Valkoposkihanhia // Barnacle geese (Branta leucopsis)

in #photography7 years ago

On the day I shot the three Beetles, I also found some Barnacle geese having a rest and something to eat on their waypoint migrating south. Since at the time I only had my 50 mm Sigma with me I was kind of frustrated, because I should have brought the Canon EF 75-300 mm along, and I just knew I would have to crop these images in post.

Turned out I didn't need awful lot of cropping, but since I used a wide aperture, not many of the shots were publishable simply to the fact the focus was off on quite many of them. It isn't easy to focus on something that small (their heads) while they were moving, and I couldn't get any closer without startling them.

Anyways I didn't have to crop them all that much, and here are the resulting pictures:

Migrating Barnacle geese

Migrating Barnacle geese

Migrating Barnacle geese

Migrating Barnacle geese

All photos shot at the same settings:

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Sigma ART 50 mm ƒ/1.4
Aperture: ƒ/2.2
Exposure: 1/160 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200



I'll do an update with the promised edit to the previous post when I get back from work & fetching the kids from school. Interesting guesses you guys gave me though. Almost makes me feel the post might be a little bit underwhelming against the expectations. ;)

So, see you later guys!


[Previous post: One photo every day: At work, tying strings into ads. (66/365)]


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer

Sort:  

Pretty cool man!! Amazing how birds can fly half way across the world - every year!!

Haha, great captures! They looked like pigeons on the preview photo! :)I like the house in the background! Makes the whole photo look more like from a fairy tale! Have a nice weekend, Jaro!

Man, I just love these shots, really awesome :)

arent they agressive when you come close? nice shots!

Wonderful photographs, your Canon EOS 550D is awesome, i really appreciate your photography.

Excellent shots @gamer00, you managed to get close to them in tight and capture their friendly movement in the clearing, where they most likely came to eat :)

That's a nice pack of them ;)

amigo #resteemia at your service

'Barnacle geese' looks pretty cool with your impressive photography skills @gamer00

ReSteemia
'UpVote ReSteem Comment'

Great camera shooting. really photography and writing. thanks for your post.
100% like and resteem

@gamer00 - Oh what a tremendous photography Sire..!!! Yes.. you have cleverly, greatly, nicely done your work.No words to express much more about these pictures. Just wow..!!! Thanks for sharing such a fabulous effort with us. Therefore, I wish to ReSteem your post Sire.

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

@gamer00,
Wow great photo shot! You have captured a best moment at the best time! Timing, color balance. contrasts and brightens, yeah properly matched! Great work my dear friend! Thanks for sharing with us!

Cheers~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42