Side-Trip: Laos - Why I'll never return to Laos

in #travel7 years ago

Laos, and why I'll never go back.

20150420_092720_HDR.jpg

Before reading this post, please read my post on why you should go to Laos. This post is very subjective and based on my personal experiences in Laos.

Laos is an interesting and unique country, and if everything goes right in my life, I'll never go back.

On my first visit to Laos, I really enjoyed the change of pace from Thailand. The two cultures seemed like complimentary opposites. During that first visit, I only knew of two extremes. The Thai way of demanding your attention and trying to talk you into doing business, versus the Lao way of not even looking up from the phone as new customers seat themselves in their restaurant.

On my second visit to Laos, I couldn't wait to leave. By that time I had visited Cambodia and Vietnam and gotten a small taste of those cultures as well. Now I knew that there were happy middle grounds between Thai aggressiveness and Laotian indifference. In Cambodia, people would try to attract attention to their businesses but never took it too far with me. Resturant employees seemed happy to have customers. In Vietnam, people just seemed curious and happy that I was experiencing Vietnam. Restaurant employees seemed to treat me the same way they treated the locals. Cranky people were cranky, and happy people were happy.

Here are some of my specific reasons for not wanting to return to Laos.

Scooter riding sucks (outside of the Thakek Loop)

20150420_141405_HDR.jpg

20150214_102357_HDR.jpg

Road quality is pretty poor in Laos. Vietnam also has its own sections of rough roads, but the roads in Laos were in worse shape.

Even if the roads in Laos were perfect, the scenery is lackluster in most of the country. Maybe I was spoiled by the landscapes in Vietnam, but outside the Thakek Loop and the Bolaven Plateau Loop, much of the land was boring to ride though. Much of the land in Laos is developed, covered in trash, burning, or covered in burning trash.

Trash is a big problem in most South East Asian countries. I can't say if Laos has more or less litter than its neighbors. I can say that I saw more casual littering in Laos than anywhere else. At one waterfall, a lady unwrapped an ice cream for her kid then threw the wrapper on the ground. Right in front of a trash can. She came all that way to see something beautiful in nature, then did her part to make it shitty.

On the slow boat to Laos, a tourist bought a cup of noodle soup from a vendor in the back of the boat. When the tourist finished her soup, she brought the trash back to the vendor. There wasn't a trash can so she gave the trash to the vendor, thinking there was a trash can in the back. The vendor took the trash, waited for the tourist to walk off, then threw the trash out the window into the river.

Other countries may be worse when it comes to trash and litter, but it only really bothered me in Laos. Maybe I was used to it by the time I went to Cambodia and Vietnam. Both of those countries have tons of litter as well.

baby flourish.png

Everything was on fire

20150419_124849.jpg

20150419_130337_HDR.jpg

20150420_130117.jpg

When I returned to Laos, the sky turned orange and ashes fell from the sky as I crossed the border from Vietnam. In most of the countries neighboring Laos, burning season happens every year. It sucks for asthmatics like me, but that's just how things are done.

In Laos, the burning was something different. It didn't look like they weren't burning their fields to clear them. It looked like they were burning down the forests to use the land for something else. I wonder how much of the forests have been burned down since my last visit.

baby flourish.png

Loatian culture isn't very friendly to strangers

20150427_194007.jpg

20150427_195900.jpg

These folks are some friends that I made in Laos. They're Thai. I met other friendly people in Laos, but most of them were Vietnamese.

During both of my visits to Laos, I didn't meet many friendly Laotians. On the tourist path, there are definitely friendly locals, but they are generally people who have spent years dealing with tourists. My impression is that the culture in Laos is wary of outsiders and the people in tourist areas have gotten past it.

In Vietnam, you can't ride for more than an hour or two without someone yelling "Hello!" to you, or a parent waving their baby's hand at you. The culture in Vietnam seemed very curious and friendly to me. In Laos, I felt happy when I got one wave from a school kid for the whole day. I'm not sure if I ever got an adult to wave or smile when I was away from the tourist areas.

