Country by Country 19: Cambodia

20150228_132418.jpg

This series will go country by country through my two-year trip. I plan on sharing some experiences, thoughts, and photos of each country that I visited.

Country by Country 19: Cambodia

baby flourish.png

The bus ride from Laos was long, but not too bad. I arrived in Siem Reap after sundown and didn't have a room booked. There were tuk-tuk drivers waiting for our bus and one guy offered to help me find a hotel if I agreed to have him take me to the Angkor temples for 3 days. We worked out a price for the tour and he took me to a hotel. The next day, my driver came and we went to the Angkor temples.

The temples of Angkor are probably the most impressive tourist attraction that I've ever seen. If you ever find yourself in South East Asia, you owe it to yourself to spend a few days in Siem Reap. Even though it's packed with tourists, it's worth the price of admission times 10. The only problem with going to the Angkor temples is that other attractions around the world will seem small and lackluster in comparison. I went all the way to Machu Picchu and it was kind of boring after seeing Angkor.

I had a 3-day pass for the Angkor temples. The first day was fine. On the second day, my driver started asking for more money, but he was trying to be sneaky about it. Since it wasn't what we had agreed to, we ended up parting ways. If he had simply said that day 1 costs x, and day 2 costs y, it would have been fine. Instead, he tried his tourist-hustle on me. On the third day, I had a different driver.

Everyone has seen a million photos of the temples at Angkor. I'm going to try and post some of my less traditional photos.

20150226_100659_HDR.jpg

Most of the handrails on these walkways are actually giant multi-headed snakes.

20150226_101348_HDR.jpg

These ladies are all over the place.

20150226_103207_HDR.jpg

A giant mural carving about war. It reminded me of Trajan Column in Rome.

20150226_123816_HDR.jpg

Trees have overrun some of the temples.

20150226_131514_HDR.jpg

This temple has faces on it.

20150227_102253_HDR.jpg

A ruin wall.

20150227_103534_HDR.jpg

It felt like I was in Tomb Raider.

20150227_103736_HDR.jpg

A cowboy at the temple.

20150227_110345_HDR.jpg

A temple wall.

20150227_111105_HDR.jpg

Another temple being eaten by a tree.

20150227_113737_HDR.jpg

A carving above an archway.

The temples were amazing and I could easily make 10 posts showing off how beautiful and mysterious the place is. The majority (maybe all) of the temples are Hindu. Hinduism was replaced by Buddism a few hundred years ago, but because Buddist temples are made from wood instead of stone, they don't exist anymore.

While I was in Siem Reap, I got a visa for Vietnam. The scooter riding in Laos convinced me that I wanted to do more riding, and Vietnam is one of the best places to do it. After I got my passport back (with a new visa), I left Siem Reap and took a bus to Battambang.

baby flourish.png

When my bus arrived in Battambang, what seemed like hundreds of tuk-tuk drivers crowded the bus and tried to get us to hire them. They really crowded the door and it was hard to get off the bus. I don't like pushy people like that, so I ignored most of them. One of the drivers seemed calm, quiet, and professional so I worked out a deal with him. He would take me to a hotel for free if I agreed to hire him for a tour or two. It sounded like a good deal to me.

He took me to a hotel and I dropped off my luggage. Then he took me around to some of the attractions. I did the bamboo railway thing, and it was kind of boring. We also went the Batcave and to a cave where thousands of people were executed by pushing them off a cliff.

20150304_164412_HDR.jpg

A temple monkey.

20150304_164627_HDR copy.jpg

A view from a temple.

20150304_164644_HDR.jpg

Cool decorations on a temple.

20150304_174928.jpg

Bats leaving their cave at sunset. It takes about an hour for all of the bats to leave the cave.

20150304_175938.jpg

A cloud of bats leaving their cave.

While we were at the Batcave, my driver John told me that his daughter was having a birthday party on the next day. He asked if I wanted to go. Normally, an 8-year-old girl's birthday party is the last place I'd want to be, but for the sake of adventure, I said yes. John dropped me off at my hotel and told me that his nephew would pick me up tomorrow.

