Blanca Peak, Colorado

in #photography7 years ago

Last November my wife and I got the travel deal of a lifetime: $20 tickets (each way) from Columbus, Ohio to Denver, Colorado. If you live in Europe $20 may not seem like an amazing deal, but here in the US cross country travel usually cost around $300.

We skipped classes for a few days and made a quick 5 day trip to go my brother and sister in law who were living in Pueblo.

All of these shots were taken from our attempted hike to Blanca Peak- which stands at 14,344 ft, or 5,325 m.
There are 58 "14ers" in Colorado and anyone who is into hiking tries to summit as many as they can.

Unfortunately we were only able to hike to about 13,500 feet before we had to turn around because of a pretty heavy snow storm at the high altitudes. Luckily I was still able to get some pretty decent shots on our way!

lake1 pano-1.jpg

coloradoandrew-insta-0336.jpg

coloradolake-insta-2.jpg

These were all taken with a Canon t2i and a Rokinon24mm f/1.4.

Sort:  

Wow! I thought the first picture was black and white. So gorgeous! Well done :)

Thanks! Cool stuff on your page. I’ll give you a follow.

Thank you so much! Love your blog too. I will follow you back :)

Love finding travel deals like that. I've flown from Chicago to LAX for $54, then from LAX to PDX for $36, and back home for $42 by keeping an eye on Frontier and Spirit flights.

Nice! Yeah this deal was frontier.

Your photography is amazing! Gave you a follow :)

Thanks and thanks!

great landscapephotography

Thanks a lot!

I love how the snow makes everything beautiful. I am a photographer just new to steemit? Any tips on how to get the most out of the platform?

Thanks!
I’ve found that telling a story along with your photos helps bring exposure because it makes more people comment.
I’ll check out your blog!

Lovely Lovely Lovely pics. You made me icy cool. Best use of camera. You and your wife is lucky for sure.

Here i have started my travel blog with my professional photoshoot moments. you may like it-

Falkland Islands - Incredibly beautiful landscape
"Málaga" Spain - Beautiful Yellow Sand Beaches
See Venice Photoshoot

Thanks! I’ll check it out.

This is what I like about Steemit, it brings out the artist in us just like you. It lets us express the creativity in our own way in different fields that we can do without boundaries. Keep it up you are making the Steemit community proud of what you are doing :) Have a good one!

Thanks for the kind words!

no problem :)

Simply adore the last pic

good composition

Thanks. Love the minimalism on your page!
I followed.

Colorado is quite beautiful indeed!

No one can argue with that!

Super pro photography and usa is wide and large good business 20$ bucks a tick

Thanks, we couldn't pass the deal!

Ow that's absurd!

Ow that's a shame, sorry soryyyy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52