Lake Thun - SwitzerlandsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Lake Thun, located at the heart of Switzerland in the region of the Swiss Alps is perhaps one of the most beautiful natural places to visit in the world. I had just completed a 100km cycle ride up and down Swiss mountains; my legs were burnt out, my clothes were wet from sweat and the dirt under my finger nails were a sight for sore eyes.

image2 (1).jpg

I was tired and desperately wanted to relax and set up my tent. After an hour of searching and time creeping slowly towards the evening I finally found somewhere on the lakes edge, hidden in some woodlands.

I sat down, took a big inhale and looked out at the view in front of me. It was unimaginably beautiful; the waters were a brilliant aqua, so clear you could see right to the bottom. Stunning mountains and an impressive church in the distance made a unique and wonderful Swiss setting. Still in my soaking wet clothes, I peered out to the lake, which seemed to be calling my name. The temperature had dropped significantly, despite it being almost 30 degrees this afternoon.

P1060894 (1).jpg

I looked around once more, it was so quiet and peaceful and I was far enough from the town to feel alone. I had no costume, but I couldn’t sleep without getting into the most incredible lake water I had ever seen.

Dumping my clothes on the forest floor, I made my way through the trees and dipped my feet in the waters edge… It was freezing. With one big leap, I plunged my whole body into the crystal clear waters. It took my breath away, but it felt amazing. The water was still and clean and enfolded my body.

P1070040 (1).jpg

I looked over to the small town in the distance; the sky had turned a dramatic orangey-pink, creating a slight glow on the surface of the water. I stared in awe, floating in the freezing waters and feeling my achy muscle thanking me for the moment of relaxation.

P1070083 (1).jpg

Gradually the bright orange sun began to set over the horizon and the lower it got, the brighter the sun became, making the waters surface shimmer brightly and the town become silhouetted.

image1.jpg

The last bit of light from the glowing sun finally vanished over the Swiss mountains. Twilight soon followed and the intense orange finally settled into a dark purple. I swam back to the waters edge, feeling completely at one with myself and with the scenery

This article was written by Nissy Adventure and the photographs are licensed from them. If you enjoyed this article from Global Adventures, please upvote, follow, and resteem! If you have feedback, or would like to see your story featured, please let us know in the comments! Thanks!

Sort:  

Wow, 100km cycle ride? Awesome i can't even do 10km lol... And nice picture by the way.. Keep steeming bro

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it! I'll try to keep them coming! ;)

Good pics..that's on bucket list to see for sure

Great! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @globaladventures to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60354.53
ETH 2608.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54