At the hotel, I started doing some research into common scams in Cambodia. This is a good thing to do before visiting any country. I'd already read up on Cambodian scams, but maybe I'd missed the "birthday-party" scam. The only thing I could find is a scam where your new "friend" wants help cheating a neighbor at poker. You start playing, then suddenly realize that they've all been cheating you.

I was a little nervous about the birthday party and expected to be robbed or scammed. I left everything in my hotel room except $20 or $40. I even took the hotel keychain off my key because it had my room number on it.

The next day, I waited in the lobby for the nephew. The meeting time came and passed, and I was starting to feel relieved that it wasn't going to happen. As I was getting up to go back to my room, someone came in and introduced himself as John's nephew. There was no backing out now!

We had to make a few stops, but I didn't understand why we were stopping. It all seemed a little fishy to me. Then the nephew dropped the bomb. He said we needed to stop and pick up a friend. "Oh boy." I thought to myself, "I bet this friend is going to be really into poker and will want to cheat a neighbor".

We pulled up to the house and a Korean couple in the 50's came out and got into the tuk-tuk. The man was carrying a Bible. After that, my mind was at ease. The couple told me that they were Korean missionaries and that the man was the pastor of the church that John went to.

We got to John's house, and it was pretty much what you would expect an 8-year-old girl's birthday party to look like. Everyone at the house was super nice and warm. The Korean pastor gave a small sermon that had to be translated into Khmer. The kids had cake and food and it was all very nice and wholesome. After the pastor left, the beer came out and the men sat at a table in the front yard while the kids played inside. It turned out to be a fun experience.

20150305_172526.jpg

It's cake time!

20150305_172612.jpg

Confetti time!

20150305_181448.jpg

Dinner time in the frontyard.

20150305_185052.jpg

My obligitory "Cheers!" photo.

I had a blast at the birthday party. Seeing how people around to the world do similar tasks differently (like birthdays) is fascinating to me. John said it's not very common for little girls to get birthday parties, but because she's an only child, he wanted to do something special for her. I'm glad I said yes to John's invitation.

baby flourish.png

The next day, both John and I were a little hung over. He took me out to a few of the tourist attractions, but we ended the day early.

20150306_125201_HDR.jpg

These temples are so colorful and intricate.

20150306_125412_HDR copy.jpg

A giant Buddah and a lady who cleans up the temple.

20150306_150859.jpg

My guide, John.

20150306_171557.jpg

This is John's business card. If you find yourself in Battambang, I highly recommend John Norea. He's honest, kind and knowledgeable.

baby flourish.png

I left Battambang and took a bus to Phnom Penh. I didn't have a room booked and a tuk-tuk driver took me to a hotel. It was a pretty bad hotel and later I would discover that I was in a kind of redlight district. I didn't really do anything in PP, and I didn't like the city.

One morning at around 4:00 am, someone broke down the front door the hotel. Then they spent about 30 minutes beating someone with a metal pipe in front of my room. All I heard was yelling in Cambodian. I thought thieves were going door to door, robbing people. Later I found out that someone had broken someone else's property, then came to my hotel. The person with the broken property broke down the hotel's door and beat the hell out the person.

I also saw a guy get injured when someone stole his phone. He was in the back of a moving tuk-tuk, talking on the phone. A motorbike with 2 people rode next to him and yanked the phone out of his hands. Somehow the victim was also pulled out of the moving tuk-tuk and was injured.

I had enough of Phnom Penh and left a lot earlier than I had planned. The city just seemed desperate and lacking anything worth seeing.

20150309_113335.jpg

This hotel had 2 doors when I went to sleep. It only had 1 door in the morning.

baby flourish.png

After the hotel door got broken, I noped the fuck out of Phnom Penh and went to the coast to visit some islands. On the way down there, the girl who sat next to me kept falling asleep and resting her head on my shoulder. At one point she woke up, realized what she was doing, then asked if it was OK. I kind of shrugged and nodded. Then she went back to sleep on my shoulder.

