Hummingbirds... a big thank you!

I'm new here on steemit, so I was very surprised to see that my post yesterday generated so much positive feedback.
Thanks everybody.
Later that day I spotted a baby hummingbird. It was not afraid of me and I could approach it almost as close as my camera lens would allow it. The little bird is very young, sitting well hidden in a big bush in my garden.

What an opportunity! Not believing my luck, steadily approaching I took over 50 photographs. Hoping, praying that it would not fly away. And it didn't. While I was completely focused, hardly breathing, red ants biting my bare feet, the birdy just sat there waiting for mommy or daddy. And I was able to take shot after shot. After 5 minutes when I really could not stand the ants anymore, I thanked the little hummingbird and went back in.

(200mm, f/4.0, 1/800, ISO 320, Canon 5D mark III, Canon 70-200mm f/4.0 L IS USM)

9_1.jpg

9_2.jpg

9_3.jpg

9_4.jpg

9_5.jpg

I hope you will enjoy these photographs.

Thank you and much love,

gbs

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @gardenbsquared! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Lovely photos thank you for sharing!

Thank you for watching them! That really makes my day. I hope more people will appreciate them for what they are. Thank you Jerry.

These photos are amazing! I'm originally from Jamaica and spent 16 days there from the end of June to July 8th and was in the rainforest with my family. Every morning at least one hummingbird works appear but I was never fast enough to catch turn on camera. These pics remind me of being there. Thanks for sharing!

You're welcome and thank you for your comment. It might be a long time before I'm able to catch them like that again.

They are the most amazing birds!

Here are some cool facts:

  • Hummingbirds are New World birds found only in the Americas, mainly South America.
  • There are more than 340 species of hummingbirds.
  • Hummingbirds are one of the smallest kinds of bird in the world.
  • They are called hummingbirds due to the sound created by their rapidly beating wings."

Congratulations @gardenbsquared! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

How beautiful!! I have tried for years now to get hummingbirds to stop by and visit my yard - Never happens :( Those are great pictures of what I can only hope will stop by and visit me one day :) Thanks for sharing these beautiful pictures..SUNSHINE247

Thank you. I'm glad that you enjoyed them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 63351.43
ETH 3495.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53