5 photography tips from an amateur // Not a post story

in #photography6 years ago

5 Photography tips TO take it up a level.jpg

Disclaimer:
I'm not anywhere near pro, there are way better photographers on Steemit. And I’m not sure I’m the right person to deliver any photography tips, but there's a couple I try to keep in mind as I shoot.

Since there’s many other photographers who are giving technical tips – I thought I’d give a few practical ones.

// Just go shoot & practice

 

 

Someone mentioned in the comments of one of my last posts about "practice". I absolutely agree, photography is practice,practice and lots of practice.

I’ve spent hundreds of hours failing, and even after that I’m still an amateur. I spend a lot of time out in the mountains, so most of the time - “you get what you get and can’t get upset.” But I’m used to having my camera on me and clicking away. Many of my photos don’t turn out, some do, but most don't. Don't get discouraged, just keep at it. In fact I have thousands of photos I wouldn’t show anyone. But there’s usually one that’s workable (at least I hope.)

Tip 1: I’ve learned not to try to take the perfect shot, but to take many of the same shot over and over in slightly different ways, and different compositions. Move to the left, to the right, shoot it in portrait, in landscape. You get the idea.

// Find new inspiration

 
362D62C5-3CBC-4B1E-9891-90B59B9B0831.jpg

Personally I give myself tasks, like only shoot up or only shoot from the chest, shoot only in one city block. Or crouch down – I can’t count number of times people have looked at me funny for lying on my belly on the pavement (standing up with gum stuck to my shirt.) Sit on a bench, and just shoot what passes by.

Tip 2: Set a task – give yourself a job and stick to it. I guarantee it’ll give you more to shoot.

// Have patience

 

 

A photographer friend of mine used to tell me. "When in doubt, wait longer." It's good advice. Too often I see people, walk up, snap a couple of quick shots and then leave. Waiting a couple extras seconds could mean that something is perfectly centered or a sunset looks a little different. Waiting a couple extra minutes means a lake is like glass, rather than full of waves. A couple of extra hours could mean that animals show up.

Tip 3. Just wait. Time rewards photographers (except maybe sports photogs).

// Ask

 

2122433560_b78b711106_o.jpg

This is something I'm terrible at, and I have to force myself to do. Most great portraits come from just asking someone if you can take a picture. It's scary walking up to someone you don't know and asking if you can take a picture of them. But some of my favorite portraits have come from just taking the time to ask.

Tip 4. Talk to people.

// Genius steals

 

IMG_3258.jpg

If you see a style you like, try to emulate it. Get the same lines, try for the same composition. And then give it your own twist. All artists are inspired by others, the great ones find their own versions of what has come before. I'm not saying copy things directly - but it's ok to be inspired.

Tip 5. Be inspired by others.

One last technical tip, I learned waaaaaay too late:

If you don't already. Shoot RAW if you can. Editing is a photographers friend, and without access to all the data you're working at 1/4 power.


Anyhow - I hope you find something in here useful, or at a minimum makes you get out and shoot something soon. Oh, and a big thanks to @jrswab for pushing me to write something a little longer.


All photos are taken by me. If you like the photo or/and story drop me an updoot or a comment!
If you want to see more make sure you follow @jfolkmann
Thanks!

Sort:  

Just what I needed to hear today. I'm in a flux and a bit frustrated wanting to get better. You offered some patience and tips. Thank you.

Btw...what is an updoot?

If you like the photo or/and story drop me an updoot or a comment!

PS - I love the photo of the woman - she has intensely wise eyes.

It's an upvote - updoot is gentler, and an upboop is cuter. :)

Actually that woman was blind as a bat. Cataracts I think. But she was very friendly and had no problem with the photo.

She's still wise. And content. And blind. :) And like her face and the photo. You are a good photographer in case you weren't too sure .... just sayin' I learn from you too.

lol....upboop....yes..I will use that.

i see you have a good beginners camera. maybe you should by a 50mm 1.8. it is a great lens for the price (just look not sure is ti G or D for your camera, nikon has 2 types). one thing that prime lens does is you have to zoom with your feet and by moving you can find a better angle. and the 1.8 is a nice bonus :)
first thing for me is to challenge myself, photograph something that is new to you, and in not so good conditions. and be ready to never be satisfied with what you get :D

Thank you so much @bil.prag. I appreciate your input.

I just purchased the 50mm 1.8 lens last week or so. And I am learning to use it in aperture mode. It's a learning curve for sure. I was used to using my telephoto lens so yes, I have to move with my feet like you said.

I like that you stopped by my comment to give me some help. Thank you so much.

Great advice

be ready to never be satisfied with what you get :D

to know Im not the only one. I am never satisfied with my photos.

Love your Post

Simple tips, yet very true. I can relate to most of them, thanks !

Sometimes simple is the best. Other times not so much. I have no idea which time this is. ;)

Haha, I like simple

From the times you have asked someone to take a photo of them, what sort of responses do you get? Are most people willing? A lot of people hate having their photo taken. I have never asked a stranger to take their photo and if I have wanted to for what ever reason I have always done it on the sly trying not to be so obvious. : )

You'd be surprised. I get more yes than no. But you'll never know unless you ask.

That is so true... I can understand your struggle with approaching people, I would feel the same way!

1 and 3 is a wining combination :) it rarely happens you get the best shoot in a first try. and never delete your photos in the camera, sometimes you can be surprised when you see them on your computer.

Totally agree with that. I don't delete anything....until much later. Just buy more TB

Agree, agree, agree!!

Simple but productive tips. I've found also that sometimes coming back to the photo some time after you find something you didn't the first time. So don't erase them. And the whole "try shooting in different angles" is the best. Practice, practice practice. And my favorite.... get out of your confort zone once in a while. Photography is not only portrait and Landscape. There is soooo much more into it. It's a way of expression, it's art. You can talk your heart through a photo, this I have recently discovered and I've enjoyed it a lot more.

getting out of your comfort zone is important. I agree about showing your heart in your photo...

Nice post and great tips !

Thanks for your practical tips @jfolkmann! I'm now practicing the tip 5 - being inspired by you. =) And I'm also terrible at asking someone for a portrait, should try that more! I also like how you made the head image for this post.

Great tips. Really great.

It's so easy today. Shoot Raw, copy to and lean into an editor. When I was learning I shot tens of thousands of frames of film. You got what you got.

Now I can shoot 10 frames expecting to edit to one. At least a 10x better rate than film :)

Thanks for these. I'll use some soonest.

I shot so much film. And now pretty much useless sitting in a box somewhere.

Nice post, great tips and good shot ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64156.67
ETH 3169.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53