20150307_104828.jpg

baby flourish.png

From Phnom Penh, I went to Koh Rong and Koh Rong Sanloem. Koh Rong Sanloem is a very quiet island that only has electricity for 4 hours per day. It's very beautiful and very boring.

20150310_145759_HDR.jpg

The view from my bungalow.

20150311_095138_HDR.jpg

20150310_170851_HDR.jpg

There's even a treehouse that you can rent.

baby flourish.png

After Koh Rong, I wasn't sure where to go. I had about 10 days to kill before my Vietnam visa was valid. I went down to Kampot to see what it had to offer. It turns out Kampot is pretty cool. There isn't a whole lot to do, but the vibe is pretty relaxed and it seemed like a nice place to unwind for a few days.

I rented a scooter while I was in Kampot, and spent a few days doing day trips to places close by. Here are some of the photos from the Kampot area.

20150312_172705_HDR.jpg

Obligitory beer-in-foreground photo of Kampot.

20150313_121223_HDR.jpg

A nice place to take a break.

20150313_131513_HDR.jpg

There are still quite a few buildings with bullet holes in them in Cambodia.

20150313_133159_HDR.jpg

A salt farm.

20150314_120722_HDR.jpg

A crazy old hotel on a mountain.

20150314_122054_HDR.jpg

20150314_121633_HDR.jpg

20150314_122414_HDR.jpg

20150316_162144_HDR.jpg

A farm.

Eventually, my time in Cambodia ran out and I took a bus to Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam.

baby flourish.png

20150320_113518_HDR.jpg

The Vietnam / Cambodia border.

Cambodia was awesome, and I loved the Cambodians. They seemed much more friendly and sincere that the people in Thailand and Laos. My biggest regret from my trip is that I didn't return to Cambodia. Hopefully, I will be able to return soon.

Stay tuned for my next post where I'll explore my favorite country from my trip, Vietnam.

Sort:  

Cambodia is just so beautiful. It has always been on my list of countries I want to visit. Great post here on the country @fronttowardenemy! P.s Cool name :)

Thanks :) Glad you enjoyed the post.

This place looks amazing and so cultural! Before this post I'd never even heard of Cambodia. Its definitely on my bucket list of places I have to go see! Thank you for sharing. Lovely post.

Glad you liked the post. Thanks for stopping by!

Amazing! Completely different environment that i am used to! From architecture, transport, habits, food, nature. Like it's another world.

It really is like another world.

I'm glad you enjoyed the post @poss.

Some of the beauty, I think I would have missed, but by attracting my eye to the details you helped me see it.

I was wondering, while reading and examining your photos, you show so much love for the trips you take, would you take them if you did not have a camera, but had the money to do the trips?

My best wishes to you for 2018

I would probably still take trips, but I would spend less time thinking about them afterward. Normally, I don't spend a lot of time reminiscing about past trips. I also tend to forget things if I don't have reminders like photos or someone who shared the experience with me.

Even though I only used a cell phone on this trip, I've been interested in photography since university. I
think I would get bored pretty quick if I couldn't take pictures. I'm just glad that Steemit is giving me a reason to go through my old photos and relive parts of my trip.

Thanks for the question. Best wishes and happy new year to you as well!

This is irrelevant to your post and reply above: you've been Nominated!

I've been thinking about doing this. First, I want to finish this travel series. I'm also going to Vietnam in 3 days, so I'll probably do this challenge closer to spring.

Okay. Have a safe journey

Such an amazing culture you have managed to capture. The buildings and carvings are so amazingly beautiful. Would love to stay in the treehouse. 🦋

I was tempted by the treehouse, but I was worried that my love of beer might lead to an injury :)

Wise and balanced approach. ⚖️

This is my Notification List. If you would like to be added or removed from this list, please reply to this comment.

@iddm1dm
@grr8-one
@doctorcrypto
@beatseb
@achraf7b
@surfdog
@originalworks
@steemchiller
@loveliness0427
@carlgnash

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fronttowardenemy to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations @fronttowardenemy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

fabulous..I will follow and upvote...thanks for upvoting me today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53948.70
ETH 2245.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29