How I got into photography

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I decided to participate in the contest organized by @ashwinrajt. He has a very good idea to help Steemit users with great content but not much success yet. I don't consider my content great, neither my photography or my writing. But I would like to share my personal reason why I started with photography.

My story is a bit different from those beautiful stories where your grandpa or your father was a photographer, or a famous photographer sparkled the light for your passion in photography.

I started simply to release my emotional pain, which prevents me from living fully up until now. I wanted to express my overwhelming emotions and couldn't find a better media for that, but photography. Of course, any creative process could help, but I'm not good at many things, and on the other hand, I think I have an eye to capture the so-called life because most of the time I am living more as an observer, than as an active participant in this game called life.

I also have hard times to express myself through words, more often than not it's a mess in my mind. I'm living under constant emotional stress and I feel maze by all these thoughts whirling through my mind. Since I was a kid, I have difficulties to express myself verbally or in writing. Speaking or writing in another language, like English for instance, makes things even more complicated. Sometimes, though, when my mind is calm and I feel my thoughts in order, I can write and speak in a very beautiful manner.

So, besides the fact that I love art in any form, I found photography to be the perfect media to express myself and my emotions. In the moments, when it's a mess in my mind, I cannot communicate normally and I close myself off, then I manage to take the most beautiful pictures without any effort, without previous skills or intentions, the photographs are simply brought to life from the emotions I feel and this is my therapy.

That's why I think the most valued art, regardless a photograph, a painting, a song or anything else, is created by very emotional people, experiencing intense feelings, that are hardly to cope with.

But that's only my observation. Feel free to share your opinion as well.

I'm sharing with you part of my photographs, most of them I took long ago. They are not technically neat and their purpose is to express and evoke emotions.

Enjoy my world of emotions!

DSCF0059-01.jpeg

_MG_4936.JPG

DSCF0067-01.jpeg

16252347_10210180843692073_2926497468343371346_o.jpg

904117_10201282815166921_55864520_o.jpg

IMG_4659.JPG

DSCF0365.JPG

IMG_7186-01.jpeg

IMG_7854.JPG

IMG_20170130_225302_638.jpg

IMG_20171005_195231-02 (1).jpeg

IMG_6583.JPG

IMG_20170925_140417-01.jpeg

IMG_5393.JPG

IMG_8631.JPG

Thank you for stopping by. Your feedback is highly appreciated!

Yours,
Isabel

Sort:  

I agree about emotional people being more creative. My interests mostly lie in writing, fiction and poetry, but the moment I try to 'think' of what and how I want to write, it dies.

If I let my fingers type while my mind twists and turns and reacts with emotions to what I am writing, then I am a bit more successful.

I love some of your photographs and I lookf orward to seeing more - and some of your creative writing.

Thank you for your comment, @arthur.grafo. When I'm in my most emotional state, I'm most creative. Thoughts and ideas just flow out of my mind. On the other hand, I think that creativity can be incited and the more you practice, the more creative and proficient you become.

Your photos are really nice, love them! :) I totally agree, photography is like a therapy

Thank you very much, @denisa! I followed your interesting blog!

thank u! following you as well :)

Beautiful pictures, I think I understand how you feel, at least in part. I see a lot of loneliness and it's sad...
At the same time, I think you've found a very good way to work with the tension that is born inside. Tell me what other means of expression have you tried?

Any way of expression would help, dancing, writing, drawing, communication with people ( my weak spot), yoga.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 17:13:57
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 130.83/200.00
Total Photos: 13
Total comments: 12
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.96 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congrats! Check out here caus you are one of the winners: https://steemit.com/winners/@river-island/winners-get-an-upvote-from-jerry-banfield-s-voting-bot-upvote-from-me-resteem

Already resteemd and upvoted your post. An uvpote from Jerry Banfield voting bot is also on the way.

Thank you very much, @riverisland. Highly appreciated!

Congratulations @isabellemonisse! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75