My Fujifilm X-T2 Review - 16 Months Later

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

How It Started

Time flies! In December 2016 I sold my Fujifilm X-T1 for an X-T2 as I wanted to shoot my sister-in-law's wedding video in glorious 4k. To be frank, I seldom shoot video but she already had a photographer but seeing she didn't have a videographer, I took up the challenge to create a video for her. Here's the resulting video:

Guess what, after 16 months with the camera, that's still the only video I've ever edited and compiled. Yes, it looks like I'd better stick to my photography after all and hence this review would from now focus on the photography features.

Why Fujifilm

I wrote an article earlier on why I really love using this brand. Check it out HERE

Here are two main reasons:

  1. Constant firmware upgrades to improve the camera functionality. At the moment of writing, there is a version 4 upgrade coming up for my X-T2, which would ultimately make it a much better camera than when I bought it 16 months ago. That never happens with other camera brands which would rather make new cameras to make you buy to upgrade. For Fuji (especially their flagship lines) they continually upgrade the cameras for FREE even at the expense of cannibalizing sale of their newer cameras and increasing the used market value.
  2. The design. I simply love the look of my camera. It just beckons me to carry it and take beautiful photos from it. It oozes with personality and doesn't look like a tool.

Quality So Far

After 16 months of usage, the camera still looks as good as new. Unlike it's predecessor the X-T1, there is no issue of peeling of the leatherette or bloating door. It just look as solid as I first bought it. I've not had a single issue with it even after bringing it to various countries and shooting thousands of photos. The only thing if I am to complain, is that I lost the original flash sync cable cap. I've since replaced it with one I got from Aliexpress for USD1 for 5 pieces. If you need a replacement, check it out here.

X-T2 vs X-Pro2

As an event photographer, I always carry two camera bodies. I had my trusty old X-M1 as my second body initially but it was very limited since it is technically a beginner's body. I then found a used X-Pro2 and thought it would be the perfect companion for my X-T2 since they both use the same 24MP sensor.

The X-Pro2 is a gorgeous machine indeed. The optical viewfinder technology is state-of-the art, and the ISO dial so retro. However in practice, I found using the X-Pro2 very difficult for my event photography pace. The ISO dial looks good but it's extremely difficult to use when you want to change in a hurry. It is compounded by the fact that when I put an external flash on the hotshoe, the shutter and ISO dial gets partially blocked. Another thing is I found myself just using the electronic viewfinder instead of the optical viewfinder all the time. I couldn't justify keeping the X-Pro2, so I sold it and got used X-E2 for 3x cheaper. 

The X-T2 however is perfect for event photography. I've done many corporate events with it and it has never failed me. Compared to the X-Pro2, the X-T2 shines in:

  1. Having a dedicated ISO dial
  2. Larger and better electronic viewfinder
  3. Having a tilt screen!

X-T2 vs Sony A7II

Recently I was given the opportunity to shoot with the Sony A7II with a 50mm f1.8 lens. While I know it's hard to give the Sony a proper review since I've only used it for an hour, I have to say that personally the controls on my Fujifilm X-T2 is just so much better. I also found using the little joystick on my X-T2 useful for adjusting focus point and I couldn't figure it out on the Sony! Yes, the Sony is a full frame camera but there wasn't much benefit of using a full frame Sony when my Fujifilm 35mm f1.4 provides better image quality compared to the Sony 50mm f1.8.

Lens and Flashes

Lenses support make or breaks a camera brand. A brand that makes superb cameras but have not enough lenses to support them would ultimately fail (ahem. Pentax.). Fujifilm from the beginning made lenses that stood out in terms of image quality. Every lens they made are sharp, of good contrast and colour rendition. Even their beginner "kit-lens" are much better than the competitors. When they started, Fuji only had 3 lenses. Now they cover almost all ranges. One thing lacking is third-party autofocus lenses like Sigma and Tamron, but there is plenty of good manual focus lenses available (e.g. Samyang and Laowa).

One initial complain about Fujifilm was the lack of good flash support. All that is now history, thanks to good and affordable Godox flashes.

Here's a list of my personal lenses. I'll write another article on my lens setup for weekend, travel and event setup to give you some idea of why I chose these lenses.

  • Samyang 8mm f2.8 Fisheye 
  • Laowa 9mm f2.8 (coming soon!) - follow me for a first hand review when I get it in a week or two
  • Fujifilm 16mm f1.4
  • Fujifilm 18mm f2.0
  • Fujifilm 35mm f1.4
  • Fujifilm 56mm f1.2
  • Tamron Adaptall 90mm f2.8 macro 
  • Fujifilm 16-55mm f2.8
  • Fujifilm 50-140mm f.2.8

These are just my existing lenses. I've bought and sold a many others in the past too.

I've a lot more to share about my experience with Fuji and other photography tips I've learnt along the way. Do follow me to get more updates! Thanks for reading my post! :)


Check out my other posts here:

My intro post - Hello Steemit!

Why I'm a Proud Fujifilm Photographer

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

I gave you an up-vote. It would be great if you could return a favor. Please follow me if you like and we can share posts and up-votes and help build our profiles.
Thank you!!!

Thank you! Followed and upvoted your post on the yummy Nepali food! ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63149.00
ETH 3156.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85