To clarify, I don't think that the Laotians hated me or were angry at me. It just seemed like their default response to me was to pretend I wasn't there.

For example. In Vietnam, I wanted to buy some bungee cords. I got a picture of one on my phone and started showing it to strangers. Soon I had a small group of people looking and talking and pointing, discussing who might sell bungee cords. One person thought he knew, so he walked with me for 5 minutes to a vendor and explained what I wanted to him. None of those people spoke English or had any financial motive to help me. They just wanted to help a confused stranger.

In Laos, I needed my jerry-rigged luggage rack re-welded. I had a picture of someone welding on my phone. At the first place I tried to ask, the ladies stopped me before I got close enough to show them the phone. With a fly-shooing gesture, they told me to fuck off before I could even say "Sa Bai Dee". I eventually found a welding place, but it was like pulling teeth just to get directions.

In Vietnam, my motorbike broke down in the middle of nowhere. Within 5 minutes a guy showed up out of the jungle and tried to help. He didn't have tools and couldn't help, but the moral support and knowing that I wasn't abandoned made the experience a positive one.

In Laos, I got a flat tire. The weather was extra hot and smokey. I ended up pushing the bike for hours with no one even looking at me. I walked up to a small shop to ask for directions and the lady behind the counter quickly looked away and pretended to count the 8 items that she was selling. Like pointing one way or the other was too much effort to waste on a foreigner.

The day was exceedingly hot and I decided to take a break from pushing my bike. Since most of the trees in Laos have been burned down, I went to some shade in front of a building that was locked up. Within 10 minutes, a pick-up truck pulled up and a guy told me to get away from his closed restaurant. Like my presence was hurting his unopened business.

Another time I got a flat in Laos. I took it to a tire place and a younger guy fixed my tire. When he was finished, his boss told me how much it would cost (around $8). When the younger guy heard the price, he literally laughed out loud. He laughed at how much I was getting fucked over, to my face, while making eye contact. The price wasn't the issue, I would have paid $20 to fix the tire. It was them treating me like an oblivious idiot that bothered me.

On one occasion, I was sitting in the restaurant of the guesthouse that I was staying in. I wanted to eat and tried to make eye contact with a staff member. None of the staff would look my way. A few minutes later a Laotian family showed up. The staff quickly gave them menus and water while pointedly not looking in my direction. To get a menu, I had to go into the kitchen area and ask for a menu, then go back and give them my order, then go back and pay them when I was done. All while the local family got normal restaurant service.

Again, I don't think this was because they hated me or something. It's more like they're embarrassed about not speaking English, so they ignore foreigners instead of having awkward conversations. I can empathize because I'm extremely bashful when using other languages. But why would I put up with that when friendly and welcoming cultures are just a bus ride away?

The only thing you can rely on is indifference

20150131_152553_HDR.jpg

One of my first rooms in Laos.

Few things in Laos can be relied on.

In Pakse, I rented a scooter to ride the Bolaven Plateau Loop. The rental place let me keep my main backpack in a locked room so that I wouldn't have to lug it around the whole time. My cash was running low, so I wanted to use an ATM before leaving town. The power went out right as I was approaching a bank machine. It turns out the power was out for most of the country. Luckily I always carried emergency dollars on me and I was able to exchange dollars for kip at a bank with a backup generator. The power was out for 5-6 hours everywhere.

After I finished riding the Bolaven Plateau Loop, I went to get my backpack and return the scooter. The person who had the only key to the luggage room was out of town for the weekend. That's right, I was stuck in Pakse for an extra 2 days because the place was too cheap to call a locksmith. Why inconvenience themselves when they were only inconveniencing a stupid tourist?

