In the Heart of SpainsteemCreated with Sketch.

In the Heart of Spain

Just this summer, I finished a significant 5-month long stay in the beautiful capital of Spain-Madrid. It took me about a month to discover the joys of living in Madrid, since I moved there during the winter, when rain, fog, and dark clouds were a daily occurrence. But, in the end, I slowly starting to fall in love with Spain, by traveling around the country, and with an early arrival of spring in late February, when the terrazas started to serve the quintessential Sangria, or even better, a refreshing drink of the locals: Tinto de Verano (red wine for the summer!). And, of course, the sun finally decided to come out and prove me its existence!

image2.jpg

At Mercado de San Miguel, a famous indoor food market in Madrid, catered to all kinds of food connoisseurs.
It might not sound like a significant undertaking, but in order to experience true Spain, I had had to eat and drink like a local! I started with Tinto de Verano and worked my way up to Anis, a flavorful and delicious liquor from the region of Chinchon. When it comes to food, I had to make sure to have as much Jamon (ham) as I possibly could, since it was the best I’ve ever had! One of my all-time favorites was a typical Spanish dish called Huevos Rotos; a combination of french fries, ham and eggs (maybe this is what inspired Dr.Seuss!), and the tender meat of a Cochinillo dish. I also ate my way through an extensive array of tapas, and, with this in mind, I was off to a good start!

image3.jpg

An original kitchen apron; found in a shop in Toledo, Spain.
One of the first trips I undertook while in Spain was to the city of Toledo. From every angle I had people tell me that I HAVE TO GO TO TOLEDO! So eventually my curiosity took over and I boarded a 30-minute train from Madrid to Toledo. Toledo is an ancient city, previously ruled by the Arab world, which left its visible trademarks, but the thing it’s mostly known for is its harmonious co-habitation of Christians, Jews, and Muslims. Upon arrival, I started with a coffee break at Parador de Toledo, a hotel with a lovely outdoor café; overlooking the entire city. This was followed by a 3-course meal at Tobiko Restaurant, a highly renowned, culinary experience on the outskirts of Toledo. Thank God for the lovely Spanish cab driver with the ability to understand my gibberish Spanish!

image4.jpg

Welcome to Toledo! The building at the top is Alcazar of Toledo.
Then, after a more than satisfactory meal, what else was left for me to do? Of course I had to do what most people come to Toledo for: Go Zip-lining! It’s the longest urban zip-line in Europe and, even though it’s a short ride, it’s a tremendous amount of fun!

image1.jpg

After I received my much needed adrenalin rush (and made it to the other side alive), I walked back into town to shop, stroll through Toledo’s narrow streets, visit Toledo Cathedral, and the Alcazar of Toledo; an impressive military museum, which is housed in a magnificent palace building. Unfortunately I ran out of time, but there’s also the El Greco Museum, as well as the Monastery of San Juan de los Reyes, which I heard wonderful things about, and are on my list for next time! Yes readers, there will be a next time! The people urging me to go were right: Toledo is a charming and intriguing city with a very interesting history, and it offers a glimpse of what life several hundred years ago in Spain might have looked like. It’s enticing, beautiful, and simply worth a visit!

image5.jpg
View of Toledo and its interesting architecture

This article was written by Shirley Roberts and the photos are licensed from her. If you enjoyed this article and would like to see more from Global Adventures, please upvote, follow, and resteem! If you have any suggestions, please comment below! Thanks!

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @globaladventures to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Congratulations @globaladventures! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @globaladventures! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13