Hummingbirds in flight, Orioles and a Wren (ecoTrain)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Finally I photographed a Hummingbird in flight. Which was not an easy feat. It's difficult to get them fully in focus, but here are the best.

2U0B0912_L.jpg

2U0B0896_L.jpg

2U0B0735_L.jpg

Notice that the bird learned that it can put his beak straight through the flower to get to the nectar. I found that very clever. If anyone knows what plant this is, please let me know.

2U0B0901_L.jpg

I don't know the name of this hummingbird. I could not find it on Google. Maybe somebody can help me?

2U0B0894_L.jpg

2U0B0895_L.jpg

This is a different type, I photographed yesterday.

2U0B0765_L.jpg

It's the same as this one I photographed a couple of weeks ago.

2U0B9930_L.jpg

@jerrybanfield liked an older post of mine about hummingbirds. Maybe you want to check it out. Thank you Jerry.

https://steemit.com/photography/@gardenbsquared/hummingbirds-a-big-thank-you

This is a short video about hummingbirds I posted earlier on steemit.

This morning there were also a pair of Orioles in the garden. It could be Icterus nigrogularis, but I'm not sure. They are nesting nearby, so maybe we will see some baby Orioles in the garden.

2U0B0883_L.jpg

2U0B0885_L.jpg

2U0B0886_L.jpg

Finally I want to share this little Wren sitting in a Moringa tree. It could be a House Wren; Troglodytus musculus. These birds have a lovely, bright and happy song. They are also brave, often coming into our house looking for bread crumbs on the kitchen floor.

2U0B0752_L.jpg

The Moringa tree is also known as the miracle tree. It contains more vitamin C than an orange and more potassium than a banana. If I remember correctly. Use it in a smoothy or dry the leaves and have yourself a cup of thee full of antioxidants.

And while your here check out this great content on the ecoTrain.

https://steemit.com/nature/@eco-alex/ecotrain-post-highlights-5th-july-12th-august-2017-more-amazing-content-every-week

Thank you and much love,

Gardenbsquared

Sort:  

beautiful

you received an up vote from danlupi with voting power of 4.76%

Wow so amazing I love your pictures
Where did you take this picture???
So beautiful @gardenbsquared
Like your post and up vote

Thanks. All pictures were taken in my garden. Thank you for the up vote.

😊you're welcome you deserve it
@gardenbsquared

The photos look so amazing. May I ask what camera did you use to take the shots? 📷

Thanks. I used the Canon 5D Mark III and the EF 70-200mm f/4.0 L IS USM.

Congratulations @gardenbsquared! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

wow beautiful shots!

You did an amazing job capturing a Hummingbird! They are so fast that I usually only see a blur or a quick glimpse. You really did great. The Wren and Oriole pictures were also nice to see in their natural environment. Thank-you for sharing. I hope you have a great weekend! :D

Thank you. I hope I can share better ones in the future. But they are fast indeed and usually shy. Have a great weekend. Thanks again.

Some wonderful photography skills you got there! Thanks for another tranquil post @Gardenbsquared.

Thank you. More tranquil posts coming up.

Wonderful pictures, you did really well to capture such beauty on a camera.
Thanks for sharing @gardenbsquared

I'm glad you enjoyed them. Thank you.

Beautiful, I believe that one humming bird is a type of broad billed hummingbird. Great job they are hard to catch. We were lucky to have rare albino humming bird show up two years in a row in Santa Cruz up at the university causing bird watchers to flock there.

Fantastic. Thank you. A broad billed hummingbird. I'm fairly new to hummingbirds. It's just over the last couple of months that they are frequently visiting our garden. I'm looking forward to your project.

me too!! Ill be gone for about... 4-5 days then I will be all over it.

Great, have a lovely holiday.

Stunning photography and my god humming birds are such amazing creatures , thanks for sharing :)

They are indeed. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33