I finally got my backpack and bought a bus ticket to the next destination. "OK, we'll pick you up at your hostel at 8:00 tomorrow." I waited from 7:45 to 8:30 before I walked down to the guy I bought tickets from. "Oh, the bus is already gone. Don't worry, you can get on tomorrow's bus." So I got to spend an additional night in a city with very little to offer. I wasn't pressed for time so it wasn't too much of a problem, but it added another straw to the camel's back.

If you go to Laos, you can not rely on timetables, electricity, room reservations, or the kindness of strangers. Do not make any tight schedules in Laos or you will give yourself an ulcer. Actually, don't make tight schedules at all in South Eash Asia. Many of my little frustrations could have happened in any country down there. For me, they all happened in Laos.

Neighboring countries are just better

20150225_114626_HDR.jpg

Laos simply isn't as enjoyable as its neighbors.

If you want to ride scooters, Vietnam is better. If you want to see temples, Cambodia is better. If you want to play on/in the water, Thailand is better. If you want to make friends with locals, Vietnam and Cambodia are better. If you like beer, Laos only has one brand of beer. If you want nature, Laos is burning down most of what it has. If you want to hook up with a local woman, it's against the law for foreign men to spend the night with local women (not sure about local men and foreign women).

Other countries are prettier, nicer, and cheaper than Laos. The overall vibe that I got from Laos was "If we ignore him long enough, maybe he'll go away." It worked. I've gone away and hope to never return.

baby flourish.png

So there you have it. My reasons for not wanting to return to Laos. Please do yourself a favor and keep in mind that like most people, I'm full of shit. My individual, unique experiences shaped my view of Laos. I can guarantee that your experiences will be different. Had I shown up one day earlier or later, my experience would have been completely different. My impressions would have been different as well.

Before I started my trip, I read this post by Nomadic Matt entitled "Why I'll never return to Vietnam". I almost made a huge mistake by allowing that post to influence my decision to visit Vietnam. I had planned on skipping Vietnam because of that post, but luckily I changed my mind. Vietnam ended up being my favorite stop on my two-year trip.

Over all, I had more positive experiences in Laos than negative ones. I don't regret going to Laos and I don't recall ever feeling threatened or hated. It's just that I had much better experiences in neighboring countries. When I left Thailand, I wanted to return. When I left Cambodia, I made plans to return. When I left Vietnam, I promised myself that I would return. When I left Laos, I was just glad to leave.

But you should let yourself be the judge of where it ranks in your list of favorite countries. Laos is the number one favorite of many travelers that I've interacted with.

Sort:  

This is one thing I don't like about some travelers sometimes, why do they always expect that people should be friendly to them, just because they heard the land of smiles or something. People are people everywhere, unfortunately, some people don't have to expect being treated like kings and queens especially in countries in South America or SE Asia. There are just countries designed not to make other people comfortable. We are not special, and some people have legitimate worries out there (food, getting by, work, etc) than to just please the tourists. They are free not to be friendly or act according to how the guidebooks, media and other travelers portrayed them.

About the trash and all that littering, it is very bad as we all know. But think of yourself being born in a Lao Village, your parents, the environment will mold you to think that throwing is ok. You will think it just normal for you, however bad it looks to the others. Yes, education has not reached some parts of the word yet. When the kids were born, they didn't know anything. It was the culture and environment that shaped the way people think and behave right now. Just think about those crazier things that are happening in the US right now. I don't see any difference, the people too were shaped by the environment.

While the rest can expect to meet severe unfriendliness or arrogance when traveling to US, Europe etc., Hmmmm. And they don't complain especially when the streets are paved with gold.

I've also experienced unfriendliness in these countries but it is not 99% most of the time. I also almost got pounded by a hammer in Brazil but it does not mean I will not go back there. It is still my favorite country. I accept that I'm a dust in the universe and that people don't exist to live up to my expectations nor live up to mine. Just don't kill me lol.

Sorry about my comment, I hope you won't take it personally lol. But thanks for sharing your other view of Laos. :)

This is one thing I don't like about some travelers sometimes, why do they always expect that people should be friendly to them, just because they heard the land of smiles or something.

