Up The Bojafjall Mountain Part 2 / Epic Views

in #photography6 years ago

If you already didn't then check out the first part where I had a horrific drive up the Bojafjall mountain( Westfjords, Iceland ) the night before here. I told in the last part that I went up there the next day, this is the day. When we woke up in the morning we saw that sun was shining and top of the mountain was actually clear on one side but there were some clouds rolling in on the other side. After we went swimming in the nearby small waterpark we took a drive up to the Bojafjall mountain once again.
This time I wasn't very scared to drive up because the weather was clear and I already did it once, so I verified my car has enough power to pull itself up. We still had to drive through a small patch of cloud layer but that was okay.

When we finally got up there, we instantly saw what we didn't last night. Views were jaw-dropping and pure stunningness.

Cloud rolling itself around the mountain.
DSC_0198.jpg

Yesterday I also mentioned the radar station that was up on the mountain. We were not able to see this last night because we only saw a couple of meters in front of us due to the thick cloud layer we were in.

DSC_0189.jpg

Although this mountain is only 638 meters high you can experience this height in all its glory because the mountain goes up steeply and rises from the sea level. Westfjords, including this place, is one of the oldest parts of present Iceland. Lowest lava layers of this mountain formed about 16 million years ago. There used to be glaciers at this place that are now melted. All the fjords and smooth mountainsides are carved by glaciers over the last 3 million years.

DSC_0200.jpg

There were clouds on the sea that were lower and we were above these but there was also clouds that were on the other side of the mountain. Basically, we could walk and touch the skies. Walk into it and come back to the clear again.
These photos describe everything.

DSC_0181.jpg


DSC_0185.jpg

The other side

If you were to fall down you would fall straight 630 meters down to the beach, this is not advisable, might be lethal. Of course, I don't take risks seriously and go on the edge to get some awesome shots.

DSC_0207.jpg


DSC_0183.jpg

On the other side, the area you can see is totally uninhabited. The last persons living there moved away in 1952. The hornstrandir nature reserve was founded in 1975. It covers all of the north parts of Westfjords. There are no roads except the one going to an army base. This is totally a wild place and popular in true nature lovers. I would have wanted to go and hike there a couple of days but unfortunately, I didn't have time. Next time!

DSC_0188.jpg

Also, a photo was taken while driving up the mountain, through the cloud layer.

DSC_0178.jpg

I wish I had a timelapse I took on the way driving down the mountain. Unfortunately, I am unable to find this right now.

Tell me your thought of the location




Sort:  

Awesome landscapes. I like the 4th and 5th phitos when the clouds touch the top of the mountains!!!

Yes! I never hoped for cloud action like this, really happy to see this and take photos of.

I would definitely not go to the edge! :D The fall might not be lethal, it would be lethal :)

Beautiful photos as always. Especially the first one and those one with clouds next to the mountain.

The mountain might not be very high but as you said it rises straight from the sea and it gives you an impression that you're standing very high. I had this experience in Sardinia too. The mountains look huge but they're not. It's just how we perceive them because everything around us is at the sea level :)

Thank you for sharing! It looks like you had an amazing day!

Haha, I was being ironic with that lethal thing :D
And yes true words you say there!
The day was really awesome.

That is spectacular and a little bit scary! What a view! I don't envy you the drive though. It looks terrifying.

It was but it most certainly was a hell of an experience I needed as well!

My vet went to Iceland a couple of years ago and couldn't shut up about it. He actually bought and Icelandic horse when he got home! I've wanted to go ever since because he made it sound so amazing. I'm jealous of people who get to travel. I have dairy goats who have to be milked every day, so I don't get out much. I just get to enjoy other people's adventures vicariously. Thank you so much for sharing yours!

Your vet is right! I Iceland is a truly an amazing place and I felt really good while staying there. I would blah blah about this all day long. I'm a huge nature lover. Maybe someday you can give goat duty to someone other for a week and still go and travel a bit.

I would be nowhere near those steep drop offs. You are brave. The scenes are all beautiful though, and you surely have taken the trip of a lifetime. Iceland is on my list, but if I do not make it, I am so glad to see your posts.

I really hope you can make it! This place in increadible. I hope I can go back soon.

Me too, but I am so far away now though. Very close to the equator :)

Yup, a little far, might be a bit costly but definitely doable :D

iceland must be a great destiantion! lucky you, enjoy your time thanks for sharing

Yes, it definitely is.

I am a huge fan of Icelandic landscapes. Majestatic, raw, a bit lunar, a bit polar, bit scandinavian and very melacholic. true beauty captured by a professional !

Yes, me too. The beauty is stunning! There is no other place on Earth quite like Iceland.

and my upcoming destination point is obviously Iceland. I am heading there in next two weeks and I have high hopes to see aurora borealis

Yep, you have a real chance if the sky is clear. Right now the night and most of the day is dark.

a great adventure with great photographs, my favorite is the one with clouds in the mountains. thanks for sharing it

Thank you! Its my pleasure.

What an amazing place to be! I'd like to cycle up there just to enjoy the trip back down hahaha

If you have enough strenght to get up by bike, I say go for it :D. There are some steep turns on the road so gotta be careful when driving fast.

All we need is loads of gears hahahaha, but certainly falling off there would hurt a bit.

Really beautiful place. Magestic view. We know so little about iceland. How cold is it? Any warm time during the year?
I'm looking forward to more of your reports. Really interesting.

Yes, it's a stunning place! At the time up there was about +3C Celsius. Summer is usually the warmest, temperatures average out on 10C Celsius. Sometimes weather get as war mas +20 Celsius and this is a real heat for Icelanders :D

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @mrprofessor and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59634.64
ETH 2590.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47