth ... Today a camera is no longer limited to recording images, but several are the technological components that make it up, so why are you offended with someone who praises your photos only for the potency of your camera?


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

The green strikes me in the middle of the intense traffic of the cars.

I don't think even the oldest photographers, who have worked with cameras since analogue time, see with such orthodoxy that people today praise a good photo just because of the camera. They know and are aware that in their time, yes, the cameras were 100% manual no camera interference in the result of the image depended entirely on the camera, but of your ability and knowledge to be able to record that moment.


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Old buildings of Conde da Boa Vista Avenue, in the financial center of Recife.

I honestly don't feel offended by these compliments to my equipment, I understand that a mobile phone does not have the same image quality as an SLR or Mirrorless ... a Mirrorless does not have the same focal points like a SLR, or a simple SLR don't have the same resolution or image quality as a Full Frame camera and yes, skills, knowledge, technique and inspiration are important for a photographer who wants to be recognized in the market for his work, but we can not deny, close our eyes or be hypocritical to the reality of the digital age in photography.


If you missed the previous issues of my "Photographic Reflections", you can read my thoughts on these links below:

New Reflections, stay tuned for the next posts!


Thanks for reading my post!

Obrigado por ter lido o meu post!


All photos are my own, signed in © and taken with my Sony Alpha ILCE 3500.


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Sort:  

While I do feel, for example, that the best camera you can have when a moment strikes is whichever one is closest to you, I still find that given all my choices, I have my preferred camera. If something happens and all I have is my iPhone, so be it. At least I captured the moment, and the image quality isn't bad at all. But if I'm looking for creative control there are just too many shortcomings.
The camera does matter, but not without knowing why it matters.
Otherwise I find it no different than saying "That meal was delicious. That frying pan does great!" or "That house you built is amazing, what a great job that hammer does!"

Sua câmera tira os ótimas fotos!! :)

Personally I believe that when you give a pro a smartphone he will still out do any amateur with a DSLR.

Good pictures man! I enjoyed them.

Obrigado @exyle, é verdade. Muito obrigado pelo elogio :)
Sometimes a super camera does not mean that there is a great photographer behind it. This should also be taken into account :D

Thank you very much @uwelang. I'm glad to hear that you liked it.

always welcome - i like great photography

I will have to disagree :) Those type of comments irk me to no end ...
I wrote a post about nowadays tendency to let the camera do the thinking for the photographer that touches on this :)

The camera helps, but the photographer's talent speaks louder. Thank you @roby17269

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50