It's not so much expecting people to be friendly. It's knowing, for a fact, that there are 3 countries right next door that are substantially more friendly. I choose to invest my time and money in places that are friendly. Other people may be turned off by too much cheerfulness or false friendliness, Laos could be a great match for them. It wasn't a great match for me.

I understand that a lot of my post is nit-picky. If I had only gone to Laos, I wouldn't have posted this. If I had the same bad experiences all over SEA, I wouldn't have posted this because it would be evidence that I'm just being an entitled little bitch. But that's not what happened. I had great times in 3 of the 4 SEAsian countries that I went to. I understood what the local definitions of "customer service" were and accepted them. Even in Laos. I get it, you have to get up to pay your bill, no biggie.

I wasn't expecting everyone to cater to me or treat me like royalty. I didn't go to any of those countries hoping for a miniature America or luxury accommodations. I simply prefer spending my money on businesses where people are happy that I've come, instead of looking put-off because I interrupted whatever they were doing on their phone. Too many places in Laos treated me like they were doing me a favor by selling me a meal. It was all teeth sucking and sighing because my patronage meant getting back to work.

Laos was just 1 country out of 26 that I visited on my 2-year trip. Maybe Laos was the only country that wouldn't put up with my demanding, snooty, luxurious and extravagant backpacker way of traveling. I'm good with that.

For me, the world is too full of amazing places to waste time and money in places that I don't enjoy. For my personality type and travel style, I found Laos to be less enjoyable than its neighbors.

When I was in Laos, I got the strong impression that the Laotians didn't want me in their country. I'm happy to oblige them.

Sorry about my comment, I hope you won't take it personally lol.

Not at all :) I wanted an excuse to try and explain why I think I'm not being a whiny little bitch right now. But I'm probably just making myself look whinier than ever :D

When I was in Laos, I got the strong impression that the Laotians didn't want me in their country.

This is what actually most people feel and have to go through all their lives being in other countries....But having food is good.

Wow this is really long to read but what an experience!

Vietnam sounds wonderful. We would love to go there someday, once the kids are older.

Seems bigger and more advance than Laos then? Language barrier is not easy huh 🤔

Yes, Vietnam seems decades more advanced than Laos (which is both good and bad). Vietnam also has roughly 90 million more people living in it.

The Language barrier can be challenging, but it's rarely an actual barrier. On my trip, I went to 26 countries where I didn't speak the language. You can get most things accomplished with gestures and context. Hotel people already know that you want a room, and gas station people know you want gas or snacks. Your phone can help with more complex things.

Glad you liked the post!

I see. Yep, def. Liked reading it. Very informative. Thanks!

Did you get to go to Indonesia while around SEA? I found the majority of MY people are more respectful, nicer, and pay more attention to Caucasian than to their own people 😅 which is the opposite of the Laotian it seems.

Sounds like a rough trip! I haven't been anywhere in Asia yet, but it's on my list. Thanks for sharing your experience!

My pleasure!

Be careful if you go to Asia. You may never want to travel anywhere else :)

Europe has been ruined for me. Compared to Asia, it seems tame and mundane. I don't know if I'll ever go back to Europe for tourism.

I'm looking forward to traveling the world! My husbands family were humanitarians in Hong Kong and Thailand when he was growing up, so he considers Asia home. Thailand was his favorite, he said it was so chill and gorgeous. I keep showing him your work and telling him he has to take me there!

This is my Notification List. If you would like to be added or removed from this list, please reply to this comment.

@iddm1dm
@grr8-one
@doctorcrypto
@beatseb
@achraf7b
@surfdog
@originalworks
@steemchiller

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @fronttowardenemy. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fronttowardenemy to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

I'm doing a curation post to celebrate reaching 100 followers on steemit- do you mind if I use one of your photos in my post?

Sure, if you link to the post that you got the photo from.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63578.28
ETH 2600.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83