Fire Wire | Steel Wool Home Made Pyrotechnics / FireworkssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Fine grit steel wool set alight

burns nice and slow allowing you to sling mostly harmless sparks all around.


User @gavvet made this photo post reminding me that I should post this video of mine.

I'm the crazy swinging the sparks around on this video. Yes, I hit my head with the burning steel wool like a dope. Part of the risk I suppose.


Again, it's just steel wool set on fire.

Simply take a fine grit steel wool pad, feather out the edges and loop it around the middle with some framing wire or bailing wire or any sort of braided cable which is flexible. Probably could use copper wiring but strip it of shielding.

Light an edge with a regular lighter and the fibers wil burn. Begin swinging and be careful not to hit yourself like I did.

The results look extremely cool and it's surprisingly pretty safe unless around flammables. Great opportunity for long exposure photos as well.


Don't try this at home. Really*.

Actually try it somewhere there's no chance of catching dry brush, leaves or anything else on fire. Create a wide area free from combustibles. The sparks can fly over 50 feet in any direction. Clear a very wide area.

Keep in mind you could wind up throwing the burning wool pad dozens of feet if it should work it's way loose. Bad news if it winds up on somebody's roof for example.

I forgot my eye protection on the first run in the video. Some fire safe goggles or specs of some kind highly recommended. Also avoid using any hair products which could catch flame.

*If what you call home fits the above safe criteria then who am I to tell you what to do?


Music is not my own.

Credit to David Crowder Band Sparks Fly
and Dream Theater This Dying Soul

Claiming fair use for the short-ish snippets. Buy the albums if you like what you hear please.


I have more fire wire video

which I haven't gotten around to editing. I very well could put that together and make an EGOS how-to video explaining how to perform this fun technique in detail. Let me know if you'd like to see that.

This is a simulated still of firewire from the video capture. The lines are dashed because of the video shutter.


I am,


The Everyday Geek on Steemit
EGOS.live

100% Steempower post

Sort:  

@dgiors I have started a fire after a down pouring rain, so I believe this to be HIGHLY FLAMMABLE just an FYI. and when the time is right, I will post that picture he on steemit. The picture actually made it to a LA Times Magazine or section but not in the original form, so it would be a first if I post it on steemit.
full $teem ahead!

I agree if large pieces of still burning wool shake loose it's a bad fire hazard. That's why I did that in a pretty large asphalted clearing. The small sparks themselves don't have a lot of heat energy. For example they can hit your skin and you don't feel it. They look frighteningly bright but they burn out quickly and don't have much time to transfer their energy.
Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 64750.39
ETH 3148.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58