A Branch Illumined. A moment savored [photography and a few thoughts]

in #photography8 years ago

Every so often a view becomes a world of its own. 

When I shot this photograph I was in a different world. I stepped out of the neighborhood I was in and into the Chinese ink painting I saw unfolding against a fading sunset. It was a beautiful moment and I was enthralled as I watched the scene unfold and did my very best to capture it. At one point I just stopped shooting and stood in awe, savoring the light and drinking it in. It is not so much branches and light that enthralls me, it is a more subtle essence that I feel behind it all. 

It was a miracle to be the witness to the moment.

Albert Einstein said, “There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.” I spent a large portion of my life in a cynical, nothing is miracle and nothing is special sort of existence. Taking up photography on a whim was an incredible gift because I was forced to stop and consider this beautiful, breathtaking world. So I admonish you, stop and ponder the miracles that unfold seamlessly around you. 

 

“To a dull mind all of nature is leaden. To the illumined mind the whole world burns and sparkles with light.”

― Ralph Waldo Emerson


 

I have more of my work on Steem:

https://steemit.com/photography/@jmt/a-walk-in-the-wetland-nature-photography-nikon-d3100

https://steemit.com/photography/@jmt/the-mountain-at-dawn

https://steemit.com/photography/@jmt/sunset-over-the-spokane-river

Thank you for taking the time to view my work! All the best!! 

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63813.24
ETH 2654.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76