God, Me and Samsung

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Looking at my bestfriend meticulously cleaning the lens of her Nikon years ago, I knew I wouldn't have the same patience as she have. I almost felt relieved that I didn't pursue photography at the same time as her then. For the reason that it is an  expensive hobby. Feeling shocked that she wanted another camera that time I went to the US, and it wasn't that long ago that she have bought her present camera and a new lens for the course that she was taking at that time.

There's no way I could afford all that. 

Her new Nikon was almost a thousand $$$. She matter of factly told me that the specifications of the new camera was what she needed, she apparently graduated from the old camera's specifications. Hence a new one. 

Well, ok. Duh.

A recent Samsung S7 shot, taken in Northern Philippines.

Then came Samsung

In the earlier years of android phones in UK, consumers basically upgraded phones every year, for free. Depending on what phone one wants to have in a contract. This went on till yearly phone contracts changed from every 12 months to every 18-24 months. Still "FREE". If anyone believe that!

I got my first Samsung, an S6.

After my candy bar phones, I had an iPhone once, then Samsung took over. I was sold-off I think for its' camera features. Coupled that with my penchant for travelling, it became my bestfriend. Becoming interested again with photography. With less bulk, compared to a normal camera. 

And then came Steemit

I realised early on that I can blog my travels together with my photo shoots. Wonderful, it's a good combination. So far, that's what I have been blogging, travel and photography. 

At Monet's rose garden.


Taken in Victoria Park, London.

Once in a while, there's this photo challenges that came along. And nothing was more interesting than the recent @kus-knee's challenges. His mundane art series. How mundane is mundane when appreciated as an Art? The entries are amazing! Professionals, amateurs, wanna-bes are all there. There's that thrill each time when I post my entry, this alone is enough fulfilment in joining. First entry, second entry...for them to be selected from all other entries were awesome! And then I thought, "there's hope for you yet!

Then my 3rd entry lost. A photographerrr NOPE! More effort it seems! 

Looking at the other entries made me chose my favourites of course, then I get disappointed when they were not selected. That's the fun part though but what to do is to join the next one!

Awaiting for the result on this one.

4th entry: "Sand Patterns" in Cabugao, Northern Philippines

https://steemit.com/mundaneart/@immarojas/mundaneart-the-mundane-as-art-round-eight-sand-patterns


It's never about the gears. What matters most are the eyes behind the lens. @legendarryll

There are a lot of Steemians now who i followed for their works, not just photography. @meanmommy33 and @osm0sis were friends I personally met in Steemfest2 before seeing their works. Thank God for that, otherwise my jaw would be on the floor when meeting them! With exaggerations of course lmao!

Now @legendarryll, a new Steemian, he calls himself "a visual storyteller". Very captivating. Have anyone seen his works? Please check him out and be amazed. I am.

This was his first post that I saw before. https://steemit.com/travel/@legendarryll/sulfur-miners-of-kawah-ijen-indonesia



All images are mine, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7. Edits from PicsArt.

1st entry: https://steemit.com/mundaneart/@kus-knee/the-old-dog-presents-the-mundane-as-art-tree-bark-virtual-gallery-and-winners-announced

2nd entry: https://steemit.com/mundaneart/@kus-knee/the-old-dog-presents-the-mundane-as-art-stones-virtual-gallery-and-winners-announced


Sort:  

What a lovely article and experience and thanks for mentioning the @mundaneart challenge!

Your photos are always fab!

Old Dog thanks for stopping by, coming from you is awesome win or lose! Hope i get to join each time. Thank you for your series by the way ;)

Congrats @immarojas......4th time was a charm!

Oh wow thank you! Lemme go and have a look😗😗

I love your photos Imma. Like you, my Samsung has never failed me (well... apart from that strange sudden death it had a few years back). I often find myself taking way more photos with my phone camera than my Canon DSLR. In fact, it has become so heavy and bulky to me that I rarely find the courage to bring it with me when I step out anymore... if a tiny phone does the trick, then I choose comfort and practicality over quality.

