Steel wool, who would have thought.

in #photography8 years ago

I have been trying to get our photographer/cameraman from the steem saturday event in Johannesburg to join steemit for a couple of months now.

So here is my effort to demonstrate the capabilities of steemit directly to him with his own content.

When I copied the video footage across to my laptop from his memory cards I discovered some awesome photographs that were in the same folder I copied. Here is one.

When I inquired, I was informed that these were from his last photo shoot.

It features a guy swinging steel wool on a string with the steel wool set alight.

Quite awesome effect in my opinion.

Sort:  

Steel wool ignites rather easily and quickly. In fact, if you take a 9 volt battery and drag both the positive and negative connectors across steel wool it will spark...if you spread the steel wool out a bit and repeat, it should catch fire.

That method is also a survival technique...

I posted my video of firewire (a nickname for the steel wool pyro pictured) for anybody curious.

Upvoted & resteemed, was already following you.

good to see you around

I've taken video (or rather had video taken of me) doing the same thing with fine steel wool. It burns nice and even sending sparks all over.

I hope that this post does well and that your friend responds to the positive reaction by joining the site.
I have also been thinking about doing something similar for some of my friends that are artists - I'm glad to see that others have the same idea and that Steemit is receptive to the concept.

Hi @gavvet
You need to get your fried to explain to us the technicalities of taking this photo

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

thanks for sharing this is very cosmic

Very cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60944.89
ETH 2608.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67