6 Reasons to Love a Fisheye Lens!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

As a photographer I found that many other photographers tend to treat a fisheye lens as a “fun” lens but they really don’t take it seriously. Most of them would say the lens is a novelty and the effect wears off quickly. I beg to differ and I’ll give you 6 reasons. 

It's so wide and fun to use!

Introduction to Fisheye Lenses

Yes it is indeed fun to use a fisheye lens but to me it’s a very very useful lens. It is able to capture images of up to 180 degrees in front of you and everything you see and more gets caught.  

Note: This part might get a bit technical, so if you like you can skip it (but it's good to know!). It might surprise you but there are actually a few kinds of fisheye lens:  

  1. Circular fisheye lens - it only covers a circle within the frame
  2. Full frame fisheye lens - meaning it covers the whole frame, not to be confused with the sensor size 

Circular vs Full Frame Fisheye (source: wikipedia)

And each of these fisheye lenses have their own so called mapping functions (or projections) which are based on some mathematical equations and names that scares me. But you can read all about it on wikipedia here.

Types of Fisheye Projections. Source: wikipedia

Recommended Lens

The lens I use and highly recommend to everyone are Samyang fisheye lenses. I have the Samyang 8mm f2.8 fisheye lens for my Fujifilm camera but they make them for all kinds of camera brands too. Why Samyang?

  1. It's the only lens to produce stereographical projection. See the animation above and you'll understand why a stereographical projection looks more natural for photography. This is especially true when taking people.
  2. It's sharp. Excellent image quality from Korea here.
  3. It's small. So small and so light, I almost always carry it whenever I have my camera. Indispensable when going on holidays.
  4. It's super easy to use. Set your focus to hyperfocal (e.g. for f4, set focus to 800 meters) and everything will be in focus. It's a manual focus lens, but you don't need autofocus for this kind of lenses.
  5. It's affordable. Compared to many lenses, the prices of Samyang lenses are a steal. They are also very well constructed and mostly metal.


Now here are my 6 reasons to love a fisheye lens!

#1. It makes great group photos

This is especially true when doing a wedding dinner table-to-table shoot. You can get everyone in the frame without them having to leave their seats and relocate most of the time.


#2. You Don't Miss Anything!

Large rooms with hundreds of people? No problem. You want the ceiling with that?


#3. Perfect for Selfies

Who says you only can take selfies with a smartphone?

Just a few shots of me and my wife during our trip to Laos last year! No tripod, no problem.

#4. Interior Photography Never Looked Better

Any room would look bigger with a fisheye. It's excellent for real estate agents and interior designers to capture any room with just one click!

#5. You can Convert a Fisheye Photo into an Ultra Wide Angle Lens!

If you are on a budget and can't afford an ultra wide angle lens OR if you don't have time to switch lenses, never fear you can easily "Defish" your fisheye photos and make them rectilinear ultra wide!

Before. Tadaaaa. After!

The process is quite simple using Lightroom. Anyone interested to find out how can just comment below and I'll be happy to share.

#6. It's fun. It really just is.

Did I mention it's fun to use? No other lens can match the fun factor of a fisheye lens!


Hope this inspires more of you to go pick up one of these great lenses. :) And if you like my work, please do follow me, resteem and/or upvote my post! Thanks for dropping by!


Here's another post by me for your reading pleasure: My Fujifilm X-T2 Review


Sort:  

Great examples! I had no idea you could "defish" the fish eye lens. Looking forward to more.

Yes indeed we can @ksteem! :)

Superb visual explanations, thank you! Yes, I'm one of those old-fashioned camera operators who avoided the fisheye lens except for those "fun" occasions. But you've changed my mind entirely. In fact, I can think of a few photo/film shoots I've captured that would've been dramatically improved with a fisheye lens.

Hey @cabelindsay so glad my article helped you see the bigger picture (see what I did there? ;) )! Do remember to get a Samyang (or Rokinon or Bower in some countries. They are all rebadge of Samyang) fisheyes as only they provide stereographical projections and provide the most natural look. And thank you very much for the upvote and curating my article. I’m still new here and it really encourages me to write more. I have plenty of things I would love to share with the community. Oh yes do remember to share your fisheye photos once you get yours (and tag me) and perhaps resteem this article too. Cheers!

Cool, thanks for recommending a specific brand too–yes, I'm most interested in the natural look. I really appreciate your tips, and your compliments, and your way of making Steemit great! Thank you.

A wonderful explanation of fish eye lenses. :) I think you samyang lens performs better than my sigma. I get way more fish eye distortion on mine than you seem to get on yours!
You are right though, the fish eye lens is an overlooked and under appreciated lens!

Thanks for dropping by and checking out my article @fiftysixnorth! Hope you get to use your fisheye more now!

Thanks @joshuakhoo :) I will certainly take it with me in the camera bag more often now!

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86