I've heard some of the new mirrorless cameras are much lighter and take gorgeous photos. They do come with a price though... hhhmmmm, future steemit present?

Love the atmosphere in your last photo. I hope you win.
Thanks for the mention my dear 😍

Future steemit present of course! Where are you?
Proper cameras are bulky and heavy, although they do produce great ones. Comfort is definitely over quality ahahaha!
Winning is good..but not the end point. xoxo

WE LOVE IMMAAAAAAAAA !!!!!!!! And Nikon - always Nikon. Oh, and get an iPhone at some point :P Thanks for mentioning us lovely lady ;))) <3 Hugsss :*

je t'aime Loopy et merçi..very nice. xoxo

i like samsung but they need add manual control and raw file format for camera like oppo and iphone

Wouldn't have a clue on what they are lolsss
I've heard of Oppo..cheaper ones too.

yup collers and controls are awesome in oppo plus it also support raw format like dslr and iphone

User friendly?? Which one one is a great Oppo?

yes oppo is much more userfriendly its on coloros is very userfriendly it offers many features to manage daily operations

Interesting!! Gonna check that out next time i need a new phone..thanks!

Great composition. I love the drama in every photos. I am also on my way learning photography using my Huawei Mate 10. I find it more convinient using my phone in taking pictures rather than using bulky cameras. :) And hey, phone cameras now a days is already at par with DSLR cams. Looking forward to more of your photos. Cheers.

Thank you so much! I love my friends' DSLRs..but the weight and hassle of carrying one isn't one i fancy very well.
Android phones are so handy☺

Exactly my point! 😉 But if your really in to it, you can try mirrorless camera. Same power as dslr but not as hefty.

ive heard of that..so i will check in the future. i guess my phone so far is still ok.is that what u have? mirrorless?

Don't have yet but thinking to. Have a sony alpha 200 DSLR but it's been resting inside the cabinet for roughly a year now. All thanks to my mobile phones.☺️ Been using Huawei P9 before I upgraded to Mate 10 last December. The leica lenses on those phones are simply amazing. So I guess I'll not be having those mirrorless cameras anytime soon. 😁

Well if you're happy and it's doing what you want it to..enjoy it. Cheers!

;) You know my s8+ is stolen and how disapointed I was .
But I have great news, I got for present Samsung note 8, I will write about it in my next post:)

Oh wow, i heard that's a better one than S8. Which one's better?

Note is better, has a bigger screen and has better camera :)
That is most important to me:)
You will see in my post some shots.
I am very happy with them.

shoot! let me see!

Here is one from yesterday, I took photo for my wife @rita0404 post
20180114_201520.jpg
And this is one captured early in the morning on fogy day.
20180108_083632.jpg

Oh wow..love that foggy pic! thank you.

This kind of post helps me gear toward point and shoot phones. I think samsung is a good choice. You are right @immarojas, with dlsr photography really is expensive. Good thing we have phones now with awesome cameras. Is s7 a good choice? Since i want to be active in Steemit, im planning on buying one.

Am happy with this S7..as it replaced my S6. The S8 apparently is better, then the Note 8 I was told is better than S8.
I wouldn't know either as am still on S7.

because of the fast pacing technology, we can now do photographies as beautiful as your shots even without the use of high end DSLRs. amazing! ❤

DSLR's are great, but comfort and being handy are compromises am willing to take lolsss

True. It's really not about the gears. :) I also love taking photos using my samsung note 4. I do want to own a DSLR camera too in the future maybe when i earn enough money. But for the meantime, i am still happy with the shots of my smartphone. Good thing about it is that it can be on your pocket from time to time. Anywhere, when you need it most to capture beuatiful moments. :)

Comfort and accessibility🙂

Amazing photos! I have an IPhone, but I prefer to take photos with my old Nikon D60 camera, but I can't afford a new one. I think the smart phones takes great photos, but I'm sort of very attached to my camera.

I think the hard core ones will always go for DSLRs for their specifications. Very fuzzy.

Marvelous pics!!!!

I agree thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45