Country by Country 18: Laos

20150214_141014.jpg

This series will go country by country through my two-year trip. I plan on sharing some experiences, thoughts, and photos of each country that I visited.

Country by Country 18: Laos

baby flourish.png

I've already written 2 posts about Laos. One is for why it's worth visiting, and another post is about why I'll never go back to Laos. Instead of rehashing those topics, I'll just write about my first journey through this country.

In Pai, Thailand I bought a ticket to Luang Prabang. We started by taking a bus to the border with Laos. We slept there, then crossed the border. From there we were driven to the river where we got on a slow boat. At night, we stopped at a small town and slept there. The next day, we finished the journey to Luang Prabang. It was a long journey, but it wasn't too uncomfortable.

20150130_164535_HDR.jpg

A few house boats.

baby flourish.png

Luang Prabang is a pretty town that was a lot nicer than I expected. I was surprised by how many older tourists were there.

I met a boat driver and agreed to have him show me around for a couple of days. We went to some of the tourist attractions, but the best part was visiting his home in a village across the river from Luang Prabang. We also went on a bike ride.

20150131_123713.jpg

My guide / driver.

20150201_122815_HDR.jpg

A temple that we visited.

baby flourish.png

After a couple of days in Luang Prabang, I took a bus to Vang Vieng which seemed very chill.

When I found a hotel to stay in, the guy who checked me in warned me not to try the mushrooms. In the room was a sign saying not to eat the mushrooms. In Vang Vieng, many of the restaurants allow you to make your pizza or shake "happy" or "magic". Making your food "happy" means they put weed on it. Making it "magic" means they put magic mushrooms on it.

I stayed in Vang Vieng for 3 or 4 days. On one day I rented a motorbike. When I was at the motorbike rental place a Chinese tourist got on his bike. He started it up and immediately lost control. The bike went across the street into a bunch of tables in front of a restaurant, with the guy on it. Luckily, no one was hurt because I couldn't stop laughing.

20150206_103707_HDR.jpg

The river in Vang Vieng.

baby flourish.png

From Vang Vieng, I took another bus to the capital city of Vientiane. A lot of people don't like Vientiane, but I enjoyed myself there. Having been away from my country for so long, I was excited to have access to western food. The city is pretty small compared to cities in Thailand and Vietnam. Here are a few pictures from there.

20150208_172003_HDR.jpg

A temple in Vientiane.

20150208_172206.jpg

A street scene.

20150208_172516_HDR.jpg

Another temple in Vientiane.

baby flourish.png

After a few days in Vientiane, I took a bus to Thakek to ride scooters. The Thakek loop is pretty popular among backpackers. I think riding this loop was my favorite thing that I did or saw in Laos.

20150213_135842_HDR.jpg

Taking a photo break.

20150214_135051.jpg

A procession.

20150214_144230_HDR.jpg

A farm.

20150216_113339_HDR.jpg

A swimmin' hole.

baby flourish.png

From Thakek, I took another bus to Pakse. There is another motorbike loop called the Bolaven Plateau loop. I rented a bike and spent a few days on that loop. It wasn't as good as the Thakek loop, but it was still enjoyable.

20150218_141511.jpg

One of the places that I stayed.

20150218_155517_HDR.jpg

Cool looking bungalows. I wish I had stayed there.

20150219_134136_HDR.jpg

There are a ton of waterfalls on this loop.

20150221_161534_HDR.jpg

baby flourish.png

Pakse was the last place in Laos that I stayed in. My visa was close to expiring, so I caught a bus to Cambodia. I'll post about that soon.

Sort:  

These are such quality posts. I love your photography here, the swimmin' hole in particular looks magical but there are so many awesome shots. Crazy about the "magic" food! So... it sounds like maybe they just put poisonous shrooms on?!?

Much love - Carl



Click the badge to learn more about
Human Certified Original Works

Thanks, Carl!

I can testify that the mushrooms were legit magic mushrooms (not sure what kind). The problem is that you don't have any idea about the dosage. My pizza looked like it had a whole quarter oz on it.

Buenas fotos y que lugares tan bonitos, sentí que lo recorrí también,

i am feeling sad ..this is my dream ..and the onl thing i wann do for myself

I think that if you keep this dream in the front of your mind, it can come true. I was poor and homeless once, but I kept dreaming (and working).

thanks for motivating thats why i work a lt to gat my dreams i am working ...just little more time and i will be posting pictures like you thank you so much your words mean a lot

This is my Notification List. If you would like to be added or removed from this list, please reply to this comment.

@iddm1dm
@grr8-one
@doctorcrypto
@beatseb
@achraf7b
@surfdog
@originalworks
@steemchiller
@loveliness0427

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fronttowardenemy to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Dude notify me please :) @carlgnash

I've added you to the list. Thanks for signing up!

I want to have a trip like this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 52827.29
ETH 2171.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28