Caribbean Spicy Sweet Potato Falafel Pitas - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography5 years ago

Caribbean Jerk Spiced Sweet Potato Falafel Gyros (Vegan+GF)-0878.jpg

You know, I’ve only ever made falafel a few times before. I know, isn’t that dumb? I’ve tried veggie burgers and similar things, yes, but not a lot of falafel. To be honest, I didn’t even know exactly what it was even made with until I started trying different things and cooking all the time.

Also, for a while I kind of just mentally categorized it next to meatloaf and Jell-O salad on the just-say-no shelf because it gets such a bad rep from certain crowds. Guess what though, my takeaway after test #1 is YES, please! Basically they’re like fried hummus fritters, what’s not to love about that? Then these specific falafels, I made them with sweet potato because I’m gearing towards all the yummy autumn inspired foods that go with this time of year. (almost;) )

Caribbean Jerk Spiced Sweet Potato Falafel Gyros (Vegan+GF)-2.jpg

The flavors going on here were a total spur of the moment decision for me because I had actually been planning to make a more traditional Greek gyro recipe with tzatziki but somehow or other I got inspired by these very different flavors of Caribbean jerk spice and just went for it. I’m so happy I did too, because now I wouldn’t change a thing (okay, maybe a few tiny little things if I think about it too long because I’m a stubborn perfectionist, but nothing major since they were great as is).

I love Jerk spices with pretty much anything, but in these falafels especially, they were delish. And obviously the pitas are always a going to be a hit no matter what. I couldn’t even make them fast enough to keep up with demand around here if I wanted to, but when I do get in the mood to crank some out they are well appreciated .

Caribbean Jerk Spiced Sweet Potato Falafel Gyros (Vegan+GF)-0755.jpg

--Caribbean Spicy Sweet Potato Falafel Pitas--
Get adventurous with you taste palate and try these homemade gyros that are anything but traditional!

Prep Time 25 minutes
Cook Time 20 minutes
Total Time 45 minutes
Servings 4 - 5 servings

--Ingredients--
--Falafels:--
1 1/2 cups peeled cooked sweet potato
1 2/3 cup cooked garbanzo beans
--Caribbean Jerk Spices:--
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon each of:
chili powder
paprika
curry
ginger
cinnamon
cloves
allspice
oregano
black pepper
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
oil for frying
--Toppings:--
Your favorite bbq sauce optional
1 red bell pepper seeded and thinly sliced
1 medium tomato diced
1 cup washed iceberg lettuce or napa cabbage I like the crunch from the cabbage
1 large carrot grated
1 medium onion thinly sliced
1/2 cup pineapple diced
4 - 6 large pitas gluten free or vegan if needed (for homemade pitas you can use the ones from THIS RECIPE)

--Instructions--
--Falafels:--
Combine all of the ingredients for the falafel, except the frying oil, in a food processor (a blender will work also if that's all you have) and pulse until combined into a nearly smooth mixture. It should be a thick dough.
In a large skillet, heat about 1 inch of oil over medium low heat (You can use a deep-fryer for cooking them instead if you have one.) Using a large scoop, form balls and drop them carefully into the pan. Flatten them slightly with a spatula and cook them on each side for about 3 minutes until crispy.*
--Gyros:--
If desired, warm the pitas in a foil-packet in the oven or one by one on a lightly greased skillet. Fill each pita with the falafels, your desired veggies, and your favorite bbq sauce if desired. Enjoy!
--Recipe Notes--
*Alternatively, the falafel can be baked on a greased baking pan for about 20 minutes at 350 degrees F (180 C) until browned. Also, if they seem a bit too soft after frying, baking them for about 10 minutes after they're fried should be enough to help make them more solid.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast.jpg

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Fruity Summer Splash Smoothie
  2. Sprinkled White & Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies
  3. Crunchy Sweet Crumble Muffins
  4. Colorful Veggie & Hummus Appetizer Board
  5. Grill Time! Sweet Spicy Tofu Skewers

Caribbean Jerk Spiced Sweet Potato Falafel Gyros (Vegan+GF)-0767.jpg

Banner 2019=framed7.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Mouth wont stop watering

Lol, I'm so glad you liked it.

Thanks for the good recipes, they're really great. :)

that looks so good I know exactly what I will be spoiling my wife with this weekend thank you for the recipe

I hope you enjoy it!

Thanks for the delicious recipe, gringalicious :)

It's my pleasure!

it looks really delicious and sounds like it is, i´m gonna try and then i´ll tell you
thanks for the post

I can't wait to hear!

I can eat a container of that. Looks delicious.

I'm so glad you liked it!

incredibly beautiful, especially because im waiting for lunch :O

I know the feeling. Haha, thanks!

Your food decoration makes the food more testy. Awesome post.

I really appreciate it, thanks!

This should be my next meal

I totally agree, :)

That's really looking finger licking good :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73